Erica James - The Dandelion Years - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409146100
    • Publication date:26 Feb 2015

The Dandelion Years

By Erica James

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From wartime Bletchley to a modern day Suffolk village, a gorgeous tale of friendship and love from the Sunday Times bestselling author of SUMMER AT THE LAKE.

'Someone had made a perfect job of creating a place in which to hide a notebook . . . there was no address, only a date: September 1943 . . .'

Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling cottage on the edge of a Suffolk village, it provided a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.

Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to broken and battered books, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a hidden notebook - and realises someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own - Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409146131
  • Publication date: 18 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orion
One to curl up with and enjoy. — WOMAN & HOME
The twists and turns in this unconventional love story will keep you guessing until the end. — WOMAN
This is a gentle, well-written read, stuffed full of engaging characters you'll root for from the start — DAILY MAIL
Beautiful and heart-warming — SUN ON SUNDAY FABULOUS MAGAZINE
Orion

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander

W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld

Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli
Orion

The Highwayman

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson

Sheriff Walt Longmire and Henry Standing Bear embark on their latest adventure in this novella set in the world of Craig Johnson's New York Times bestselling Longmire series-the basis for the hit drama Longmire, now on Netflix.When Wyoming highway patrolman Rosey Wayman is transferred to the beautiful and imposing landscape of the Wind River Canyon, an area the troopers refer to as no-man's-land because of the lack of radio communication, she starts receiving "officer needs assistance" calls. The problem? They're coming from Bobby Womack, a legendary Arapaho patrolman who met a fiery death in the canyon almost a half-century ago.With an investigation that spans this world and the next, Sheriff Walt Longmire and Henry Standing Bear take on a case that pits them against a legend: The Highwayman.

Orion

An Obvious Fact

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson

In the 12th novel in the New York Times bestselling Longmire series - the basis for the hit Netflix original series Longmire - Walt, Henry, and Vic discover much more than they bargained for when they are called in to investigate a hit-and-run accident involving a young motorcyclist.In the midst of the largest motorcycle rally in the world, a young biker is run off the road and ends up in critical condition. When Sheriff Walt Longmire and his good friend Henry Standing Bear are called to Hulett, Wyoming-the nearest town to America's first national monument, Devils Tower-to investigate, things start getting complicated. As competing biker gangs; the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms; a military-grade vehicle donated to the tiny local police force by a wealthy entrepreneur; and Lola, the real-life femme fatale and namesake for Henry's '59 Thunderbird (and, by extension, Walt's granddaughter) come into play, it rapidly becomes clear that there is more to get to the bottom of at this year's Sturgis Motorcycle Rally than a bike accident. After all, in the words of Arthur Conan Doyle, whose Adventures of Sherlock Holmes the Bear won't stop quoting, "There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact."

Orion

Hot Mess

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory

Danny McCabe is on the run. He committed a terrible crime. And he'd do it again.A promising boxer back in his native Ireland, he had to start over with a new life and a new home, halfway across the world in up-and-coming New York City.A chance encounter tangles his life up with fellow immigrants Nicky and Lucia Mariani. The siblings came to the land of opportunity with high hopes and little else. As Danny scrapes by, Lucia dreams of Hollywood stardom, while Nicky's reckless ambition measures success only in money and power.They are the only family Danny has. He would do anything for them. But every family has its secrets -- even from each other . . .This is a sweeping story set over three decades, from Europe to America, from the slums and tenements of New York to the glitz and glamour of the Hollywood Hills, from the dark heart of the American Dream to an impossible choice . . .

Orion

This Much is True

Jane Sanderson
Authors:
Jane Sanderson
W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester

The Kindle bestseller by debut author Jem LesterInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme SimsionTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme Simsion'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP'Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls.' Jonathan TropperWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.''A must read for everyone.''real and honest with an equal mix of joy and pain.'

Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly

There are sixteen contestants, but only one will survive.The last thing Jack West Jr remembers is arriving for a meeting at a top-secret military base with his family in tow.Now he awakes to find himself in a hellish scenario. Jack has been selected to take part in the Games, a series of deadly challenges designed to fulfil an ancient ritual. If he chooses not to compete, both he and his daughter will be killed.With the fate of the Earth at stake, Jack will have to traverse diabolical mazes, fight ruthless assassins and face unimaginable horrors that will test him to the limit.In the process, he will discover the mysterious and powerful group of individuals behind it all: the four legendary kingdoms.The thrilling new Jack West adventure from the bestselling author of The Great Zoo of China and The Five Greatest Warriors.

W&N

Today Will Be Different

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple
W&N

Who Killed Piet Barol?

Richard Mason
Authors:
Richard Mason
Gollancz

Swastika Night

Murray Constantine
Authors:
Murray Constantine
Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

A prehistoric corpse entombed within an Arctic glacier, crying tears of blood.A jungle island overrun by rabid primates - escapees from a research laboratory's Hot Zone.A massive seaplane hidden beneath a mountain, packed with a Nazi cargo of mind-blowing evil.A penniless orphan kidnapped from an African slum, holding the key to the world's survival.Four terrifying journeys. One impossible path. Only one man to attempt it.Will Jaeger. The Hunter.

Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Lizzie has always had an unfortunate knack of attracting bad luck, but this time she's hit the jackpot. Losing her heart to her boss leads to her losing her job, and with no money in the bank, Lizzie finds herself forced to move back home with her parents. When she reluctantly takes another job, she meets Mrs Dallimore, a seemingly ordinary elderly woman with an astonishing past . . .Now in her nineties, Mrs Dallimore is also coming to terms with her situation. Old age is finally catching up with her. As she and Lizzie form the bond of unexpected friendship, Mrs Dallimore tells the story of a young girl who left America before the outbreak of World War Two and, in crossing an ocean, found herself embarking on a new life she couldn't have imagined.As Lizzie listens to Mrs Dallimore, she begins to realise that she's not the only person to attract bad luck, and that sometimes life has a way of surprising you . . .

W&N

The Life and Death of Sophie Stark

Anna North
Authors:
Anna North

'If The Girl on the Train was the woman of 2015, then Sophie Stark is this year's model. Anna North's new novel, The Life and Death of Sophie Stark, has been a hit in America, with Lena Dunham describing its protagonist as a "totally unforgettable female antihero". Out now - soon every girl on every train will be reading it' Sunday TimesWho is the real Sophie Stark? The Life and Death of Sophie Stark is the story of an enigmatic film director, told by the six people who loved her most. Brilliant, infuriating, all-seeing and unknowable, Sophie Stark makes films said to be 'more like life than life itself'. But her genius comes at a terrible cost: to her husband, to the brother she left behind, and to an actress who knows too much. With shades of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, A Visit from the Goon Squad and Where'd You Go, Bernadette, it combines a uniquely appealing sensibility with a compulsively page-turning plot.

W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
W&N

The List of my Desires

Gregoire Delacourt
Authors:
Gregoire Delacourt

Money can buy you freedom. But what about happiness?When Jocelyne looks at herself in the mirror, she sees a middle-aged, married woman who runs a dressmaking shop in a small provincial French town and lives a very ordinary existence. But what happened to all those dreams she had when she was 17?Then she wins millions on the lottery and has the chance to change her life for ever. So why does she find herself reluctant to accept the money? To help her decide what to do, she begins to compile a list of her heart's desires, never suspecting for one moment that the decision might be taken out of her hands ...

Orion

Black And Blue

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

The 8th Inspector Rebus novel from the No.1 bestselling, award-winning author.Rebus is juggling four cases trying to nail one killer - who might just lead back to the infamous Bible John. And he's doing it under the scrutiny of an internal inquiry led by a man he has just accused of taking backhanders from Glasgow's Mr Big.As if this wasn't enough, there are TV cameras at his back investigating a miscarriage of justice, making Rebus a criminal in the eyes of a million or more viewers. Just one mistake is likely to mean an unpleasant and not particularly speedy death or, worse still, losing his job.