John Connor - Falling - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Falling

By John Connor

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning thriller that sees DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity

A stunning thriller that sees DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity

Terror is only a footstep away . . .

A year and a half ago DC Karen Sharpe was the victim of a terrifying crime. Desperately trying to shelter from its effects she has been working simple fraud and theft cases in West Yorkshire CID. But the brutal murder of a young pregnant woman threatens the precarious wall she has built around herself. Drafted onto the squad to deal with the victim's six-year-old child, Karen finds herself overwhelmed by the devastating nature of the attack.

As nightmares from her past start to reoccur, her relationships with those closest to her - including her partner and teenage daughter - begin to crack under the strain. An illicit relationship with her boss promises excitement and escape: a new beginning without the trappings of past horrors and guilt. But life has a savage lesson in store for her. As West Yorkshire erupts in a summer of explosive race riots, events tip Karen into the depths of the very world she has been fleeing.

Why readers love John Connor:

'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph
'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror
'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent
'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily Express

Fans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:

Karen Sharpe
1. Phoenix
2. Playroom
3. A Child's Game
4. Falling
5. Unsafe

Standalone
1. The Vanishing
2. The Ice House

* Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Biographical Notes

John Connor left his job as a barrister to write full time. During the fifteen years of his legal career he prosecuted numerous homicide cases in West Yorkshire and London. He advised the police in numerous proactive drugs and organised crime operations, many involving covert activity. He now lives in Brussels with his wife and two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409136705
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Gentleman Sinner

Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jodi Ellen Malpas

Izzy White knows of the darkness in this world. After all, she escaped it long ago. Determined not to let her past beat her, Izzy has a secure, stable life with a job she loves in nursing. But one act of kindness will completely upend everything she's so carefully built-putting her right back in the crosshairs of danger she's been so desperate to avoid. When Theo Kane shows up like a knight in shining armour, Izzy can't help thinking she's been saved from one threat and exposed to another. His imposing physique, the harsh lines of his face, and the wariness of everyone who comes close are just a few clues to Theo Kane's notorious reputation. The man is positively terrifying. But with Izzy, he's tender and a complete gentleman, and her fascination with the mysterious beast of a man becomes too powerful for her to walk away. As Theo's demons come to light, running becomes even more impossible. And yet staying together could doom them both.Read by Julie Garthan(p) Hachette Audio 2019

Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
W&N

Five Days of Fog

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

'I am sleep deprived having stayed awake desperate to find out what happened!' 'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking' - Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID / SHE SAID, on TATTLETALEThe new psychological thriller from Sarah J Naughton, for fans of Clare Mackintosh's LET ME LIE, Cara Hunter's CLOSE TO HOME and Lara Marshall's FRIEND REQUEST*************'Intelligent. Gripping. Colourful. Great setting. Absorbing characters.' - Jane Corry, bestselling author of MY HUSBAND'S WIFE and BLOOD SISTERSIt was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star resort in paradise.White sands, a private villa and world-class cuisine.A chance for newlyweds Asha and Ollie Graveney to recover from a recent tragedy, and enjoy the holiday of their dreams.Except someone has other plans...And paradise has turned into a nightmare.If you like Clare Mackintosh, BA Paris, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this dark, twisty tale************* "From the moment Asha and Ollie set off on honeymoon the cracks begin to show, as Naughton skilfully weaves three timelines into a chilling drama... As the tension rose, I turned the pages faster and faster - until the denouement hit me like a juggernaut." - Alison Belsham, author of THE TATTOO THIEF'Brilliantly chilling and claustraphobic, the thought of being trapped in paradise yet knowing something wasn't right was such a frightening concept. I didn't guess at any point what was going to happen... I loved it!' - Karen Hamilton, author of THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND"I am sleep deprived having stayed awake desperate to find out what happened to Asha & Ollie in Vietnam. I wasn't disappointed, this is a very well setup ending, everyone is under suspicion with lots of clever red herrings." - Amazon reviewer, 5 stars Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale: 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of BETWEEN YOU AND ME'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
Orion

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Orion

The Ice House

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Samaritan

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
The Murder Room

New Hope for the Dead

Charles Willeford
Authors:
Charles Willeford

'No one writes a better crime novel than Charles Willeford' Elmore LeonardIn an expensive Miami neighbourhood, Sergeant Hoke Mosely, Homicide Division, is called to investigate the lethal overdose of a young junkie. But what seems like a routine OD gives Moseley cause to doubt - particularly when he meets the dead kid's stunning stepmother.And with his two teenage daughters dumped on him by his troublesome ex-wife, a new beat partner struggling with an unplanned pregnancy, and fifty cold cases to solve, it starts to feel like this little matter of a dead junkie and his beautiful stepmother might just be the answer to Hoke's prayers . . .

The Murder Room

Sideswipe

Charles Willeford
Authors:
Charles Willeford

'No one writes a better crime novel than Charles Willeford' Elmore LeonardIn a hot Florida summer, Sergeant Hoke Moseley's life is going to hell: his ex-wife just remarried, his teenage daughters want to quit school and his beat partner is eight months pregnant - and living in his house. A break seems long overdue, so Hoke decides to bail out, give up police work and watch the ocean roll.But things don't always work out. A handsome, cowboy-hatted psychopath is planning another armed robbery - one that will draw a retiree into a life of crime and leave half-a-dozen bystanders dead. It's a case right up Hoke's alley: weird enough to catch his attention, personal enough to make him mad, and twisted enough to make Hoke forget he no longer wants to be a cop.

The Murder Room

The Way We Die Now

Charles Willeford
Authors:
Charles Willeford

'No one writes a better crime novel than Charles Willeford' Elmore LeonardSergeant Hoke Moseley is struggling: his division chief is making ominous plans for him, a man he sent to jail for murder has moved in across the street, and he's stuck on one of his toughest cold cases yet. So the last thing he needs is to be sent undercover just as he's beginning to make some headway with his work.South of Miami he is taken as a migrant worker to a farm where rumours of murder and slavery are rife. With only a Filipino prostitute and his own wits to protect him, Hoke faces vicious rednecks and his own scheming boss in this funny, vibrant masterpiece of hard-boiled fiction, the final Hoke Moseley.

Orion

The Vanishing

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor