Deborah Lawrenson - The Sea Garden - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409145912
    • Publication date:28 Aug 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409145936
    • Publication date:28 Aug 2014

The Sea Garden

By Deborah Lawrenson

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Following on from her TV Book Club success with THE LANTERN, Deborah Lawrenson returns to the south of France with another captivating story of wartime love, secrets and bravery.

Following on from her TV Book Club success with THE LANTERN, Deborah Lawrenson returns to the south of France with another captivating story of wartime love, secrets and bravery.

Present day. On a lush Mediterranean island off the French coast, Ellie has accepted a commission to restore an abandoned garden. It seems idyllic, but the longer Ellie spends at the house and garden, the more she senses darkness, and a lingering evil that seems to haunt her.

Second World War. Two very different women have their lives irrevocably changed: Iris, a junior intelligence officer in London and Marthe, a blind girl who works in the lavender fields of Provence and is slowly drawn into the heart of the Resistance. As secret messages are passed in scent and planes land by moonlight, danger comes ever closer...

Biographical Notes

Deborah Lawrenson spent her childhood moving around the world with diplomatic service parents, from Kuwait to China, Belgium, Luxembourg and Singapore. She graduated from Cambridge University and worked as a journalist in London. She is the author of five previous novels, including The Art of Falling, chosen for the prestigious WHSmith Fresh Talent promotion, and Songs of Blue and Gold, inspired by the life of writer-traveller Lawrence Durrell. Deborah is married with a daughter, and lives in Kent. The family spends as much time as possible at a crumbling hamlet in Provence, France, which is the atmospheric setting for The Lantern.

Find out more at www.deborah-lawrenson.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409146186
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion
Centred on a landscape gardener commissioned to restore a Second World War memorial garden, a blind women apprenticed in a perfume factory in Nazi-occupied Provence and an intelligence officer in wartime London, The Lantern author offers three novellas cleverly interconnected to form a tale of love, mystery and murder — BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH
an enthralling story of wartime love and bravery punctuated with evocative descriptions of the beautiful south of France — FRANCE MAGAZINE
THE SEA GARDEN weaves a double spell, and honestly, it got me right from the start. Lawrenson steeps her story of the invisible heroes of the French Resistance crossing borders - and here, crossing time - deep in the eerie beauty of the South of France. The result is a marvellous strange fruit: think Graham Greene served up with a dash of Poe — Sarah Blake, author of The Postmistress
Gollancz

The Night Lies Bleeding

M.D. Lachlan
Authors:
M.D. Lachlan
Orion

Monsoon Summer

Julia Gregson
Authors:
Julia Gregson
Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Orion

The Green Count

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

The perfect book group read for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.A secret buried so deep, only a liar could uncover itWiltshire, 1922. When murder comes to the idyllic, sleepy village of Slaughterford one hot summer, nobody is prepared for it - or for the sudden loss of one of their own. The killing is a shock to all who knew the victim, and when Pudding Cartwright's brother is suspected of the crime she is drawn towards conspicuous newcomer Irene, both determined to discover the identity of the killer in their midst. Unaware of just how deep the roots of the crime lie, Pudding and Irene begin to uncover truths neither of them could have foreseen, and the chance finding of a strange object, hidden away for years, will change everything.Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore'I've loved all of Katherine Webb's books' Kate Riordan'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart' Kate Williams'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Orion

Body Reading, Orion Plain and Simple

Sasha Fenton
Authors:
Sasha Fenton
Orion

Rage of Ares

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
W&N

Travelers Rest

Keith Lee Morris
Authors:
Keith Lee Morris

The Addisons - Julia and Tonio, ten-year-old Dewey, and Uncle Robbie - are driving home after collecting Robbie from yet another trip to rehab. When a terrifying blizzard strikes outside the town of Good Night, Idaho, they seek refuge at the Travelers Rest, a formerly opulent but now crumbling hotel.With nowhere else to go, they decide to stay the night. But once inside, the family becomes separated and the hotel begins to work its eerie magic. As Julia and Tonio drift through the maze of the hotel's spectral interiors, Dewey ventures outside. Meanwhile, a desperate Robbie quickly succumbs to his old vices. As they desperately try to reach each other, they relive the same day over and over again. The mother, Julia, holds the key to their release - but can she save her family from the fate of becoming Souvenirs - those citizens trapped forever in Good Night-or, worse, from disappearing entirely?

Orion

Master of Shadows

Neil Oliver
Authors:
Neil Oliver
Orion

Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Orion

The Stranger

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world.Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life.Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corrine, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corrine's deception, and realizes that if he doesn't make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he's stumbled into will not only ruin lives - it will end them...

Orion

Written in My Own Heart's Blood

Diana Gabaldon
Authors:
Diana Gabaldon
Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

The international bestselling author of THE LEGACY returns with a searing new novel of secrets and feuds, set in 1920s Italy.Puglia, Italy, 1921. Leandro returns home, now a rich man, with a glamorous American wife, determined to make his mark. But how did he get so wealthy - and what haunts his outwardly exuberant wife?Boyd, quiet English architect, is hired to build Leandro's dreams. But why is he so afraid of Leandro, and what really happened between them years before, in New York?Clare, Boyd's diffident wife, is summoned to Puglia with her stepson. At first desperate to leave, she soon finds a compelling reason to stay.Ettore, starving, poor and grieving for his lost fiancée, is too proud to ask his Uncle Leandro for help. Until events conspire to force his hand.Tensions are high as poverty leads veterans of the Great War to the brink of rebellion. And under the burning sky, a reckless love and a violent enmity will bring brutal truths to light . . .

Orion

The Last Crusaders: Ivan the Terrible

William Napier
Authors:
William Napier

Hardened by battle, seasoned by war, four adventurers caught in the path of one of history's most enigmatic leaders.1571. At the great naval battle of Lepanto the Ottoman Empire is finally defeated, and it seems that Europe is safe.But then Nicholas Ingoldsby is summoned to London by the Queen herself and sent on a diplomatic mission to Constantinople, the heart of the old enemy - and then onward, to a little-known but rising power called Muscovy, ruled by a deranged but cunning czar - Ivan the Terrible.The rise of Muscovy has also caught the attention of the Ottomans; and their allies, the wild Tatar horsemen of the Asiatic steppes, Russia's ancient enemy. Soon Nicholas and his fellow travellers are caught up in their most dangerous adventure yet, trapped in a doomed Muscovy with a vast army of Tatar tribesmen riding down upon them, vowed to burn the city to the ground and extinguish Russia for ever...

Orion

Village Rumours

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
Orion

The Dead Hour

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

A gripping crime thriller from the two-time winner of the THEAKSTONS OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD.It seemed like just another domestic: a woman bleeding from a head injury behind a smart front door in one of Glasgow's nicer suburbs. She insists she doesn't need help, and the well-dressed man with her assures journalist Paddy Meehan that everything is fine.But Paddy is not convinced. Especially when she is given a £50 note to keep the story out the papers.The next morning, the woman is dead. Paddy has the story of a lifetime - but will lose everything if word gets out about the bribe. And it seems the police have their own reasons for twisting the evidence.As Paddy pursues the dark and brutal truth, it could make her career - or end her life...

Orion

The Beauty of Murder

A K Benedict
Authors:
A K Benedict
Orion

The End of the Wasp Season

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina
Orion

Where We Belong

Emily Giffin
Authors:
Emily Giffin