Catherine Robinson - Forging On - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409168454
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409168645
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017

Forging On

A warm laugh out loud funny story of Yorkshire country life

By Catherine Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A charming story full of dry Yorkshire humour and warmth - a must-read for fans of James Herriot Clare Balding, Countryfile and The Shepherd's Life.

'Wonderfully warm and funny' Cathy Woodman, bestselling author of Trust Me I'm A Vet

Will is a Yorkshire lad, through and through. He's in his element when he's outside in the country air, not stuck in a classroom wasting his youth and the beauty of Yorkshire. When he starts as an apprentice farrier, his first few days are a baptism of fire. His fellow apprentice is a wind-up merchant and his gruff boss, Stanley, ribs him mercilessly about his tea drinking habit. But in this chaotic environment, the three of them form a brotherhood, and soon, Will realises that the coming year is going to teach him a lot more than how to shoe a horse properly...

A charming story full of dry Yorkshire humour and warmth - a must-read for fans of James Herriot, Clare Balding, Countryfile and The Shepherd's Life.

Biographical Notes

Catherine Robinson lives with her husband near Clitheroe in Lancashire, where she has always lived, and where (when not teaching or writing) she has raised a son, farmed a small flock of Derbyshire Gritstone sheep, and bred horses. Forging On is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409168447
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion
Wonderfully warm and funny — Cathy Woodman, bestselling author of TRUST ME, I'M A VET
'Perfect holiday poolside read.' — The Lady
Orion

If Only I Could Tell You

Hannah Beckerman
Authors:
Hannah Beckerman
Orion

Bonnie and Stan

Anna Stuart
Authors:
Anna Stuart

Seventy years.Two people.Five first dates.Bonnie and Stan are soulmates. They met during the Swinging Sixties, to the soundtrack of The Beatles and the Merseybeat scene. Now they've grown up and grown old together, had children and grandchildren. They are finally building their dream home, when disaster strikes.Stan is running out of time, and can't bear the thought of leaving Bonnie alone. Alongside his teenage granddaughter Greya, he forms a plan to find Bonnie a new love of her life. And she must never find out...Bonnie & Stan is a poignant, surprising love story set during the Swinging Sixties and the present day. Ultimately feel-good and full of emotion, Bonnie & Stan will make your heart sing.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Gollancz

Master of Sorrows

Justin Travis Call
Authors:
Justin Travis Call

The Academy of Chaenbalu has stood against magic for centuries.Hidden from the world, acting from the shadows, it trains its students to detect and retrieve magic artifacts, which it jealously guards from the misuse of others. Because magic is dangerous: something that heals can also harm, and a power that aids one person may destroy another.Of the Academy's many students, only the most skilled can become Avatars - warrior thieves, capable of infiltrating the most heavily guarded vaults - and only the most determined can be trusted to resist the lure of magic.More than anything, Annev de Breth wants to become one of them.

Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

The Empty Hearth

Kitty Neale
Authors:
Kitty Neale

This family saga, packed with dark secrets, from Sunday Times bestseller Kitty Neale, will tug at the heartstrings.Millie Pratchett's life is not an easy one. Her dad, coalman Alfie, is a bully, and his vicious temper dominates their small terraced house in Battersea. His teenage children, handsome John and ugly-duckling Millie, have learnt to dodge his moods but Millie lives in fear for her mother, Eileen. When Alfie's tyranny forces Eileen into an impossible position, a crisis erupts. The Pratchetts' old life collapses around them and a new, darker future looms. But people are not always what they seem; could Millie turn out to be far stronger and more resilient than anyone could have imagined ? Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn, this is an emotional family saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Mother's Sacrifice and A Family Scandal.

Trapeze

The Boy

Tami Hoag
Authors:
Tami Hoag
Orion

25 Days 'til Christmas

Poppy Alexander
Authors:
Poppy Alexander
Orion

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Trapeze

Listening to the Animals: Becoming The Supervet

Noel Fitzpatrick
Authors:
Noel Fitzpatrick

In this inspiring, uplifting and heart-warming memoir, world-renowned veterinary surgeon Professor Noel Fitzpatrick explores his journey to becoming The Supervet. Growing up on the family farm in Ballyfin, Ireland, Noel's childhood was spent tending to the cattle and sheep, the hay and silage, the tractors and land, his beloved sheepdog Pirate providing solace from the bullies that plagued him at school. It was this bond with Pirate, and a fateful night spent desperately trying to save a new-born lamb, that inspired Noel to enter the world of veterinary science - and set him on the path to becoming The Supervet.Now, in this long-awaited memoir, Noel recounts this often-surprising journey that sees him leaving behind a farm animal practice in rural Ireland to set up Fitzpatrick's Referrals in Surrey, one of the most advanced small animal specialist centres in the world. We meet the animals that paved the way, from calving cows and corralling bullocks to talkative parrots and bionic cats and dogs. Noel has listened to the many lessons that the animals in his care have taught him, and especially the times he has shared with his beloved Keira, the scruffy Border Terrier who has been by Noel's side as he's dealt with the unbelievable highs and crushing lows of his extraordinary career. As heart-warming and life-affirming as the TV show with which he made his name, Listening to the Animals is a story of love, hope and compassion, and about rejoicing in the bond between humans and animals that make us the very best we can be.

Orion

An Italian Summer

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

'Downton fans will love the elegance, intrigue and drama of The House of Shadows' - Yours The final compelling historical saga concluding a trilogy that began with Storms of War and The Edge of the Fall, from popular TV historian and critically-acclaimed author Kate Williams. Celia De Witt is half-German, half-English and heir to her family's vast fortune. But it is 1929, the world is changing and her life seems less secure than ever. A shocking revelation from her father sends her far from England and the life she knew and headlong into New York, a city brimming with money and promise. Celia sets about saving the family firm by creating an innovative new range of convenience foods for the new generation of independent young women. But she also has other plans. The son she thought was dead is in America and the man she once thought she loved is nearby - but if she opens the Pandora's Box of the past, she may find other secrets will escape... As the shadow of war once again threatens to fall across Europe, Celia is determined to save those she loves, even if it comes at the highest price...'A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it' - Alison Weir'This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist ... Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them' The Times'Brilliant - a passionate and poignant story of a glittering family on the precipice of a vanished world ... a must-read' Lisa Hilton

W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
W&N

Kipps

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
W&N

Travelers Rest

Keith Lee Morris
Authors:
Keith Lee Morris
W&N

Good Morning, Midnight

Lily Brooks-Dalton
Authors:
Lily Brooks-Dalton
W&N

The Letters of Ivor Punch

Colin MacIntyre
Authors:
Colin MacIntyre

'A truly original and enthralling novel...mischievous, sad, funny and truthful' Stephen Kelman, BOOKER-SHORTLISTED author of PIGEON ENGLISH'Clever, poignant, beautiful ... peopled by a cast of brilliantly off-the-wall characters, and full of keen-eyed observations about life on a remote Scottish island - and, by extension, everywhere. A must-read' Laura Barnett, author of THE VERSIONS OF USWINNER OF THE EDINBURGH BOOK FESTIVAL FIRST BOOK AWARD, from the author also known as The Mull Historical Society.When Fingal McMillan rows out into the Atlantic never to return, his grandson Alexander is left with questions. What really happened to Alexander's mother? Was his grandfather trying to reach The Looming, a rock of local myth? And why have mysterious words appeared on the cliff by the bay?Alexander is not the only local boy whose origins are clouded by mystery - a mystery which stretches back to Victorian times, when a pioneering travel writer alighted on Scottish shores. But will the island give up its secrets? Or will Ivor Punch - the man who links the past to the present - take them to the grave?

W&N

Ella Morris

John David Morley
Authors:
John David Morley
Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood

At forty-three Jeff Winston is tired of his low-paid, unrewarding job, tired of the long silences at the breakfast table with his wife, saddened by the thought of no children to comfort his old age. But he hopes for better things, for happiness, maybe tomorrow ... But a sudden, fatal heart attack puts paid to that. Until Jeff wakes up in his eighteen-year-old body, all his memories of the next twenty-five years intact. If he applies those memories, he can be rich in this new chance at life and can become one of the most powerful men in America. Until he dies at forty-three and wakes up in his eighteen-year-old body again ...

W&N

A Star Shines Over Mt. Morris Park

Henry Roth
Authors:
Henry Roth