John Connor - Falling - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409188803
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2019

Falling

By John Connor

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning thriller that sees DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity

A stunning thriller that sees DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity

Terror is only a footstep away . . .

A year and a half ago DC Karen Sharpe was the victim of a terrifying crime. Desperately trying to shelter from its effects she has been working simple fraud and theft cases in West Yorkshire CID. But the brutal murder of a young pregnant woman threatens the precarious wall she has built around herself. Drafted onto the squad to deal with the victim's six-year-old child, Karen finds herself overwhelmed by the devastating nature of the attack.

As nightmares from her past start to reoccur, her relationships with those closest to her - including her partner and teenage daughter - begin to crack under the strain. An illicit relationship with her boss promises excitement and escape: a new beginning without the trappings of past horrors and guilt. But life has a savage lesson in store for her. As West Yorkshire erupts in a summer of explosive race riots, events tip Karen into the depths of the very world she has been fleeing.

Why readers love John Connor:

'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph
'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror
'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent
'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily Express

Fans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:

Karen Sharpe
1. Phoenix
2. Playroom
3. A Child's Game
4. Falling
5. Unsafe

Standalone
1. The Vanishing
2. The Ice House

* Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Biographical Notes

John Connor left his job as a barrister to write full time. During the fifteen years of his legal career he prosecuted numerous homicide cases in West Yorkshire and London. He advised the police in numerous proactive drugs and organised crime operations, many involving covert activity. He now lives in Brussels with his wife and two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409136705
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Connor's plot is enthralling, his characters sharp and vital: FALLING is a compelling, intelligent thriller, placing everyday normality in dramatic relief against the horrific experiences of Sharpe and her colleagues. — Financial Times
Compelling — Guardian
The writing is skilled and the West Yorkshire background described with authority in a plot based on racial tensions and their explosive repercussions... not a comfortable reading but a gripping one — Literary Review
Enjoyably intricate and well-composed — Sunday Telegraph
A superb cast of characters, a gritty and appalling window into the race riots that took their toll on Bradford... and also with a crashing, blockbuster of an ending that sees justice meted out to those who deserve it the most. — Bookbag
A gritty, noirish series with a fantastic protagonist — Tangled Web
A fast-paced, explosive thriller, which makes for a great read — Western Daily Express
Connor's moving up the ladder of police procedural mastery and in the brittle but determined cop Karen he has a secure pension — Daily Sport
Orion

The Chain

Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Authors:
Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty

YOUR PHONE RINGSA STRANGER HAS KIDNAPPED YOUR CHILDTO FREE THEM YOU MUST ABDUCT SOMEONE ELSE'SYOUR CHILD WILL BE RELEASED WHEN YOUR VICTIM'S PARENTS KIDNAP ANOTHERIF ANY OF THESE THINGS DON'T HAPPEN:YOUR CHILD WILL BE KILLED.YOU ARE NOW PART OF THE CHAIN

Gateway

Out of his Mind

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Spirit Box

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

White Bizango

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Rescued from the morgue and a bizarre and unpleasant end, Louisiana detective John Lafcadio owes his life to the Cult Crime Co-ordinators. Known also as the Voodoo Cops, their job is to dispel superstition and nail crimes of ignorance.There's a growing need for their services. A new kind of predator is on the loose. When the middle classes began to adopt vodoun as a lifestyle fad, their doors were opened to a ruthless white male with a command of the religion's darker practical secrets.Hunting down Lafcadio's would-be killer will be no easy task. His victims are also his protectors. And how can Lafcadio hope to identify a man whose eyes he once stared into, but whose face he can't remember?

Gateway

The Painted Bride

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

The woman in the red dress. He called it the painted bride. Pippa showed the picture to her father and her father called the police. They had Jack in a room all yesterday and kept asking him about it. Now they're all trying to twist it by saying it means something.""What are they trying to say?""That he must have seen her lying on the kitchen floor. That the rainbow means he saw her blood come out.

Gateway

Red, Red Robin

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

When Ruth Lasseter hires an escort to cover for a workplace affair, she lets a deeply disturbed young man into her life. Though she survives the consequence, she's left with the lingering suspicion that he hasn't simply disappeared. He's still out there, taking out his problems on other woman just like her.There was a moment when Ruth had her chance to stop him for good. But she didn't take it.Now she sees that closure-for both of them-lies on the other side of that line.

Gateway

Nightmare, with Angel

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Rain

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Lucy Ashdown is a girl with a mission - to find the driver who ran down and killed her sister Christine. Now she has a lead and she's off to London.Disgraced Detective Joe Lucas is as dedicated as Lucy. HIs aim is to bring her home. By any means necessary.Stepping into her sister's shoes, this small-town girl is thrust into a terrifying night journey of deceit, danger, and degradation. By recreating her sister's journey, she unwittingly heads toward her sister's fate; and even as she believes that she's closing in on the murderer, the murderer is closing in on her.

Gateway

Follower

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Boat House

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

A dark love story, and a disturbing tale of a divided soul.In the days leading to the fall of the Soviet empire, a young woman with a deadly secret slips unnoticed into the West. And when Alina Petrovna first appears in Three Oaks Bay it's clear that her frail, luminous beauty is likely to cause some ripples in the surface calm of the peaceful resort town.For Pete McCarthy, the boatyard worker who gives her shelter, she's an enigma. A complex, well-meaning young woman with a difficult past. Someone whose mystery deepens as the season gets under way, and the deaths by drowning begin...

Gateway

Oktober

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

An apparently fatal incident occurs when schoolteacher Jim Harper is skiing near a small research station owned by the giant multinational Risinger-Genoud. Even treatment with their new, untried and experimental superdrug cannot save his life.Or so it seems. For Jim Harper, though left for dead, has survived. But in the long haul back to health and sanity, he begins to realise that something terrible has happened to him. Now the only way in which he can unravel the mystery in his mind is to go back to the point where it began to develop - back to Risinger-Genoud and their Oktober programme. And Risinger Genoud are going to be very interested to see him.Oktober is a frightening journey into a world of greed and lies, a world in which the cover-up is not only a way of life, but something planned ahead of time. Step by horrifying step, Jim Harper unravels what has been done to him, and then designs the perfect act of vengeance, an act that teeters on the brink of madness...

Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Gateway

Valley of Lights

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Supernatural fusion of horror and police procedural set in Phoenix, Arizona. When Police Sergeant Alex Volchak discovers the true nature of a predator that has survived among us unnoticed for generations, he places himself and those around him in mortal danger. It's older than the desert, a thing without a name, but as vicious, jealous and self-preserving a creature as ever walked the earth. And it hides in plain sight.

Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Orion

Gentleman Sinner

Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jodi Ellen Malpas
Gateway

Chimera

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

The novel that inspired the headline-grabbing ITV series starring John Lynch, Kenneth Cranham, and Christine Kavanagh. A terrifyingly plausible journey into the disturbing nerve-centers of medical science where our secret future is formed today.When Peter Carson is invited to the pioneering Jenner Clinic by one of the lab assistants, he's naturally intrigued. But when he arrives at the remote site in the Cumbrian fells to find police roadblocks and official silence, he realises that he's stumbled onto a story that will do him no good at all.Dr Jenner's work matters to the government. Enough to warrant unlimited funding, high security, and the best technicians in the country. But something has gone badly wrong. The project that has no room for mistakes has produced a result so terrible that it must never see the light of day. And now the evidence must be destroyed, whatever the cost.

Orion

The Golden Tresses of the Dead

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce, the twelve-year-old chemist and amateur detective is eager to turn professional. She and her father's valet, Dogger, have founded a detective agency, Arthur Dogger & Associates, and unexpectedly cut into their first case during the revelry at her sister Ophelia's wedding reception.After an eventful ceremony with a missing best man and spontaneous ventriloquist act, spirits are high as Feely and her new husband head for the towering and beautifully iced wedding cake. But as Feely slices into the first piece, a scream rings out - the bridal cake contains a severed human finger. Delighted, Flavia wraps the finger in a napkin and whisks it away to her chemical laboratory. By studying the embalmed skin, the indentation of a ring, and the slope of the fingernail, she'll not only be able to determine the identity of the victim - but also point a finger at a killer.

Orion

To Catch a Killer

Emma Kavanagh
Authors:
Emma Kavanagh
Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt