Catriona Ward - Little Eve - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297609674
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297609698
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018

Little Eve

By Catriona Ward
Read by Carolyn Bonnyman

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Chilling and terrifying, the electric new novel from Catriona Ward, whose debut RAWBLOOD won the Best Horror novel at the British Fantasy Awards 2016.

Eve and Dinah are everything to one another, never parted day or night. They are raised among the Children, a commune of strays and orphans ruled by Uncle, the mysterious patriarch. All they know is the grey Isle of Altnaharra which sits in the black sea off the wildest coast of Scotland.

Eve loves the free, savage life of the Isle and longs to inherit Uncle's vision. She is untroubled save by her dreams; of soft arms and a woman singing. Dinah longs for something other.

But the world is at war and cannot be kept at bay. As the solitude of Altnaharra is broken, Eve's faith and sanity fracture. In a great storm, in the depths of winter, as the old year dies, the locals discover a devastating scene.

Eve and Dinah's stories of what really happened that night contradict and intertwine. As past and present converge, only one woman can be telling the truth. Who is guilty, who innocent?

Read by Carolyn Bonnyman
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Biographical Notes

CATRIONA WARD was born in Washington, DC and grew up in the United States, Kenya, Madagascar, Yemen, and Morocco. She read English at St Edmund Hall, Oxford and is a graduate of the Creative Writing MA from the University of East Anglia. Her debut novel, RAWBLOOD, won Best Horror Novel at the 2016 British Fantasy Awards, was shortlisted for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award and was selected as a Winter 2016 Fresh Talent title by WHSmith. RAWBLOOD is published in the US and Canada as THE GIRL FROM RAWBLOOD (Sourcebooks, 2017). She lives in London and Devon.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409161707
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
You liked The Wasp Factory? Meet Little Eve — Natasha Pulley, author of THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET
A smart and moving examination of self delusion and the lengths people go to to keep faith . . . I raced through it — Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of VARDØ
Little Eve is a sublime, utterly compelling tale which grabbed me by the lapels and wouldn't let go. A dark, beautiful, gleaming novel. I loved it — Irenosen Okojie
Little Eve is brilliantly plotted, wonderfully well written and full of surprises. It has perfect timing, line by line — Andrew Cowan, author of PIG and WORTHLESS MEN
Little Eve brims with dark energy, full of haunting, surprising turns. You will be guessing and gasping till the end — Philip Womack
W&N

Five Days of Fog

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman
Orion

The Colour of Lies

Lezanne Clannachan
Authors:
Lezanne Clannachan
W&N

Rawblood

Catriona Ward
Authors:
Catriona Ward
W&N

The Enchanted

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld

'THE ENCHANTED wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book... so dark, yet so exquisite.' Erin Morgentern, author of The Night CircusA prisoner sits on death row in a maximum security prison. His only escape from his harsh existence is through the words he dreams about, the world he conjures around him using the power of language. For the reality of his world is brutal and stark. He is not named, nor do we know his crime. But he listens. He listens to the story of York, the prisoner in the cell next to him whose execution date has been set. He hears the lady, an investigator who is piecing together York's past. He watches as the lady falls in love with the priest and wonders if love is still possible here. He sees the corruption and the danger as tensions in 'this enchanted place' build. And he waits. Because every monster was once a child, and even monsters have a story . . .A powerful and hauntingly beautiful novel for fans of THE GREEN MILE and THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION.

Gateway

Sorcery in Shad

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

Necroscope: Avengers

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

They're on the run! Now that their monstrous vampire 'gardens' under London, in Australia, and on the Greek island of Krassos have been razed, two 'Lords' and a 'Lady' of the Wamphyri Malinari the Mind, Lord Szwart, and the hag Vavara have joined forces, leaving a trail of undead destruction as they flee headlong from Ben Trask's E-Branch and the dead-waking Necroscope, Jake Cutter.But headstrong Jake has problems of his own. In the metaphysical Mobius Continuum, it appears that his blue life-thread - the emblem of his humanity - is gradually fading, changing to red. And not only red but blood red, dreaded insignia of the Great Vampire! Could this be the downside of Harry Keogh's legacy? And if so, are Necroscope and Trask's ESP-talented Avengers - his team of precogs, telepaths, and locators - hastening in pursuit of their own hideous doom? Earth's fate is undecided, mankind's destiny on hold, the future a page as yet unwritten.And the future was ever a devious thing...

Gateway

The Burrowers Beneath

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

Second Visit

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

When Spencer Gill, Jack Turnbull and Angela Denholm were taken by the Castle in Scotland - when they played Sith of the Throne's monstrous multidimensional game to stay the execution of Earth, and won - they made a deadly, devious enemy of the alien master of The House of Doors.Now Sith is back, and his game is more deadly yet. In worlds that are known, and others beyond imagining . . . in mad machine worlds, and some that can only be the product of a diseased mind - indeed, in one such that is a diseased mind - Sith's new game will be played out to the bitter end. For the game is rigged, The House of Doors inscrutable as ever, and its doors all designed to lead Gill and his companions ever deeper into worlds of uttermost terror . . .

Gateway

Mad Moon Of Dreams

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

The moon is inhabited by the amorphous moonbeasts and their servants, the horned-ones of ill-regarded Leng... also by the monstrous lizard-God Mnomquah who came down with mighty Cthulhu and the Great Old Ones out of the stars when the world was young and Chaos ruled. But now the Mad Moon of Dreams is falling - on Earth's Dreamlands! In a pit in ruined Sarkomand, Mnomquah's aeon-destined mate, Oorn The Awful, awaits her lord and master's coming. Then, to celebrate their mating, the mad moon will disintegrate and rain death on all the lands of Earth's dreams! Dreamland needs an army of heroes - and has only a handful. But such a handful! Join David, Hero and Eldin the Wanderer, the Eidolon Lathi, Zura of Zura, Curator, Gytherik the Gauntmaster - and all the rest - in their epic quest to the... MAD MOON OF DREAMS

Gateway

The Clock of Dreams

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

In the Clock of Dreams, Cthulhu, one of the Elder Gods, sleeps and dreams - dreams so potent, so powerful, that they can warp reality itself. The mysterious Clock that is capable of hurling men through space and time, even into the monster's dreams, is de Marigny's only hope of finding Titus Crow and saving him from a soul destroying fate.

Gateway

Necroscope The Lost Years Vol 1

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

Tarra Khash: Hrossak!

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

Necroscope The Lost Years Vol 2 (aka Resurgence)

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

Necroscope: Invaders

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Gateway

The House Of Doors

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

Behind every door waits a living nightmare . . . Spencer Gill is a man with problems. The fact that he's dying, slowly, is only one of them. The castle, up on the slopes of a famous Scottish mountain, is another. For one thing, it doesn't have any doors - at least, not on the outside. And it's Gill's nightmare task to find out what it really is. In fact, this horror-house has many doors. But they're all on the inside. And sheer bloody terror lives and lurks behind every one of them. The welcome mat is out for Gill. And for you. So come on in. Just don't slam the door . . .

Gateway

The House of Cthulhu

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

Tossed out from the heart of Surtsey, a volcano risen from the sea off Iceland, a ball of weird glass contains the last relics of a world long vanished when Atlantis was young. Translated from the glyphs out of time, now at last the stories and histories of the Primal Land can be told. Tales of sorcery: of demons, heroes, and perilous quests. And of a doomed wizard's search for immortality. Enter the House of Cthulhu if you dare - and leave your prints in the drifted dust of those who dared before you!

Gateway

Ship of Dreams

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

The Dreamlands! Created from the dreams of men, haunt of gods and demons, the other side of Death's portal... Professor Leonard E. Dingle, lecturer on the subconscious mind of man. Deceased. David Allenby Hero, fantastic artist of the macabre and supernatural. Also deceased. Or should we simply say they have undergone...a transition? A transition indeed - for under the aliases of Eldin the Wanderer and Hero of Dreams, their present occupations include keep-climbing, wizard-slaying, swordmastery and amazing adventuring in the land of Earth's dreams!

Gateway

The Transition of Titus Crow

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley

With the most powerful, and most evil, of the elder Gods, Cthulhu, roused from slumber and preparing to destroy all of mankind with a single blow, Titus Crow and Henri-Laurent De Marigny are hopelessly outmatched. But they are not hopeless- They have been joined by heroes from other times, other worlds, other planes of reality. In a marvellous climax, heroes from other Brian Lumley series gather for the dramatic final battle.

Gateway

Iced on Aran

Brian Lumley
Authors:
Brian Lumley
Orion

An Act of Peace

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe