Matthew Reilly - The Tournament - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409147183
    • Publication date:29 Jan 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172178
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2017

The Tournament

By Matthew Reilly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From global superstar Matthew Reilly comes a gripping historical thriller; a tale of murder, passion and intrigue set in the majestic city of Constantinople.

From global superstar Matthew Reilly comes a gripping historical thriller; a tale of murder, passion and intrigue set in the majestic city of Constantinople.

England, 1546. A young Princess Elizabeth is in a dangerous position as her older siblings jostle for the throne.

Roger Ascham, Elizabeth's teacher and mentor, is determined to keep her safe. So when he receives an unusual invitation from the Sultan in Constantinople, asking him to take part in the greatest chess tournament the world has ever seen, he resolves to take the princess with him.

But death stalks the streets of the glittering Ottoman capital - a cardinal has been found mutilated. Ascham is asked to investigate, but as he and Elizabeth delve deeper, they uncover a secret that marks the young Princess for life. And a darkness that defines the queen she will become.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409134244
  • Publication date: 02 Jan 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Mine

Clare Empson
Authors:
Clare Empson

On the surface, Luke and his girlfriend Hannah seem to have a perfect life. He's an A&R man, she's an arts correspondent and they are devoted to their newborn son Samuel. But beneath the gloss Luke has always felt like an outsider. When he finds his birth mother Alice, the instant connection with her is a little like falling in love.So when Hannah goes back to work, Luke asks Alice to look after their son. But Alice - deranged with grief when her baby was taken from her 27 years ago - starts to fall in love with Samuel, and starts to pretend their child is hers...

Gollancz

Bright Steel

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Hatching Trilogy

Ezekiel Boone
Authors:
Ezekiel Boone

The spiders are coming . . . and we aren't ready.In Ezekiel Boone's terrifying trilogy of thrillers, the world must face facts as giant spiders threaten to tear society apart.In The Hatching, panic begins to sweep the globe as something spreads from India to China, from South America to the United States, and humanity learns that this is only the beginning of something awful.In Skitter, the world order has collapsed. Communities live in quarantine, scared for their lives, while a few precious people try to develop a weapon to defeat the hordes that are crawling over the Earth.And in Zero Day, humanity finally fights back. It's us against them, except some humans don't agree with the strategy which has been chosen. In a desperate attempt to save the human race, one question becomes more important than anything. What's more dangerous: the spiders, or us?

Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

Orion

Commodus

Simon Turney
Authors:
Simon Turney
Orion

The First Lie

A. J. Park
Authors:
A. J. Park

Paul comes home, and finds a man dead in the bathroom. His wife is in the bedroom, covered in blood and holding a bloodied letter opener. She swears the man was going to kill her - and Paul believes her. Or so he says.It might be because Paul is a lawyer - imminently expecting the call to become a Circuit Judge - and he knows how a case like this will be handled. Not only in the media, but in the courtroom. And he can't let his wife be sent to prison for manslaughter - or watch his own career go down the drain.So, together, the make a choice. The same choice any couple who love each other would make. They dispose of the body. They clean the house, inch by inch, and pretend this never happened. But try as you might to hide it, murder has a way of making itself known...

Orion

The Night Before

Wendy Walker
Authors:
Wendy Walker
Orion

Unsafe

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Karen Sharpe has been promoted to Detective Sergeant, but are the pressures of the job getting too much for her?When the battered body of a young girl is discovered, it kicks off an inquiry which pushes Karen and a trainee DC, Marcus Roth, too close for comfort, both on and off-duty. The investigation leads to a woman with a violent past - a woman with a six-year-old boy in her care... As the terrible truth emerges, the inquiry becomes a race against time before another child becomes a victim.

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Modern man's most persistent and powerful dream is about to come true. He is ready to travel through time. And who better to take the leap than Mark Elverson, a man with an inoperable heart condition? The far future can only be an improvement for him ... or can it?

Gateway

9 Tales of Raffalon

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In an age of wizards and walled cities, Raffalon is a journeyman member of the Ancient and Honorable Guild of Purloiners and Purveyors. In other words, a thief.His skills allow him to scale walls, tickle locks, defeat magical wards. He lifts treasures and trinkets, and spends the proceeds on ale and sausages in taverns where a wise thief sits with his back to the wall.But somehow things often go the way they shouldn't and then Raffalon has to rely upon his wits and a well calibrated sense of daring.Here are nine tales that take our enterprising thief into the Underworld and Overworld, and pit him against prideful thaumaturges, grasping magnates, crooked guild masters, ghosts, spies, ogres, and a talented amateur assassin.Includes "Inn of the Seven Blessings," from the bestselling anthology, ROGUES, and "Sternutative Sortilege," which appears only in this collection.

Gollancz

No Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly
Trapeze

The Boy

Tami Hoag
Authors:
Tami Hoag
Orion

An Italian Affair

Caroline Montague
Authors:
Caroline Montague

A sweeping tale of love, betrayal and war, set against the glorious Tuscan countryside. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Dinah Jeffries Love. War. Family. Betrayal.Italy, 1937. Alessandra Durante is grieving the loss of her husband when she discovers she has inherited her ancestral family seat, Villa Durante, deep in the Tuscan Hills. Longing for a new start, she moves from her home in London to Italy with her daughter Diana and sets about rebuilding her life. Under the threat of war, Alessandra's house becomes first a home and then a shelter to all those who need it. Then Davide, a young man who is hiding the truth about who he is, arrives, and Diana starts to find her heart going where her head knows it must not.Back home in Britain as war breaks out, Alessandra's son Robert, signs up to be a pilot, determined to play his part in freeing Italy from the grip of Fascism. His bravery marks him out as an asset to the Allies, and soon he is being sent deep undercover and further into danger than ever before.As war rages, the Durante family will love and lose, but will they survive the war...?

Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
W&N

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah

'Nobody understands the many faces of cops better than Mari Hannah.' Val McDermid'Mari Hannah writes with a sharp eye and a dark heart.' Peter James'Thrilling, exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat.' Angela Marsons*****************'He was her child. The only one she'd ever have. It would kill her to learn that he was missing.'Alex arrives home from holiday to find that her ten-year-old son Daniel has disappeared.It's the first case together for Northumbria CID officers David Stone and Frankie Oliver. Stone has returned to his roots with fifteen years' experience in the Met, whereas Oliver is local, a third generation copper with a lot to prove, and a secret that's holding her back.But as the investigation unfolds, they realise the family's betrayal goes deeper than anyone suspected. This isn't just a missing persons case. Stone and Oliver are hunting a killer. *****************Why readers love award-winning expert author, Mari Hannah:'A blistering start to Hannah's new detective series, The Lost pitches her fearless coppers into a case which will explode one family's seemingly perfect life. Mari Hannah is a consummate storyteller and her books genuine must reads for any serious crime fan.' Eva Dolan'Mari Hannah writes with compassion, humour and a firm grasp of character and plot. Her Kate Daniels series has already won her many fans, and this new series, featuring DS Frankie Oliver and DI David Stone, should win her many more. The Lost is a truly absorbing novel, full of twists and turns, all illuminated by Hannah's suspenseful and thrilling writing.' Peter Robinson'A complex and unsettling story, which keeps you gripped until the end.' Amazon reviewer,5 stars'I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. The plotting is superb with plenty of unexpected and audacious twists and turns which drew me in and didn't let go. I'm already looking forward to the sequel.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Orion

The Green Count

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron