Dan Kavanagh - Putting the Boot In - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409150251
    • Publication date:11 Dec 2014

Putting the Boot In

By Dan Kavanagh

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Wickedly funny, this is the third novel in the elusive Dan Kavanagh's London-based crime series featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.

Wickedly funny, this is the third novel in the elusive Dan Kavanagh's London-based crime series featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.

Things are hotting up in the Third Division and it seems someone's nobbling players. Following the loss of one of his best strikers, Jimmy Lister, former England player and now ineffectual club manager, calls on the expertise of the inimitable Duffy.

Duffy must investigate the troubled world of lower-league football while also facing questions of his possible encounter with AIDS, whether he's cooked his frozen pizza for too long and whether he's too short to be a decent goalkeeper.

Biographical Notes

Dan Kavanagh was born in County Sligo in 1946. Having devoted his adolescence to truancy, venery and petty theft, he left home at 17 and signed on as a deckhand on a Liberian tanker. After jumping ship at Montevideo, he roamed across the Americas taking a variety of jobs: he was a steer-wrestler, a waiter-on-roller-skates at a drive-in eatery in Tucson, and a bouncer in a gay bar in San Francisco. He is currently working in London at jobs he declines to specify, and lives in north Islington.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409150244
  • Publication date: 16 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion
W&N

Black City

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Adapted for the screen in 1998 starring Laurence Fishburne as Socrates Fortlow.New York Times bestselling author Walter Mosley introduces an "astonishing character" (Los Angeles Times Book Review) in this acclaimed collection of entwined tales. Meet Socrates Fortlow, a tough ex-con seeking truth and redemption in South Central Los Angeles -- and finding the miracle of survival. "I either committed a crime or had a crime done to me every day I was in jail. Once you go to prison you belong there." Socrates Fortlow has done his time: twenty-seven years for murder and rape, acts forged by his huge, rock-breaking hands. Now, he has come home to a new kind of prison: two battered rooms in an abandoned building in Watts. Working for the Bounty supermarket, and moving perilously close to invisibility, it is Socrates who throws a lifeline to a drowning man: young Darryl, whose shaky path is already bloodstained and fearsome. In a place of violence and hopelessness, Socrates offers up his own battle-scarred wisdom that can turn the world around.

W&N

Walkin' the Dog

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Sharp Objects

Gillian Flynn
Authors:
Gillian Flynn
W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld

'A darkly luminous story of resilience and the deeply human instinct for survival, for love...The Child Finder is a novel that demands to be consumed and then once inside you - lingers...' A.M. Homes, author of MAY WE BE FORGIVENFor fans of THE LOVELY BONES, ROOM and THE ENCHANTEDNaomi Cottle finds missing children. When the police have given up their search and an investigation stalls, families call her. She possesses a rare, intuitive sense, born out of her own experience, that allows her to succeed when others have failed. Young Madison Culver has been missing for three years. She vanished on a family trip to the mountainous forests of Oregon, where they'd gone to cut down a tree for Christmas. Soon after she disappeared, blizzards swept the region and the authorities presumed she died from exposure.But Naomi knows that Madison isn't dead. As she relentlessly pursues the truth behind Madison's disappearance, shards of a dark dream pierce defences that have protected her for so long. If she finds this child, will Naomi ultimately unlock the secrets of her own life?WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE CHILD FINDER:'A beautifully written, gripping page turner...a book that is worth searching for, bringing home, and welcoming into your family. 5*' Goodreads'This book is dazzling and heartbreaking. 5*' Goodreads'A wonderful, extraordinary book. The author speaks from her heart on every page.' 5* Goodreads'I could not put this book down until the captivating conclusion.' 5* Goodreads'I finished the book in a day, not wanting to put it down.' 5* Goodreads'Wow...a page turner, keeping me in all weekend.' 5* Goodreads'Loved it and will be recommending it to everyone I know.' 5* Goodreads'The Child Finder is one of the most beautiful novels I've ever read.' 5* Goodreads

