Dan Kavanagh - Going to the Dogs - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409150275
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015

Going to the Dogs

By Dan Kavanagh

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Brimming with mystery and suspicion - a juicy, crime-packed novel that will have you playing detective from start to finish.

Strange things happen in the countryside. And for bisexual private detective Duffy, this is his strangest case yet.

Summoned to a country mansion following an unusual murder, Duffy finds the house awash with potential suspects. Does Vic Crowther, the man who called on Duffy in the first place,
have a far more sinister motive up his sleeve? Or perhaps his wife, the ex-page three model, knows more than she's letting on . . .

Biographical Notes

Dan Kavanagh was born in County Sligo in 1946. Having devoted his adolescence to truancy, venery and petty theft, he left home at seventeen and signed on as a deckhand on a Liberian tanker. After jumping ship at Montevideo, he roamed across the Americas taking a variety of jobs: he was a steer-wrestler, a waiter-on-roller-skates at a drive-in eatery in Tucson, and a bouncer in a gay bar in San Francisco. He is currently working in London at jobs he declines to specify, and lives in north Islington.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409150282
  • Publication date: 07 May 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Down the River Unto the Sea

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

W&N

Black Betty

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

A Red Death

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

White Butterfly

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

'A snowy Christmas in a country village. Fabulous!' Jill Mansell Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder. As featured in the Sunday Times, the first village mystery in a new series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Orion

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences.' Val McDermid A gripping Scottish crime thriller from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.Two sistersJust before her wedding day, Morven Murray, queen of daytime TV, is found murdered. All eyes are on her sister Anna, who was heard arguing with her hours before she was killed.Two murdersOn the other side of Inverness, police informant Kevin Ramsay is killed in a gangland-style execution. But what exactly did he know?One killer?As ex-Met Detective Inspector Lukas Mahler digs deeper into both cases, he discovers that Morven's life was closer to the Inverness underworld than anyone imagined. Caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, is Lukas hunting one killer, or two?'A new star of tartan noir is born. Kirk has written a brilliantly tense, atmospheric debut. I can't wait to read more in this highland crime series.' Cass Green, Number 1 ebook bestselling author of THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR.

Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink

For decades the painting was believed to be lost. But, just as mysteriously as it disappeared, it reappears, an anonymous donation to a gallery in Sydney. The art world is stunned but so are the three men who loved the woman in the painting, the woman on the stairs. One by one they track her down to an isolated cottage in Australia. Here they must try to untangle the lies and betrayals of their shared past - but time is running out. The Woman on the Stairs is an intricately-crafted, poignant and beguiling novel about creativity and love, about the effects of time passing and the regrets that haunt us all.

Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

The six drowned girls stared up at them from the photographs. All young. All attractive. All dead. 'It is a lot of dead girls. And it's a very small island.'* * * * * AN ATMOSPHERIC NEW CRIME SERIES SET IN THE CHANNEL ISLANDS Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer Dorey has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years.Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.* * * * *'Dark, haunting and full of twists' - Chris Whitaker, author of ALL THE WICKED GIRLS'A twisty thriller set in Guernsey and populated with great characters.' - Olivia Kiernan, author of TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE'A gripping thriller set in Guernsey. I loved it!' - Karen Hamilton, author of THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND'Darkly atmospheric, nail-bitingly tense, intrigue-packed - a real crime fiction must read!' Stephanie Marland, author of MY LITTLE EYE'Atmospheric and tense. Superb!' Isabel Ashdown, author of LITTLE SISTER

W&N

Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Seymour Brathwaite, a young physicist, was found standing over the body of a murdered man. Charcoal Joe, one of the deadliest men in America, wants Brathwaite cleared. Easy Rawlins, a renowned Los Angeles PI, cannot refuse Charcoal Joe. But what links the king of the LA underworld to Seymour Brathwaite? And can Easy find the evidence before he gets embroiled in something much, much worse?

Orion

The Deepest Grave

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

'I love Fiona Griffiths' Sharon BoltonA crime from the past. A murder from the future. DS Fiona Griffiths is bored. It's been months since she had a good corpse. Then she gets news; not just of a murder, but of a decapitation, and one committed with an antique sword no less. All that, and, a murder scene laid out like a gruesome crossword clue.Gaynor Charteris was an archaeologist excavating a nearby iron-age site. Genial, respected, well-liked, it was hard to see why anyone would want to kill her. But as Fiona starts to investigate, she finds evidence of a crime that seems to have its origins in King Arthur's greatest battle - a crime so bizarre that getting her superiors to take it seriously is going to be her toughest job. Especially since the crime hasn't yet been committed.Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:'Compelling and claustrophobic. Without a doubt, Fiona Griffiths is one of crime's most memorable heroines' Sarah Hilary'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail 'In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while' James Oswald'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today'Gripping...Fiona Griffiths kept me hooked to the last page and left me hungry for more' Rachel AbbottFans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 1. Talking to the Dead2. Love Story, With Murders3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths4. This Thing of Darkness5. The Dead House 6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **Read by Siriol Jenkins(p) 2017 Orion publishing group

Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
Orion

Far From True

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
W&N

Rose Gold

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

Caught

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

'This latest from crime master Coben is a thrillingly tense yet emotional tale concerning a missing seventeen year old girl' HEATSeventeen-year-old Haley McWaid never gave her parents a moment's worry. Until one morning her mother wakes to find that Haley didn't come home the night before. Three months quickly pass without a word, and everyone assumes the worst.Wendy Tynes is a reporter on a mission: to identify and bring down sexual predators via televised sting operations. Her latest target is Dan Mercer, a social worker known as a friend to troubled teens. But his story soon becomes more complicated than Wendy could have imagined.CAUGHT tells the story of a missing girl, the community stunned by her loss, the predator who may have taken her, and the reporter who suddenly realises she can't trust her own instincts about this story - or the motives of the people around her...