Ian Rankin - The Complaints - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409107293
    • Publication date:03 Sep 2009

The Complaints

By Ian Rankin
Read by James Macpherson

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The first novel in Rankin's brilliant Malcolm Fox series. Abridged edition

Nobody likes The Complaints - they're the cops who investigate other cops. Complaints and Conduct Department, to give them their full title, but known colloquially as 'the Dark Side', or simply 'The Complaints'. Malcolm Fox works for The Complaints. He's just had a result, and should be feeling good about himself. But he's middle-aged, sour and unwell. He also has a father in a care home and a sister who persists in an abusive relationship.

In the midst of an aggressive Edinburgh winter, the reluctant Fox is given a new task. There's a cop called Jamie Breck, and he's dirty. Problem is, no one can prove it. But as Fox takes on the job, he learns that there's more to Breck than anyone thinks. This knowledge will prove dangerous, especially when murder intervenes.

Read by James Macpherson

(p) 2009 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide.Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. www.ianrankin.net Twitter @Beathhigh

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409101529
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Beautiful Liars

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown

Eighteen years ago Martha said goodbye to best friend Juliet on a moonlit London towpath.The next morning Juliet's bike was found abandoned at the waterside.She was never seen again.Nearly two decades later Martha is a TV celebrity, preparing to host a new crime show... and the first case will be that of missing student Juliet Sherman. After all these years Martha must reach out to old friends and try to piece together the final moments of Juliet's life.But what happens when your perfect friends turn out to be perfect strangers...?

Orion

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

'Darkly gothic and brilliantly original, THE CRAFTSMAN will have you spellbound.' - JP Delaney Devoted father or merciless killer?His secrets are buried with him.Florence Lovelady's career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried...ALIVE.Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he's dead, and events from the past start to repeat themselves. Did she get it wrong all those years ago? Or is there something much darker at play?Praise for The Craftsman"The Craftsman is a brilliant blend of rich crime thriller with a hint of the gothic. Dark, disturbing and with women who totally rock, with the Craftsman Sharon Bolton has proven herself to be a master Craftsman herself. Buy it. Read it. Tell your friends. Then sleep with the light on." - Sarah Pinborough"Sharon is a master of her craft. The Craftsman is an absolutely terrific crime novel that takes your darkest fear and makes it reality." - Elly Griffiths

Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Trapeze

Alive

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'Superb thriller writing.' Peter Robinson'A brilliant, breathless thriller' M.J. Arlidge'A high concept solution to a mystery' Sophie HannahA body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed by the press as the 'Ragdoll'. Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William 'Wolf' Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.The 'Ragdoll Killer' taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?Translated into over 30 languages, RAGDOLL is a quality, rocket-paced thriller with twists and turns you won't see coming. For readers of Jo Nesbo. You will not stop talking about this book.What everyone is saying about RAGDOLL:'A star is born. Killer plot. Killer pace. Twisted killer and a killer twist. Kill to get a copy.' Simon Toyne'...the best debut I've ever read.' Rachel Abbott'This book kept me captivated, my heart pumping and guessing to the very end!' NetGalley reviewer'...a rollercoaster of a thriller.' NetGalley reviewer'...one of the most well written crime thrillers I have ever read' NetGalley reviewer'A very well written debut novel which had all the twists and turns and intrigue that you need.' NetGalley reviewer'Totally unputdownable' NetGalley Reviewer

Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver

The Himalayas, 1935.Kangchenjunga. The sacred mountain. Biggest killer of them all.Five Englishmen set out to conquer it. But courage can only take them so far. And the higher they climb, the darker it gets.

Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Gollancz

The Hanging Tree

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Suspicious deaths are not usually the concern of PC Peter Grant or the Folly, even when they happen at an exclusive party in one of the most expensive apartment blocks in London. But Lady Ty's daughter was there, and Peter owes Lady Ty a favour.Plunged into the alien world of the super-rich, where the basements are bigger than the house and dangerous, arcane items are bought and sold on the open market, a sensible young copper would keep his head down and his nose clean. But this is Peter Grant we're talking about.He's been given an unparalleled opportunity to alienate old friends and create new enemies at the point where the world of magic and that of privilege intersect. Assuming he survives the week . . .

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Rebus Anniversary Box Set

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Rather Be the Devil

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

The Twenty-Three

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Trunk Music

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The fifth Harry Bosch novel from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author. The murder of a Hollywood producer has all the signs of a mob hit but something doesn't add up for Harry Bosch. Featured in Series 2 of BOSCH on Amazon PrimeHarry Bosch is back at the LAPD in Homicide after disciplinary leave. But his first case proves to be one of the most difficult. In the wooded hills overlooking the Hollywood Bowl, he opens the trunk of a white Rolls-Royce and finds a corpse. It looks like a simple case of Trunk Music - the execution style of the Mafia where the victim is shot in his own vehicle - but the victim is LA movie producer Tony Aliso, and the mob weren't the only ones after him. Bosch finds himself up against the FBI - and back in the arms of a beautiful ex-felon. It's starting to look like Harry's first case back in Homicide is in danger of being his last . . .

Orion

Exit Music

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

A brilliant Rebus novel from the master of British crime.It's late autumn in Edinburgh and late autumn in the career of Detective Inspector Rebus. As he tries to tie up some loose ends before retirement, a murder case intrudes. A dissident Russian poet has been found dead in what looks like a mugging gone wrong. By apparent coincidence, a delegation of Russian businessmen is in town - and everyone is determined that the case should be closed quickly and clinically.But the further they dig, the more Rebus and DS Siobhan Clarke become convinced that they are dealing with something more than a random attack - especially after a particularly nasty second killing. Meanwhile, a brutal and premeditated assault on a local gangster sees Rebus in the frame. Has the Inspector taken a step too far in tying up those loose ends? Only a few days shy of the end to his long, inglorious career, will Rebus even make it that far?