Erica James - Gardens Of Delight - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409153450
    • Publication date:05 Jun 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752889269
    • Publication date:29 Nov 2006

Gardens Of Delight

By Erica James

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gorgeous, heart-warming tale set among the gardens of Italy from bestselling author Erica James.

A gorgeous, heart-warming tale set among the gardens of Italy from bestselling author Erica James.

The Gardens of Delight brochure promises the opportunity to visit some of the most beautiful gardens in the Lake Como area of Italy. For Lucy, the chance to go to Italy offers more than just gardens. Lake Como is where her father lives, and the last time she saw him was when she was just a teenager.

Recently married Helen and her wealthy husband have just moved into the Old Rectory. With her husband spending so much time away from home, Helen throws herself into caring for the garden. But Helen needs help - and friends - and so decides to take the plunge and join the local Garden Club.

Conrad isn't the least bit interested in gardening. Widowed for five years, his life revolves around work and humouring Mac, his elderly uncle who lives with him, and who has expressed a desire to go on the Gardens of Delight tour. Reluctantly, Conrad agrees to accompany him. 'Anything for a peaceful life,' he concedes. But a peaceful life is the last thing any of them are in for...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409107545
  • Publication date: 23 Dec 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Swallowtail Summer

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

It was the summer it all ended . . . It was the summer a new story began.Linston End has been the summer home to three families for several decades. The memories of their time there are ingrained in their hearts: picnics on the river, gin and tonics in the pavilion at dusk, hours spent seeking out the local swallowtail butterflies. Everyone together. But recently widowed Alastair is about to shock his circle of friends with the decisions he has made - and the changes it will mean for them all... Can these friends learn to live life to its fullest?Fans of Fern Britton and Katie Fforde will love escaping into summertime with this warm-hearted, uplifting story set in the beauty of the Norfolk Broads.

Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton
Orion

The Love of a Family

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Trapeze

The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, Aged 19 Going on 91

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'The characters jump right off the page and into your heart.' Reader reviewFrom the bestselling author of CALLING MAJOR TOM comes a heartwarming comedy about unlikely friendships and community. Fans of The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes by Ruth Hogan, The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle, The Map of Us by Jules Preston, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman, and Checking Out by Nick Spalding will love this. Nineteen-year-old Jennifer is regretting her hasty move into Sunset Promenade, an unusual retirement home taking in students to save money. Despite their differences in age, Jennifer and the older residents thrive and embark on a series of new adventures. But when Sunset Promenade is threatened with closure, cracks begin to show, and this quirky group of friends must work together to save their home. The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, aged 19 going on 91 is a funny, warm and uplifting novel about the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how it's never too late to have the time of your life... 'I loved every word of this book and would advise people take an afternoon off, find a comfy spot and lose yourself for a few hours in the world of Sunset Promenade.' Reader review Readers are loving The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert 'Brilliant page turner' 'this is a lovely book' 'a really good read' 'a wonderful story' ******************* Previously published as The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club

Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

Would you kill to protect your family?Read the most critically acclaimed thriller of 2019:'Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping' DAILY TELEGRAPH, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2018'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY'A must-have new read' DAILY EXPRESS'Wonderfully sinister' THE OBSERVER'Frightening' THE TIMES'Addictive' INDEPENDENT'Terrific' JOANNE HARRIS'Brilliantly done' FIONA BARTON'A great achievement' HERMAN KOCH'Claustrophobic and unsettling' BBC NEWS'[A] creepy tale of obsession' SUNDAY MIRROR'An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny' RENEE KNIGHT'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN & HOME*********Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?You go to the police, but they can't help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.Or is there...?FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE DINNER.-------------------------FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

EVERY MOTHER IS A WOMAN WITH A PAST'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood' The Pool'An intriguing tale of love, loss and missed opportunities . . . written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'Tender and moving, this part-thriller, part-memoir will leave you floored' Emerald Street When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events; to bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemised entry.It forces her to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother - a woman silenced by her own mother, and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by tradition and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals an overwhelming desire to make sense of an unfulfilled life - and to prove that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.'Beautiful, sensitive, and poignant' Clarissa Goenawan, author of Rainbirds'Spare, confident and affecting. A compelling read' Joanna Barnard, author of Precocious and Hush Little Baby'An incredibly moving story of maternal love, sacrifice, and how little we know those closest to us' Chloë Mayer, author of The Boy Made of Snow

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Tell It To The Skies

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A gorgeous tale of friendship and love from Sunday Times bestseller Erica James.Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling pink cottage on the edge of the Suffolk village of Melbury Green, its enchanting garden provided a fairy-tale playground of seclusion, a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to the broken, battered books that find their way to her, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a notebook carefully concealed in an old Bible - and realising someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own - Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love...

Orion

The Holiday

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Summer at the Lake

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
W&N

A Suitable Boy

Vikram Seth
Authors:
Vikram Seth
Orion

The Hidden Cottage

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Erica James - Seven Great Novels

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Eighty Days Blue

Vina Jackson
Authors:
Vina Jackson
Orion

A Cuckoo in Candle Lane

Kitty Neale
Authors:
Kitty Neale

A powerful drama of family life set in post-war London, from a terrific new talent.When Elsie and Bert Jones move with their children, Ann and Arthur, to Candle Lane, a modest street in Battersea, they miss their comfortable house in Wimbledon. But the move is the right thing to do, as it will enable Bert to finance his new removal business. They are a warm-hearted family, and Elsie soon makes friends with her less fortunate neighbour, Ruth and her daughter Sally. But before long Elsie realises that all is not well in the house next door...