Maeve Binchy - Chestnut Street - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409151784
    • Publication date:24 Apr 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409151821
    • Publication date:24 Apr 2014

Chestnut Street

By Maeve Binchy

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Reuniting some of our favourite Maeve Binchy characters, this is a delightful collection of linked stories from No. 1 bestselling author of A WEEK IN WINTER

A delightful collection of linked stories from No. 1 bestselling author of A WEEK IN WINTER

Just round the corner from St Jarlath's Crescent (featured in MINDING FRANKIE) is Chestnut Street. Here, the lives of the residents are revealed in Maeve Binchy's wonderfully compelling tales:

Bucket Maguire, the window cleaner, who must do more than he bargained for to protect his son. Nessa Byrne, whose aunt comes to visit from America for six weeks every summer and turns the house - and Nessa's world - upside down. Lilian, the generous girl with a big heart, and the fiancé not everyone approves of. And Melly, whose gossip about the neighbours leads to trouble in the form of the fortune teller, 'Madame Magic'...

No one rivals Maeve Binchy for stories of warmth, kindness, love, loss - and life not always turning out as expected.

Biographical Notes

Maeve Binchy was born in County Dublin and educated at the Holy Child convent in Killiney and at University College, Dublin. After a spell as a teacher she joined the Irish Times. Her first novel, LIGHT A PENNY CANDLE, was published in 1982 and she went on to write over twenty books, all of them bestsellers. Several have been adapted for cinema and television, including TARA ROAD. Maeve Binchy received a LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD at the BRITISH BOOK AWARDS in 1999 and the Irish PEN/A. T. CROSS AWARD in 2007. In 2010 she was presented with the BOB HUGHES LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD at the BORD GAIS IRISH BOOK AWARDS by the President of Ireland. She was married to the writer and broadcaster Gordon Snell for 35 years, and died in 2012. Visit her website at www.maevebinchy.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409151814
  • Publication date: 04 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Orion
The author gives us one last extraordinary look at ordinary people as they struggle with family relationships, romances gone awry, and the possibility for a better future ... all with Binchy's thoughtful and loving touch that will be sorely missed — Publishers Weekly
Maeve Binchy's work continues to inspire ... thought-provoking, warm and funny in equal measure. — Woman
Thanks to Binchy's characteristic compassion, we find ourselves sympathising with her underdogs, welcoming the punishments visited on her scoundrels, and wishing for justice for those long-suffering characters who keep trying to do the right thing without any hope of recompense ... an unexpected treat. — Irish Mail on Sunday
In Chestnut Street [there is] enough kindness, wisdom and insight into human nature, to remind readers why Maeve Binchy was one of the most beloved writers this country has ever produced. — Irish Times
Written over the past decades, these heartwarming stories of Dublin life, set around Chestnut Street, are collected together for the first time ... Binchy's last book is one to treasure. — Woman & Home
Binchy wrote as naturally as she breathed, and this collection has all her trademark humanity and humour — Saga magazine
Orion

A Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
Orion

This Much is True

Jane Sanderson
Authors:
Jane Sanderson

The twisty, gripping novel about a shocking secret at the heart of a family, and a mother desperate to keep it hidden - perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes' The Letter and Amanda Prowse's My Husband's Wife.After decades in a deeply unhappy marriage, Annie Doyle can barely bring herself to care that her husband Vince is finally about to die.But as the family gathers to see out his final days, Vince utters a single word that will change everyone's lives completely: 'Martha.'Who is Martha? And why is Annie so quick to dismiss the mention of her name?As Annie's long-held secrets start to emerge, the lives of everyone she holds dear will be changed forever...If you like Kathryn Hughes, Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, Katie Marsh, Kerry Fisher, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott or Camilla Way then you will be gripped by this emotional, twisty story.*******PRAISE FOR THIS MUCH IS TRUE:'What I loved most about this book was the characters' - EMMA CURTIS, author of One Little Mistake'Shades of Joanna Trollope... But it turns into something much more mysterious' - DAILY MAIL'This is a very special book and I greatly recommend it!' - JC, Amazon reviewer'Hugely enjoyable, with a wonderful twist at the end, that I never saw coming' - BREW & BOOKS REVIEW'I simply could not put my kindle away whilst reading this beautiful book' Joanne, Amazon reviewer'A stunningly good read' Caroline, Amazon reviewer'A brilliant and unforgettable novel' P, Amazon reviewer

W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

Circle of Friends

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

Light a Penny Candle

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

As a child, Elizabeth was sent from her war-torn, rather loveless home in London to stay with a big, boisterous family in a small town in Ireland. There she meets Aisling, and begins what becomes a long-lasting friendship.Over the next 20 years, Aisling and Elizabeth's paths will cross and re-cross. As they face their loves, their marriages, and their disappointments, they realise that not all problems will be solved, nor all wishes granted by lighting a penny candle.Read by Kate Binchy(p) 2000 Audible Ltd

Orion

London Transports

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

A delectable collection of 22 short stories centred around people travelling on the London Underground.We meet a young couple travelling nervously to Seven Sisters for their first wife-swapping party; there's Annie's Pimlico Hotel, which is only open for specially-chosen guests; Rita, the mysterious temp, who lives in Notting Hill Gate; and Sophie, who runs a handbag shop at Marble Arch. All the stories have in common Maeve Binchy's delicious humour and warmth.Read by Kate Binchy(p) 1987 Audible Ltd

Orion

Dublin 4

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

A society hostess entertains her husband's mistress to dinner; a country girl savours the delights of city life; a student faces the dilemma of unmarried pregnancy; and a drink-ridden photographer tries to relaunch his shattered career.A vintage collection of four stories set in the heart of Dublin's fashionable Southside, DUBLIN 4 has all of the author's intimate grasp of human feelings, and her marvellous ear for dialogue.Read by Kate Binchy(p) 1988 Audible Ltd

Orion

Firefly Summer

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

The Garden Party and Other Stories

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

The Adventuress

Nicholas Coleridge
Authors:
Nicholas Coleridge
Orion

Maeve's Times

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

Discover what inspired Maeve Binchy's novels and short stories in this hugely enjoyable collection of her writing from the Irish Times.'As someone who fell off a chair not long ago trying to hear what they were saying at the next table in a restaurant, I suppose I am obsessively interested in what some might consider the trivia of other people's lives.'Maeve Binchy is well known for her bestselling novels, the most recent of which was A WEEK IN WINTER. But for many years Maeve was a journalist, writing for the Irish Times. From 'The Student Train' to 'Plane Bores' and 'Bathroom Joggers' to 'When Beckett met Binchy', these articles have all the warmth, wit and humanity of her fiction. Arranged in decades, from the 1960s to the 2000s, and including Maeve's first and last ever piece of writing for the Irish Times, the columns also give a fascinating insight into the author herself.With an introduction written by her husband, the writer Gordon Snell, this collection of timeless writing reminds us of why the leading Irish writer was so universally loved.

Orion

Maeve Binchy - Five Great Novels

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

Five brilliant novels from one of the world's best-loved authors.Includes: QUENTINS; NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS; WHITETHORN WOODS; HEART AND SOUL; MINDING FRANKIE.

Orion

A Week in Winter

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

The Sheedy sisters had lived in Stone House for as long as anyone could remember. Set high on the cliffs on the west coast of Ireland, overlooking the windswept Atlantic ocean, it was falling into disrepair - until one woman, with a past she needed to forget, breathed new life into the place. Now a hotel, with a big, warm kitchen and log fires, it provides a welcome few can resist.Winnie is generally able to make the best of things, until she finds herself on the holiday from hell. John arrived on an impulse after he missed a flight at Shannon. And then there's Henry and Nicola, burdened with a terrible secret, who are hoping the break at Stone House will help them find a way to face the future...Read by Kate Binchy. Kate Binchy has worked extensively in all media from West End to fringe theatre. Numerous television appearances include RUTH RENDELL MYSTERIES, FATHER TED, PEAK PRACTICE, CASUALTY, POIROT and FAIR CITY. She has appeared in over 500 radio plays, and films such as MRS DALLOWAY and THE LONELY PASSION OF JUDITH HEARNE. She is Maeve's cousin and has read all of Maeve's audiobooks.

W&N

The White Devil

Justin Evans
Authors:
Justin Evans

Do you believe in ghosts?Fleeing expulsion and the death of a close friend, Andrew Taylor is sent to spend his final year at the prestigious public school Harrow. It is an eccentric place, a rambling ancient building filled with the sons of the rich and famous, and Andrew feels distinctly out of placeAndrew bears a striking resemblance to Lord Byron, a former pupil of Harrow - and that is when the trouble begins. He senses a malevolent presence, and when a classmate dies, his fears become all too real. Then Andrew discovers some old letters hidden in a bricked-up basement, which hint at a secret history buried in the school's past. But what is the link between these letters and the strange events that are happening at the school now and is he also in danger?

Orion

Full House

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

A fantastic Maeve Binchy - written specially for the World Book Day Quick Reads promotion.Dee loves her children very much, but now they are all grown up, shouldn't they leave home?Rosie moved out when she got married, but it didn't work out, so now she is back with her parents. Helen is a teacher, and doesn't earn enough for a place of her own. Anthony writes songs, and is just waiting for the day when someone will pay him for them. Until then, all three are happy at home. It doesn't cost them anything, and surely their parents like having a full house?When a crisis occurs, Dee decides things have to change for the whole family...whether they like it or not.

W&N

Get Shorty

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard