Linwood Barclay - Clouded Vision - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Clouded Vision

By Linwood Barclay

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A terrific Linwood Barclay novella - written specially for the World Book Day Quick Reads promotion

A terrific Linwood Barclay novella - written specially for the World Book Day Quick Reads promotion

Keisha Ceylon is a psychic. At least, that's what she passes herself off as. The truth is, Keisha's real powers have more to do with separating troubled families from their money than actually seeing into the netherworld. Keisha watches the news for stories of missing family members. She gives it a few days, then moves in, tells these families she's had a vision, that she may have some clue to where these missing people are. And by the way, she charges for this service, and likes to see the money up front.

Keisha's latest mark is a man whose wife disappeared a week ago. She's seen him on TV, pleading for his wife to come home, or, if she's been abducted, pleading with whoever took her to let her go. Keisha knows a payoff when she sees one. So she pays a visit to our troubled husband, tells him her vision.

Trouble is, her vision just happens to be close enough to the truth that it leaves this man rattled. And it may very well leave Keisha dead.

Biographical Notes

Linwood Barclay is the international bestselling author of many critically acclaimed novels, including NO SAFE HOUSE, A TAP ON THE WINDOW, TRUST YOUR EYES and the Richard & Judy 2008 Summer Read winner and number one bestseller, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE. He lives near Toronto with his wife.

www.linwoodbarclay.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409121268
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

'One of the world's finest thriller writers on the top of his game. A Noise Downstairs is a blinder - his best yet'PETER JAMES * * * * *EVERY STEP...Paul Davis forgets things - he gets confused, he has sudden panic attacks. But he wasn't always like this.TAKES YOU CLOSER...Eight months ago, Paul found two dead bodies in the back of a co-worker's car. He was attacked, left for dead, and has been slowly recovering ever since. His wife tries her best but fears the worst...TO THE TRUTH...Therapy helps during the days, but at night he hears things - impossible things - that no one else can. That nobody else believes. Either he's losing his mind - or someone wants him to think he is.Just because he's paranoid doesn't mean it's not happening...* * * * *'A suspense master'STEPHEN KING'No one can thrill you and chill you better than Barclay' TESS GERRITSEN'One of the best thriller writers in the world'MARK BILLINGHAM'Nothing is more satisfying than tucking into a new Linwood Barclay novel'SHARI LAPENA'Barclay writes terrific thrillers'DAILY MAILLOCK THE DOORS AND KEEP THE LIGHTS ON.A NOISE DOWNSTAIRS WILL KEEP YOU AWAKE ALL NIGHT.

Orion

No Time For Goodbye

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Tenth Anniversary edition of the million-copy, bestselling novel No Time for Goodbye with a special introduction from Linwood Barclay.'One of the world's finest thriller writers' Peter James * The house was silent. That was the first sign that something was terribly wrong.Fourteen-year-old Cynthia wakes one morning to discover that her entire family - mother, father, brother - have vanished.No note, no trace and no return. Ever.Now, twenty-five years later - with a family of her own - a letter arrives which chills Cynthia to the core.It leads her inescapably down the path to the devastating truth behind why they left.Sometimes it's better not to know...*Praise for the masterful No Time for Goodbye:'You won't get up until you've turned the last page' Michael Connelly'Utterly riveting' Tess Gerritsen'A terrific page-turner that keeps you in suspense' Peter Robinson

Gollancz

Jasmyn

Alex Bell
Authors:
Alex Bell

Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May
Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

*THIS BOOK WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED IN THE USA UNDER THE TITLE STONE RAIN*Zack Walker Mystery #4Journalist Zack Walker has a dangerous habit of finding deadly stories. But this is one his good friend Trixie Snelling doesn't want told. It turns out Trixie has her fair share of skeletons in her closet and, as Zack discovers, a dead body in her basement.With other journalists circling the story - and no sign of Trixie, who has gone missing - Zack could find himself implicated in a murder, unless he finds out the truth fast. The bad news is: it will cost him his job, and teach him that everything he knows about his friend, his town, and even his marriage, is a lie. The good news? It hasn't cost him his life . . . yet.

Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Bad Guys

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Bad Move

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

The Twenty-Three

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Far From True

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

BOOK 1 OF 3Welcome to Promise Falls. The small town with a big secret. David Harwood is asked to check up on his cousin Marla, who's not been herself since losing her baby nearly a year ago. But when he gets there, he finds blood on the door. Inside, Marla happily looks after a baby that isn't hers. She claims it was delivered 'by an angel', but David fears the worst. His suspicions come true when a woman's dead body is found - with her own baby missing - making Marla the only suspect in the investigation. But David knows no matter how troubled she is: Marla isn't a murderer. Is someone lurking in the shadows? And how far will David go to protect his family?***Praise for Linwood Barclay'Nothing is more satisfying than tucking into a new Linwood Barclay novel' Shari Lapena, author of The Couple Next Door'A suspense master' Stephen King'One of the best thriller writers in the world' Mark Billingham'Seamless, breathless and relentlessly paced' Mirror

Orion

Final Assignment

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

For ex-cop turned private investigator Cal Weaver, this was not exactly the biggest case of his career; in fact, he only took it on because Greta Carlson was a friend of a friend. Greta's sixteen-year-old son Chandler was in trouble at school because of a short story he'd written. Admittedly the story featured a boy bludgeoning his best friend to death with a baseball bat because of an argument over a girl. But still, a story? Mrs Carlson wanted Cal to dig up some dirt on the high school principal she could use as leverage to get Chandler reinstated, and Cal told her in no uncertain terms that he wasn't going to go down that road. But that wasn't quite the end of the story. Chandler's best friend Mike seems to be missing, and at the same time Cal can't shake the feeling that Chandler may have had some help in completing his writing assignment. Life, it seems, may have imitated art after all, but figuring out who's the author and who are just characters in the drama will take all of Cal's critical skills to determine.

Orion

No Safe House

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

The Second Life of Amy Archer

R.S. Pateman
Authors:
R.S. Pateman

Every mother's nightmare just got worse... A tense, gripping psychological suspense novel for fans of S.J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL.Ten years ago she disappeared without a trace... now she's back.On 31st December 1999, ten-year-old Amy Archer went missing from her local playground. Her body was never found and the lives of her parents, Beth and Brian, were torn apart.On the 10th anniversary of the disappearance, Beth is alone, still struggling with the enormity of her grief and the horror of not knowing the fate of her only child. But the fear and confusion have only just begun, and Beth's world is turned upside down when a stranger knocks on her door, claiming to know what happened to Amy. Beth is introduced to a little girl who is the uncanny double of her missing daughter, who knows things that only Amy would remember: the name of her favourite toy, the place where she scratched her initials, what Beth likes for breakfast. But this can't be Amy, she hasn't aged a day...Now Beth is forced to question everything she has ever believed in, and push her faith and her sanity to the limits, if she is to find out the truth about what happened to Amy.

Orion

Never Saw it Coming

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Orion

A Tap on the Window

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

On a rainy night, a man gives a teenage girl a lift home, but the girl he picks up isn't the same one he drops off . . . Bestseller Linwood Barclay hooks the reader from page one with this suspense masterpieceWhen Cal Weaver stops at a red light on a rainy night while driving home, he ignores the bedraggled-looking teenage girl trying to hitch a ride - even when she starts tapping on his window. But when he realises she's one of his son's classmates, he knows he can't really leave her, alone, on the street.But nothing prepares him for the consequences of trying to help her out. The next morning he's gone from Good Samaritan to Murder Suspect, and with one girl dead and another missing, he's suddenly at the centre of a deadly puzzle that reaches right to the heart of the town - from its bullying police force to its strangely furtive mayor - and finally to one family's shocking secret.

Orion

Linwood Barclay - Five Great Novels

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Five gripping thrillers from No. 1 bestseller Linwood BarclayComprises: NO TIME FOR GOODBYE TOO CLOSE TO HOMEFEAR THE WORSTNEVER LOOK AWAYTHE ACCIDENT

Orion

Trust Your Eyes

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

What would you do if you witnessed a murder - but no one believed you . . .? Another masterful suspense novel from the bestselling author of the Richard & Judy summer read winner, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE.Map-obsessed Thomas spends his days and nights on a virtual tour of the world through his computer screen, believing he must store the details of every town and city in his head. Then one day, while surfing a street view program, he sees something that shouldn't be there: a woman being murdered behind a window on a New York street. When Thomas tells his brother Ray what he has witnessed, Ray humours him with a half-hearted investigation - until he realises Thomas may have stumbled onto a deadly conspiracy, which puts them both in danger . . .With enough suspense to rival a Hitchcock film, this is a thriller with edge.

Orion

The Good Spell Book

Gillian Kemp
Authors:
Gillian Kemp