Lauren St John - The Obituary Writer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127949
    • Publication date:22 May 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127192
    • Publication date:06 Jun 2013

The Obituary Writer

By Lauren St John
Read by Joe Coen

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A sensual, surprising and redemptive story of loss, love and finding the courage to face our deepest fears, in the bestselling tradition of THE HORSE WHISPERER. Unabridged edition.

Nick Donaghue, a handsome young obituary writer for THE TIMES, leads a charmed existence until he is caught up in one of Britain's worst ever train crashes. When he survives unscathed, his friends and colleagues consider him the luckiest man alive. Only Nick knows the truth - that he is tormented by horrific nightmares. When they start to appear grimly prescient, his meticulously constructed urban life is derailed.

Escaping to the wilds of Cornwall strikes him as the answer, especially after he becomes captivated by a beautiful woman and a tempestuous horse he sees playing on a beach. But when his nightmares return, they threaten his fragile new world.

As Nick struggles to understand his dreams, his demons and, most dangerously of all, his passions, he realises that falling in love might come at a terrible price.

Read by Joe Coen

(p) 2014 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Lauren St John grew up on a farm and game reserve in Zimbabwe, which later became the subject of her acclaimed memoir, RAINBOW'S END. After more than a decade of writing about golf and alt. country stars like Steve Earle and Emmylou Harris, she turned to children's fiction with the bestselling White Giraffe and Laura Marlin mystery series and her latest novel, THE ONE DOLLAR HORSE. THE OBITUARY WRITER is her first novel for adults. Find out more at www.laurenstjohn.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409157090
  • Publication date: 04 Dec 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

An Italian Affair

Caroline Montague
Authors:
Caroline Montague

Orion

Not Just for Christmas

Natalie Cox
Authors:
Natalie Cox
Gollancz

Legion: Lies of the Beholder

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon

As a child, Daniel Sempere discovered among the passageways of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books an extraordinary novel that would change the course of his life. Now a young man in the Barcelona of the late 1950s, Daniel runs the Sempere & Sons bookshop and enjoys a seemingly fulfilling life with his loving wife and son. Yet the mystery surrounding the death of his mother continues to plague his soul despite the moving efforts of his wife Bea and his faithful friend Fermín to save him.Just when Daniel believes he is close to solving this enigma, a conspiracy more sinister than he could have imagined spreads its tentacles from the hellish regime. That is when Alicia Gris appears, a soul born out of the nightmare of the war. She is the one who will lead Daniel to the edge of the abyss and reveal the secret history of his family, although at a terrifying price.The Labyrinth of the Spirits is an electrifying tale of passion, intrigue and adventure. Within its haunting pages Carlos Ruiz Zafón masterfully weaves together plots and subplots in an intricate and intensely imagined homage to books, the art of storytelling and that magical bridge between literature and our lives.

Gollancz

An American Story

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Orion

The Other Sister

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft

First there was The Guilty Wife. Now read Elle Croft's next twisty psychological suspense novel, The Other Sister.How far would you go...Gina Mills is desperate to be a newsreader, but her boss - the director of the struggling Channel Eight, won't help.Walking home one night, Gina stumbles upon a dead body, and after calling the police, she makes the split-second decision to report the murder live. When questioned by the police, Gina can't remember specific details about her discovery, but these memory gaps are explained away as shock. ...to uncover your family's deadly secret?But when Gina finds a second body, it's clear she's being targeted. But why? And how is this connected to the death of Gina's younger sister so many years ago? Praise for Elle Croft's first novel, the intensely gripping The Guilty Wife 'I couldn't put this down. Pacy and gripping.' Cass Green, author of the number 1 ebook bestseller The Woman Next Door'An accomplished debut with a relentless and intense pace that kept me completely rapt and eager to find out answers. I loved the final twist.' KL Slater, international bestselling author of Safe With Me, Blink and Liar.'I read The Guilty Wife in an intense two day sitting. Brilliant.' Niki Mackay, author of I,Witness.

Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'Do you ever think there's maybe something that's gone wrong with the world?'A man is found dead in one of the city's luxury homes. Homicide detective Ross Carver arrives at the scene when six FBI agents burst in and forcibly remove him from the premises. Two days later...Carver wakes in his bed to find Mia a neighbor he's hardly ever spoken to, reading aloud to him. He has no recollection of the crime scene, no memory of how he got home, and no idea that two days have passed. Carver knows nothing about this woman but as he struggles to piece together what happened to him, he soon realizes he's involved himself in a web of conspiracy that spans the nation. And Mia just might know more than she's letting on...'Moore has a great gift for the macabre and the creepy.' The Times

Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of warDestroyer. Death bringer. Dragon-slayer. I am more weapon than girl.Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she's sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.But protecting her father's kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.So to unite the fractured kingdom, she must marry Jarek, her father's cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom. Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . .

Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Orion

The Peacock Summer

Hannah Richell
Authors:
Hannah Richell
Orion

My Mamma Mia Summer

Annie Robertson
Authors:
Annie Robertson
Orion

The Singapore Grip

J.G. Farrell
Authors:
J.G. Farrell
Gollancz

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

EVERY MOTHER IS A WOMAN WITH A PAST'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood' The Pool'An intriguing tale of love, loss and missed opportunities . . . written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'Tender and moving, this part-thriller, part-memoir will leave you floored' Emerald Street When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events; to bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemised entry.It forces her to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother - a woman silenced by her own mother, and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by tradition and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals an overwhelming desire to make sense of an unfulfilled life - and to prove that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.'Beautiful, sensitive, and poignant' Clarissa Goenawan, author of Rainbirds'Spare, confident and affecting. A compelling read' Joanna Barnard, author of Precocious and Hush Little Baby'An incredibly moving story of maternal love, sacrifice, and how little we know those closest to us' Chloë Mayer, author of The Boy Made of Snow

Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan'A riveting page-turner of a thriller...a book with dark passion and heart' The Herald'May well become the most influentialthing Delevingne has ever done' The Edit'With dark twists and turns, this is a great read' Closer'Smart, twisty, poignant and engaging' **** Heat'A fizzing coming-of-age tale with dark themes' Glamour'Bold, brave and fierce...[Delevingne's] ability to empathise with some of the deeper struggles youngsters face is impressive' Independent'Captures the rhythms and textures of teenage lives' Metro'A great read' Bella'Engaging' Daily Telegraph*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. * * * * * What readers have to say about Mirror Mirror: 'Super twisty - read this in one night.' Amazon'Loved this - read the whole thing in one day! Amazon'Loved this book - such a gripping read with an amazing twist I did not see coming.' Amazon

W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert
W&N

Sharp Objects

Gillian Flynn
Authors:
Gillian Flynn