Orion

Going to the Dogs

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh
Orion

Fiddle City

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh

There's suspicion, smuggling and shady goings-on galore in the second novel in Dan Kavanagh's darkly humorous series, featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.Everyone knows a bit of petty theft goes on in the freight business at Heathrow - it is fiddle city, after all. But things have gone beyond a joke for Roy Hendrick and he suspects someone who works for him is helping themselves to more than they should. That's when he sets Duffy on the case.A bisexual ex-policeman, Duffy runs a struggling security firm, has an obsessive attitude to cleanliness and can often be found propping up the bar at the Alligator. Duffy agrees to work for Hendrick and goes undercover to try and root out the culprit.But things aren't all they're cracked up to be. What's the story behind the imperious HR manager Mrs Boseley with her permanently frosty demeanour? And is Hendrick really as honest as he claims to be? Duffy's up to his neck in it.

Orion

Duffy

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh
W&N

He Lover of Death

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Akunin goes noir as Fandorin meets bandits!Senka Skorikov, orphan and urchin, has been abandoned to the murky world of Moscow's gangster district. While picking a pocket or two, he glimpses the most beautiful woman he has ever seen, and joins the gang of her overlord lover, The Prince, so desperate he is to meet her. Senka climbs the criminal ranks, uncovering a stash of precious metal, and gradually capturing the heart of his beloved Death - so named for the life expectancy of her lovers. But as the bandit community balks at his success on both fronts, threats on his life begin to pour in . A dandy and his 'Chinese' sidekick seem to be taking an inordinate interest in Senka's welfare, and it becomes clear that those threatening Senka are linked to a spate of murders, grizzly even by underworld standards. Fandorin must unweave a tangled web of narcotics, false identities and organised crime - but can he survive an encounter with the ever-alluring Death unscathed? Find out in the darkest Fandorin to date!

W&N

The Diamond Chariot

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Special Assignments

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

She Lover Of Death

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

The Winter Queen

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Murder on the Leviathan

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

The Coronation

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Fandorin returns in a swashbuckling tale of abduction and intrigue, set during the build-up to the coronation of Tsar Nicholas II.Grand Duke Georgii Alexandrovich arrives in Moscow for the coronation, with three of his children. During an afternoon stroll, daughter Xenia is dragged away by bandits, only to be rescued by an elegant gentleman and his oriental sidekick. The passing heroes introduce themselves as Fandorin and Masa, but panic ensues when they realise that four-year old Mikhail has been snatched in the confusion.A ransom letter arrives from an international criminal demanding the handover of the Count Orlov, an enormous diamond on the royal sceptre which is due to play a part in the coronation. Can the gentleman detective find Mikhail in time?

W&N

The State Counsellor

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Dashing hero Erast Fandorin returns for another intriguing Russian crime caper, from the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.General Khrapov, newly appointed Governor-General of Siberia and soon-to-be Minister of the Interior, is murdered in his official saloon carriage on his way from St Petersburg to Moscow.The killer, disguised as Fandorin, leaves a knife thrust up to the hilt in his victim's chest and escapes through the window of the carriage. Can Fandorin escape suspicion?A battle of wills and ideals, revolutionaries and traditionalists and good versus evil.

W&N

The Death of Achilles

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

Baltimore Blues

Laura Lippman
Authors:
Laura Lippman

In trying to prove a friend's innocence PI Tess Monaghan gets more than she bargained for . . .Until her newspaper, The Baltimore Star, crashed, Tess Monaghan was a first-rate reporter who knew her home town intimately - from historic Fort McHenry to the crumbling projects of Cherry Hill. Now gainfully unemployed at 29 she's willing to do any freelance job to pay the rent - including a bit of unorthodox snooping for her rowing buddy Darryl 'Rock' Paxton. In a city where someone is murdered almost every day, attorney Michael Abramowitz's death should be just another statistic. But the lawyer's notoriety, and his trysts with Rock's fiancée, make the case front page news - and make Rock the chief suspect ...

W&N

Turkish Gambit

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin