Lauren St John - The Obituary Writer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127949
    • Publication date:22 May 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127192
    • Publication date:06 Jun 2013

The Obituary Writer

By Lauren St John
Read by Joe Coen

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A sensual, surprising and redemptive story of loss, love and finding the courage to face our deepest fears, in the bestselling tradition of THE HORSE WHISPERER. Unabridged edition.

Nick Donaghue, a handsome young obituary writer for THE TIMES, leads a charmed existence until he is caught up in one of Britain's worst ever train crashes. When he survives unscathed, his friends and colleagues consider him the luckiest man alive. Only Nick knows the truth - that he is tormented by horrific nightmares. When they start to appear grimly prescient, his meticulously constructed urban life is derailed.

Escaping to the wilds of Cornwall strikes him as the answer, especially after he becomes captivated by a beautiful woman and a tempestuous horse he sees playing on a beach. But when his nightmares return, they threaten his fragile new world.

As Nick struggles to understand his dreams, his demons and, most dangerously of all, his passions, he realises that falling in love might come at a terrible price.

Read by Joe Coen

(p) 2014 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Lauren St John grew up on a farm and game reserve in Zimbabwe, which later became the subject of her acclaimed memoir, RAINBOW'S END. After more than a decade of writing about golf and alt. country stars like Steve Earle and Emmylou Harris, she turned to children's fiction with the bestselling White Giraffe and Laura Marlin mystery series and her latest novel, THE ONE DOLLAR HORSE. THE OBITUARY WRITER is her first novel for adults. Find out more at www.laurenstjohn.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409157090
  • Publication date: 04 Dec 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group

Trapeze

Wild Embers

Nikita Gill
Authors:
Nikita Gill
W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

'Completelyenchanting... a gentle and unexpected love story whose characters are drawnwith tenderness and touching honesty. I loved it. It deserves to fly off theshelves!' RUTH HOGAN, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS'I enjoyedit very much, a really charming love story' CATHY HOPKINS, author of THEKICKING THE BUCKET LISTMarguerite has been living a comfortable but dull existencein a suburban town with her straitlaced husband. When he dies, she realisesthat life has passed her by.Marcel has been in a loving relationship with Nora sincethey left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost hisway. Marguerite and Marcel come from two very different worlds -one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross, anda connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of theirfriends and families, as well as their own misgivings? 'This gorgeous, optimistic, often very funny lovestory is full of the joys and despairs of ageing, and written with a superbsimplicity. It's perfect for theyoung-at-heart.' DAILY MAIL

W&N

Black Water Lilies

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
Orion

Missing You

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

The Wildflower Path

Sarah Harrison
Authors:
Sarah Harrison

Orion

Six Years

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
W&N

Rainbow's End

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

A captivating and haunting memoir by celebrated children's author Lauren St John about her childhood spent in rural Africa.In 1978, during the final, bloodiest phase of the Rhodesian War, 11-year-old Lauren St John moved with her family to Rainbow's End, and idyllic farm and game reserve on the banks of the Umfuli River. Obsessed with horses, pop stars and her pet giraffe, Lauren lived in an African paradise until the brutal murder of a school friend and the coming of independence forced her to confront the past - to realise that almost everything she'd believed about her country and her life had been a lie.

W&N

An Equal Stillness

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay
Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

James Rollins

James Rollins is the author of several bestselling novels and series, including the SIGMA force series, a string of standalone thrillers and the novelisation of the cinema blockbuster INDIANA JONES AND THE KINGDOM OF THE CRYSTAL SKULL. His books are sold in more than 30 countries and have sold ten million copies worldwide. An amateur spelunker and scuba enthusiast, he also holds a doctorate in veterinary medicine. He currently lives and writes in Sacramento, California.www.jamesrollins.com

Katherine Webb

Katherine Webb was born in 1977 and grew up in rural Hampshire before reading History at Durham University. She has since spent time living in London and Venice, and now lives in Wiltshire. Having worked as a waitress, au pair, personal assistant, book binder, library assistant, seller of fairy costumes and housekeeper, she now writes full time.www.facebook.com/KatherineWebbAuthor@KWebbAuthor

Lynsay Sands

Lynsay Sands was born in Canada and is an award-winning author of more than 30 books, which have made the Barnes & Noble and NEW YORK TIMES bestseller lists. She is best known for her Argeneau series, about a modern-day family of vampires.

Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy was born in County Dublin and educated at the Holy Child convent in Killiney and at University College, Dublin. After a spell as a teacher she joined the Irish Times. Her first novel, Light a Penny Candle, was published in 1982 and she went on to write over twenty books, all of them bestsellers. Several have been adapted for cinema and television, most notably Circle of Friends and Tara Road. Maeve Binchy received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the British Book Awards in 1999 and the Irish PEN/A.T. Cross award in 2007. In 2010 she was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award at the Bord Gáis Irish Book Awards by the President of Ireland. She was married to the writer and broadcaster Gordon Snell for 35 years, and died in 2012. Visit her website at www.maevebinchy.com

Mason Cross

Mason Cross was born in Glasgow in 1979. He studied English at the University of Stirling and currently works in the voluntary sector. He has written a number of short stories, including 'A Living', which was shortlisted for the Quick Reads 'Get Britain Reading' Award. He lives in Glasgow with his wife and three children.Find out more at www.masoncross.net or follow him on Twitter @MasonCrossBooks

Maureen Lee

Maureen Lee was born in Liverpool and had numerous short stories published and a play professionally staged before her first novel was published. Her award-winning novels have earned her many fans. Her latest novel, The Leaving of Liverpool, was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller. She is an RNA winner, and writes full time. Maureen now lives in Colchester, Essex.To find out more, visit www.maureenlee.co.uk

Michael Palin

Michael Palin established his reputation with MONTY PYTHON'S FLYING CIRCUS and RIPPING YARNS. His work also includes several films with Monty Python, as well as THE MISSIONARY, A PRIVATE FUNCTION, an award-winning performance as the hapless Ken in A FISH CALLED WANDA and, more recently, AMERICAN FRIENDS and FIERCE CREATURES. His television credits include two films for the BBC's GREAT RAILWAY JOURNEYS, the plays EAST OF IPSWICH and NUMBER 27, and Alan Bleasdale's GBH. He has written books to accompany his six very successful travel series, AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS, POLE TO POLE, FULL CIRCLE, HEMINGWAY ADVENTURE, SAHARA and HIMALAYA. He is also the author of a number of children's stories, the play THE WEEKEND and the novel HEMINGWAY'S CHAIR.Visit the website for more information www.palinstravels.co.uk