Erica James - Song of the Skylark - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409159551
    • Publication date:10 Mar 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409159582
    • Publication date:10 Mar 2016

Song of the Skylark

By Erica James

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

From Erica James, author of SUMMER AT THE LAKE and THE DANDELION YEARS, comes an enchanting tale of life, loss and love.

Lizzie has an unfortunate knack for attracting bad luck, but this time she's hit the jackpot. Losing her heart to her boss at the radio station where she works leads directly to losing her job, and with no money in the bank she's forced to swallow her pride and return home to her parents. As if that wasn't bad enough, her mother finds her work at the local care home for the elderly, and it's there that Lizzie meets Mrs Dallimore.

In her nineties, Mrs Dallimore also finds herself in a situation which she's reluctantly coming to terms with. Old age has finally caught up with her, and with her life drawing to a close she gives in to the temptation to relive the past by sharing it with Lizzie.

She tells Lizzie of the day when, as a young girl, and shortly before the outbreak of World War II, she left her home in America to cross the Atlantic to England where she hoped to meet her English grandparents for the first time. At best she hoped for a family reconciliation, but before long her visit turned into so much more.

As Lizzie listens to Mrs Dallimore's story, she begins to realize that she's not the only person to attract bad luck, or make mistakes, and maybe things aren't so bad for her after all . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409159575
  • Publication date: 30 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orion
A thoroughly enjoyable feel-good read — FANNY BLAKE, WOMAN AND HOME
A stunning book, brilliantly written, poignantly capturing the lives of both women. The Song of the Skylark will totally captivate you and your emotions, impossible to put down! Highly Recommended! — Kaye Thorne, HOT BRANDS COOL PLACES
A beautifully crafted and hugely uplifting tale of friendship, history and love. A real gem. — Isabelle Broom, HEAT MAGAZINE
A captivating tale of love and loss — Kerry Hiatt, SUNDAY EXPRESS MAGAZINE
Written with tenderness and genuine affection, Song of the Skylark grabs you by the heartstrings and won't let go. Poignant, moving and totally captivating, this is a stunning story to savour from first page to last. — Pam Norfolk, LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
Inter-generational friendship takes centre stage in this upbeat and heartwarming novel — THE LADY
Absorbing and uplifting — Karen Byrom, MY WEEKLY
Orion

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli

A funny, warm debut novel bringing westernised Indian culture to the fore. Perfect for fans of Ayisha Malik and Nadiya Hussain. Twenty-nine year-old Raina is still unmarried and battling her family's expectations for her future - they think that by now she should have been married in a dream Indian wedding. The pressure reaches new heights when her grandmother, Nani, decides to play matchmaker in order to find her the perfect arranged marriage. Eager not to disappoint her family, Raina goes along with the plan but when the love of her life returns - ex-boyfriend Dev - she's forced to confront her true feelings. As she tries to free herself from the cultural pressures she faces, Raina realises that sometimes you have to disappoint those closest to you in order to forge your own path.

Orion

The Forbidden

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas

A new standalone novel from Jodi Ellen Malpas, the bestselling author of the THIS MAN and ONE NIGHT trilogiesAnnie has never experienced the 'spark' with a guy - the kind of instant chemistry that steals your breath and blindsides you completely. Until a night out with friends brings her face to face with the wickedly sexy and mysterious Jack. It's not just a spark that ignites between them. It's an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who's had such a powerful impact on her and who could bend her to his will so easily, must be dangerous. But she's already in too deep. And Jack isn't only dangerous. He is forbidden.'The latest queen of erotic literature' Sunday Times'Every kiss, every sexy scene, every word between this pair owned a piece of my soul. I could read this book a hundred times and still react as if it was the first time. The Protector is a top 2016 fave for me.' Audrey Carlan, bestselling author of The Calendar Girl series

Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

OUR SUMMER TOGETHER is an uplifting story about family, friendship and the happy surprise of finding love later in life. Caro knows how to be a mother - advising her grown-up daughters on career and relationship worries. She knows how to be a grandmother - enjoying the hectic energy of her three-year-old grandson. She knows how to be a daughter - helping her aging mother retain her independence. She thought she knew everything about being a wife, but when her husband suddenly leaves her for another woman, everything is thrown in the air. So, when a chance meeting introduces her to Damir - younger, intriguing and attentive - she realises that opening up to a man so different from everyone else in her life, might also mean getting to know who she really is...Your favourite authors love Fanny Blake:'Fanny Blake has the gift of creating wonderful page turners from very domestic situations; and then making them warm and funny as well' Penny Vincenzi'I love the way Fanny Blake proves that women just become more and more fascinating' Adele Parks'I love that she writes about women our age, and the painful and wise truths we know' Marian Keyes

Orion

All I Am

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas

A new novella featuring Drew from the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling This Man trilogy

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe
Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

It's 1984, and summer is scorching the ordinary English village of Heathcote.What's more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed 'The Fox', he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes The Fox is responsible.But as the residents scramble to solve the mystery of Anna's disappearance, little do they know it's their darkest secrets The Fox is really after...Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

Orion

The Last Debutante

Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko

A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset, and as the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival one evening of a distinctly German visitor soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .

Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly

There are sixteen contestants, but only one will survive.The last thing Jack West Jr remembers is arriving for a meeting at a top-secret military base with his family in tow.Now he awakes to find himself in a hellish scenario. Jack has been selected to take part in the Games, a series of deadly challenges designed to fulfil an ancient ritual. If he chooses not to compete, both he and his daughter will be killed.With the fate of the Earth at stake, Jack will have to traverse diabolical mazes, fight ruthless assassins and face unimaginable horrors that will test him to the limit.In the process, he will discover the mysterious and powerful group of individuals behind it all: the four legendary kingdoms.The thrilling new Jack West adventure from the bestselling author of The Great Zoo of China and The Five Greatest Warriors.

W&N

Augustown

Kei Miller
Authors:
Kei Miller
Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

A prehistoric corpse entombed within an Arctic glacier, crying tears of blood.A jungle island overrun by rabid primates - escapees from a research laboratory's Hot Zone.A massive seaplane hidden beneath a mountain, packed with a Nazi cargo of mind-blowing evil.A penniless orphan kidnapped from an African slum, holding the key to the world's survival.Four terrifying journeys. One impossible path. Only one man to attempt it.Will Jaeger. The Hunter.

Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

What if you had said yes . . . ?Eva and Jim are nineteen, and students at Cambridge, when their paths first cross in 1958. Jim is walking along a lane when a woman approaching him on a bicycle swerves to avoid a dog. What happens next will determine the rest of their lives. We follow three different versions of their future - together, and apart - as their love story takes on different incarnations and twists and turns to the conclusion in the present day.The Versions of Us is an outstanding debut novel about the choices we make and the different paths that our lives might follow. What if one small decision could change the rest of your life?

Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

'Someone had made a perfect job of creating a place in which to hide a notebook . . . there was no address, only a date: September 1943 . . .'Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling cottage on the edge of a Suffolk village, it provided a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to broken and battered books, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a hidden notebook - and realises someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own - Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love.

W&N

Her

Harriet Lane
Authors:
Harriet Lane
Orion

The Five Greatest Warriors

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

Wycliffe and the House of Fear

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley
Orion

Wycliffe and the Four Jacks

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley