Maeve Binchy - Minding Frankie - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409117919
    • Publication date:09 Jun 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409114802
    • Publication date:30 Sep 2010

Minding Frankie

By Maeve Binchy

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A superb novel from No. 1 bestselling author Maeve Binchy: 'She is the Queen of Fiction...Once you read Maeve you are hooked for life' Irish Times

A superb novel from No. 1 bestselling author Maeve Binchy: 'She is the Queen of Fiction...Once you read Maeve you are hooked for life' Irish Times

Baby Frankie is born into an unusual family. Her mother is desperate to find someone to take care of her child and she doesn't have much time.

Noel doesn't seem to be the most promising of fathers but despite everything, he could well be Frankie's best hope.

As for Lisa, she is prepared to give up everything for the man she loves; surely he's going to love her back?

And Moira is having none of it. She knows what's right, and has the power to change the course of Frankie's life...but Moira is hiding secrets of her own.

MINDING FRANKIE is a story about unconventional families, relationships which aren't quite what they seem, and the child at the heart of everyone's lives...

Biographical Notes

Maeve Binchy was born in County Dublin and educated at the Holy Child convent in Killiney and at University College, Dublin. After a spell as a teacher she joined the Irish Times. Her first novel, LIGHT A PENNY CANDLE, was published in 1982 and she went on to write over twenty books, all of them bestsellers. Several have been adapted for cinema and television, including TARA ROAD. Maeve Binchy received a LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD at the BRITISH BOOK AWARDS in 1999 and the Irish PEN/A. T. CROSS AWARD in 2007. In 2010 she was presented with the BOB HUGHES LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD at the BORD GAIS IRISH BOOK AWARDS by the President of Ireland. She was married to the writer and broadcaster Gordon Snell for 35 years, and died in 2012. Visit her website at www.maevebinchy.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409113980
  • Publication date: 30 Sep 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

With This Man

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Orion

What Fresh Hell

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert
Orion

The Companion

Sarah Dunnakey
Authors:
Sarah Dunnakey

How do you solve a mystery when the clues are hidden in the past?'Utterly charming, wonderfully creepy and rich with mystery. The Companion is a rare treat.' C.L. Taylor'Buried secrets, intrigue and betrayal are the hallmarks of this compelling tale.' My WeeklyThe Companion is a beautiful and powerfully-told story of buried secrets, set between the 1930s and the present day, on the wild Yorkshire moors.Billy Shaw lives in a palace. Potter's Pleasure Palace, the best entertainment venue in Yorkshire, complete with dancing, swing-boats and a roller-skating rink.When it is arranged for him to become companion to the child at the big house above the valley, Billy leaves home to find a wild, peculiar boy in a curiously haphazard household where nothing that's meant is said and the air is thick with secrets.Before long, tragedy strikes and fictions become tangled up in facts, yet it's left to Anna Sallis, almost a century later, to unravel the knots and find the truth.'An absorbing mystery story, really evocative of the Yorkshire Moors and the mill. I loved the character of Billy Shaw! The story kept me engrossed and flipping the pages right to the end' Katherine Webb, bestselling author of The Legacy'The Companion is beautifully written and so evocative of time and place...If you thought the Brontes were the most intriguing literary family in Yorkshire, wait until you meet the Harpers.' Linda Green, author of the No.1 bestseller, While My Eyes Were Closed'Sarah writes with warmth, wit and wisdom AND she makes you want to turn the page. A rare combination.' John Humphrys

Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett
Orion

At First Light

Vanessa Lafaye
Authors:
Vanessa Lafaye
Gollancz

The Death House

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of 13 Minutes comes a heart-breaking, heart-stopping tale of love, life and death which will take your breath away.Toby is a boy who has forgotten how to live.Clara is a girl who was born to die.Toby's life was perfectly normal . . .Taken from his family, Toby now lives in the Death House. Isolated from the outside world the inhabitants of are watched for any signs of a mysterious illness . . .Clara was a girl who had everything. Adored by her friends and her family, her life was destined for greatness. Now, Clara is the newest resident of the Death House and she's determined not to allow her life to end there.This is Toby and Clara's story.Sarah Pinborough is the SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING author of BEHIND HER EYES.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinborough.com, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.

W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
Orion

The Witches of New York

Ami McKay
Authors:
Ami McKay

Those averse to magic need not apply... 1880 Witches Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St Clair have opened a tea shop in Manhattan specialising in cures, palmistry and potions. When an enchanting woman called Beatrice joins the witches as an apprentice, she soon proves indispensable, but her new life is marred by strange occurrences. She sees things no one else can see. She hears voices no one else can hear. Has she been touched by magic or is she simply losing her mind? Amidst the witches' tug-of-war over how best to nurture her gifts, Beatrice disappears. But was it by choice or by force? In a time when women were corseted, confined and committed for merely speaking their minds, is anyone really safe?

Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

'The Irish do love telling stories, and we are suspicious of people who don't have long, complicated conversations. There used to be a rule in etiquette books that you should invite four talkers and four listeners to a dinner party. That doesn't work in Ireland, because nobody knows four listeners' Maeve Binchy Maeve Binchy's multi-million-copy-selling novels not only tell wonderful stories, they also give an insight in to how Ireland has changed over the decades, but how people remain the same: they still fall in love, sometimes unsuitably; they still have hopes and dreams; they have deep, long-standing friendships, and some that fall apart. From her earliest writing to her most recent, Maeve's work has included wonderfully nostalgic pieces and also sharp, often witty writing which is insightful and topical. But at the heart of all Maeve's fiction are the people and their relationships with each other. A FEW OF THE GIRLS is a glorious collection of the very best of her stories, full of the warmth, charm and humour that has always been an essential part of all of Maeve's writing.

Orion

Circle of Friends

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

In the small Irish town of Knockglen, best friends Bernadette ('Benny') and Eve are inseparable. Benny is an adored only child, and Eve, a poor, birdlike orphan brought up by nuns. On their first day at University College, Dublin, a fatal road accident brings the pair together with fellow students Nan Mahon and Jack Foley, and new friendships are quickly struck. Jack and Nan introduce Eve and Benny to a life of excitement and sophistication. But beneath their carefree existence trouble is brewing for the circle of friends.Warmth and laughter are interwoven with sadness in this compassionate and absorbing tale of friends whose lives, over a period of ten years, become entwined.Read by Kate Binchy(p) 1991 Audible Ltd

Orion

Light a Penny Candle

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

London Transports

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

A delectable collection of 22 short stories centred around people travelling on the London Underground.We meet a young couple travelling nervously to Seven Sisters for their first wife-swapping party; there's Annie's Pimlico Hotel, which is only open for specially-chosen guests; Rita, the mysterious temp, who lives in Notting Hill Gate; and Sophie, who runs a handbag shop at Marble Arch. All the stories have in common Maeve Binchy's delicious humour and warmth.Read by Kate Binchy(p) 1987 Audible Ltd

Orion

Dublin 4

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

Firefly Summer

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

The Garden Party and Other Stories

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

The Second Life of Amy Archer

R.S. Pateman
Authors:
R.S. Pateman

Every mother's nightmare just got worse... A tense, gripping psychological suspense novel for fans of S.J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL.Ten years ago she disappeared without a trace... now she's back.On 31st December 1999, ten-year-old Amy Archer went missing from her local playground. Her body was never found and the lives of her parents, Beth and Brian, were torn apart.On the 10th anniversary of the disappearance, Beth is alone, still struggling with the enormity of her grief and the horror of not knowing the fate of her only child. But the fear and confusion have only just begun, and Beth's world is turned upside down when a stranger knocks on her door, claiming to know what happened to Amy. Beth is introduced to a little girl who is the uncanny double of her missing daughter, who knows things that only Amy would remember: the name of her favourite toy, the place where she scratched her initials, what Beth likes for breakfast. But this can't be Amy, she hasn't aged a day...Now Beth is forced to question everything she has ever believed in, and push her faith and her sanity to the limits, if she is to find out the truth about what happened to Amy.