Rachael English - Going Back - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409145219
    • Publication date:23 May 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409154273
    • Publication date:22 May 2014

Going Back

By Rachael English

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

From Ireland to the USA, a heart-warming story of family, friendships and love, of difficult decisions and lifelong consequences from a well-loved Irish radio personality and author of THE AMERICAN GIRL
Nominated for the Irish Book Awards

From Ireland to the USA, a heart-warming story of family, friendships and love, of difficult decisions and lifelong consequences from a well-loved Irish radio personality.

How do you know where you belong?

In June 1988, Elizabeth Kelly's parents think she belongs at home in Ireland. Her boyfriend is certain of it. Unwilling to settle down just yet, she decides to spend the summer in Boston with her college friends. But the next four months change all of them, especially Elizabeth. Quiet and dutiful at home, she surprises herself and everyone else by falling for Danny Esposito, a restless charmer with a troublesome family.

More than 20 years later with opportunities in Ireland scarce once again, a new generation looks to America, awakening memories of a golden summer for their parents. When a crisis occurs, Elizabeth returns to Boston where she is drawn back into the life she once lived. But will she be able to reconcile the dreams of her 20-year-old self with the woman she has become?

Biographical Notes

Rachael English is a presenter on Ireland's most popular radio show, Morning Ireland. During more than 20 years as a journalist she has covered a huge range of national and international stories for RTÉ Radio's leading current affairs programmes. Her debut novel, Going Back, was nomnated in the SUNDAY INDEPENDENT Newcomer of the Year category in the IRISH BOOK AWARDS.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409145202
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Orion
An impressive debut from a skilled novelist who brings a breath of fresh air to the Irish publishing world. English is certainly a force to be reckoned with and may prove to be as formidable a player in the books market as she is in the broadcasting world — IRISH INDEPENDENT
A thoroughly enjoyable novel about being young and in love and about life coming full circle. Rachael English paints a vivid portrait of what it was to be Irish in America in the nineteen eighties and what it is to be Irish now. Witty and perceptive, she has a voice that is all her own — Kathleen MacMahon
An impressive debut — Irish World
a distinctive new voice in a clever, nuanced debut. — IRISH SUNDAY INDEPENDENT
Anyone who has wondered what life might have been like if they'd stayed together with a summer love will be charmed by [Rachael English's] warm, heartfelt debut novel. — IRISH TIMES
Hugely romantic and readable. — IRISH EXAMINER
Assured and warm-hearted. — MAIL ON SUNDAY (Ireland)
English is a great writer and this is a fantastic debut — HOT PRESS
English is so readable; you will fall into this book as you would a soft settee. Read it and sigh for the enduring beauty of first love. — IRISHTIMES.COM
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi
Orion

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Trapeze

Wild Embers

Nikita Gill
Authors:
Nikita Gill
W&N

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

The sensational psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, CJ Taylor and BA Paris.'I thoroughly enjoyed Tattletale, sympathetic characters and neck breaking twists - highly recommended.' Jenny BlackhurstOne day changes Jody's life forever. She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.One day changes Mags's life forever. After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiancé Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind. But the pieces don't quite seem to fit...Packed with twists and turns, this gripping psychological thriller will make you question whether we can ever really trust the ones we love.'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'A well-crafted tale of love, obsession and murder - beautifully written and brilliantly twisted.' Ava Marsh, author of EXPOSURE'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking.' Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID/SHE SAID

Trapeze

Who Will Love Me Now?

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli
Trapeze

The 50 Things

Peter Dunne
Authors:
Peter Dunne

Praise for The 50 Things: "This book is that rare thing: a non-preachy and super-helpful guide. Every page made me smile and some laugh aloud." Eoin Colfer, bestselling author of Artemis Fowl"Humane, funny and above all loving. I wish I'd written it to my children." Fiona Bruce"Few exude the love warmth, humour, humility, and insightfulness we all aspire to, as naturally and generously as Peter Dunne and I can't recommend the soul-warming experience of reading his wonderful blog-born, hence uncontrived, book highly enough." Stephen Russell, aka The Barefoot DoctorAs his 50th birthday dawned, Peter Dunne had a life-changing conversation with a friend and realised that, while he may not have invented the internet or found a cure for cancer, he had nonetheless fathered three remarkable and beautiful children.Inspired by that fact, he set out to leave a trail of metaphorical breadcrumbs for them, so that if they ever needed to know what their father might have had to say on a particular subject, it would be set down for them.The result is a book of letters from a father to his children, and though the stories are firmly set in a place and time, the themes and the tone are universal and timeless. From Compromise to Compassion, from Democracy to Sacrifice, THE 50 THINGS explores the social mores and morality of our time and tries to answer the eternal questions that line the path to peace of mind.

Orion

The Stranger

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

Each and Every One

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Orion

Missing You

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

A Flower That's Free

Sarah Harrison
Authors:
Sarah Harrison

Following on from the international bestseller THE FLOWERS OF THE FIELD, an epic novel set amid the turbulence of the Second World War.Kate Kingsley remembers little of her early childhood, other than the devastation of being torn away from everything she knew in France and sent to live as the adopted daughter of Jack and Thea in Kenya.Now 20, she leaves Kenya for a new life in London. But this is 1936 - a time of decadence, but also turmoil.Kate finds an unexpected ally in her Aunt Dulcie, whose own life is anything but straightforward. When Kate falls in love - almost despite herself - she believes she has found a soul mate. But this is just the start of a journey during which Kate confronts personal danger, faces conflicting loyalties, and must make a heart-breaking choice, before she can find a kind of freedom.

Orion

Six Years

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

A lost love... and the secrets and lies at its heart. The stunning novel from No.1 bestseller Harlan Coben.Six years have passed since Jake Fisher watched Natalie, the love of his life, marry another man. Six years of hiding a broken heart by throwing himself into his career. Six years of keeping his promise to leave Natalie alone, and six years of tortured dreams of her life with her new husband, Todd.But six years haven't come close to extinguishing his feelings, and when Jake comes across Todd's obituary, he can't keep himself away from the funeral. There he gets the glimpse of Todd's wife he's hoping for... but she is not Natalie - and Jake's world is turned completely inside out.As Jake searches for the truth, his picture-perfect memories of Natalie begin to unravel. Mutual friends of the couple either can't be found or don't remember Jake. No one has seen Natalie in years. Jake's search for the woman who broke his heart - and who lied to him - soon puts his very life at risk as it dawns on him that the man he has become may be based on carefully constructed fiction.

Orion

Recipe for Life

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
W&N

Maya

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

Jean E. Pendziwol

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. Once Upon a Northern Night was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. The Lightkeeper's Daughters is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.

Joanne M Harris

Joanne Harris is the author of the Whitbread-shortlisted CHOCOLAT (made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp) and many other bestselling novels. Her hobbies are listed in Who's Who as 'mooching, lounging, strutting, strumming, priest-baiting and quiet subversion'. She plays bass guitar in a band first formed when she was 16, is currently studying Old Norse, and lives with her husband and daughter in Yorkshire, about 15 miles from the place she was born.Find out more at www.joanne-harris.co.uk or follow her on Twitter @Joannechocolat

Joe Hill

Joe Hill is a recipient of the Ray Bradbury Fellowship and the winner of the A.E. Coppard Long Fiction Prize, William Crawford, World Fantasy, British Fantasy, Bram Stoker and International Horror Guild Awards. His short fiction has appeared in literary, mystery and horror collections and magazines in Britain and America.For more information, visit www.joehillfiction.com, visit joehillsthrills.tumblr.com, or follow @Joe_Hill on twitter.

John Gottman

John Gottman, Ph.D, 56, is the founder director of the Seattle Marital and Family Institute and Professor of Psychology at the University of Washington. Co-author, Nan Silver, is a writer living in New York

Julia Whelan

Julia Whelan, an Earphones award winner, is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple television shows, most notably in Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry, and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.