M. B. Shaw and Tilly Bagshawe - Murder at the Mill - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409171249
    • Publication date:30 Nov 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409171232
    • Publication date:30 Nov 2017
Books in this series

Murder at the Mill

By M. B. Shaw and Tilly Bagshawe
Read by Penelope Rawlins

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A fresh cosy-crime series, perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie, the British Library Crime Classics series and Midsomer Murders

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.

At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime?

With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.

Read by Penelope Rawlins
(p) Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

M.B Shaw is the pen-name of New York Times bestselling writer Tilly Bagshawe. A teenage single mother at 17, Tilly won a place at Cambridge University and took her baby daughter with her. She went on to enjoy a successful career in the City before becoming a writer. As a journalist, Tilly contributed regularly to the Sunday Times, Daily Mail, and Evening Standard, before turning her hand to novels.

Tilly's first book, ADORED, was a smash hit on both sides of the Atlantic, becoming an instant New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller. She now divides her time between the UK and America, writing her own books and the new series of Sidney Sheldon novels.
For more information, please visit www.tillybagshawe.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409171256
  • Publication date: 30 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
A snowy Christmas mystery in a country village, intriguing characters and a twisty-turny plot...I loved this book and couldn't put it down. Fabulous! — Jill Mansell
A contemporary-set cosy crime novel that harks back to The Golden Age of detective fiction. Author Tilly Bagshawe writing under a pseudonym, introduces us to society portraitist Iris Grey whose Christmas country retreat is anything but when a body is found floating by the mill on Christmas Day, instead of tucking into turkey and all the trimmings, Iris finds herself caught up in all manner of sleuthing and intrigue. — Red Magazine
A nice little slice of festive whodunnit - just right for cosy winter afternoons — Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair's Mysteries
A festering box of secrets, providing a Christmas cocktail of family lies and deliciously conceived murder. — Mandy Morton, author of The No. 2 Feline Detective Agency series
Be sure to start reading M.B. Shaw's evocatively written mystery early in the day, or else you'll be up late into the night-it's that unputdownable. — Ellen Crosby, author of The Vineyard Victims
M.B. Shaw has penned a wonderfully layered mystery with a multifaceted amateur sleuth, artist Iris Grey. Ms. Shaw's English village setting made me feel like I was right there, and kept me reading until late into the night. I can't wait to see where Iris Grey's next artistic commission takes us. — Paige Shelton, New York Times bestselling author
Murder at the Mill by M. B. Shaw is a great sweeping adventure. Ideal for holiday reading. — M. C. Beaton, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author
Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

'Mason Cross is a fast-paced, high octane thriller writer.' Simon KernickTHENFifteen years ago, an unidentified killer terrorised northern Georgia, killing hikers with two shots from a pistol, before disposing of the bodies along the remote trails and in the rivers in the vicinity of Blood Mountain. The killer was never brought to justice. NOWCarter Blake has returned home for the first time in many years. The visit stirs old memories, including a girl from school who vanished without a trace. Blake runs into the mother of the girl, who mentions a case she's come across in Georgia, where someone is convinced their relative is still alive, fifteen years on. Adeline Connor was the Blood Mountain Killer's last suspected victim. She vanished without a trace.So why is her brother so convinced she's still alive?'One of the best new series characters since Jack Reacher' Lisa Gardner

Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

A woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...

Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt

A story about love, loss and finding hope-against all odds.Rob Coates can't believe his luck. There is Anna, his incredible wife, and most precious of all, Jack, their son, who makes every day an extraordinary adventure. Rob feels like he's won the lottery of life. Or rather-he did. Until the day it all changes when Anna becomes convinced there is something wrong with Jack.Now Rob sleepwalks through his days, unable to bridge the gulf that separates him from his wife, his son and the business of living. But he's determined to come to terms with what's happened-and find a way back to life, and forgiveness.We Own the Sky will resonate with anyone who has ever suffered loss or experienced great love. Luke Allnutt shows that the journey from hope to despair and back is never as simple as we think, and that even the most thoroughly broken heart can learn to beat again.

Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher

February 1974. Football manager Charlie Gordon is struggling, and with each defeat the sack gets closer. His greatness as a player counts for nothing with directors or fans, or the Number 2 who is after his job. Things are no better off the field, and after a failed marriage and the loss of a child, he is taking more and more consolation in alcohol.Only a decent Cup run is keeping him in work. But how to turn things around with the same players who got him here in the first place? Can he trust this remarkable but often unreliable mix of characters to save him? Footballers fall into two categories - artists or assassins. With the next round of the Cup at Chelsea away he will soon find out which of his players, from homesick teenage starlet Willie Buchanan, to playboy record signing DD Marland, can deliver for him.Meanwhile, as the country prepares for a general election, one of the most audacious and high-profile political assassinations in the IRA's history is being planned in London. An active service unit of two men and a woman await the critical signal to proceed. Now both teams - the IRA's and Charlie's - converge on the capital for a result that will alter everyone's lives irrevocably, with consequences far beyond football.

Orion

Thirteen

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne
Gollancz

The Hanging Tree

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Suspicious deaths are not usually the concern of PC Peter Grant or the Folly, even when they happen at an exclusive party in one of the most expensive apartment blocks in London. But Lady Ty's daughter was there, and Peter owes Lady Ty a favour.Plunged into the alien world of the super-rich, where the basements are bigger than the house and dangerous, arcane items are bought and sold on the open market, a sensible young copper would keep his head down and his nose clean. But this is Peter Grant we're talking about.He's been given an unparalleled opportunity to alienate old friends and create new enemies at the point where the world of magic and that of privilege intersect. Assuming he survives the week . . .

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

'Barnett has that rare talent, like Curtis Sittenfeld or Kate Atkinson, of building up the mundane aspects of everyday life until they acquire meaning' THE TIMES'Barnett excels herself in this mesmerising ballad of a book...Greatest Hits is not just about music, it's about people: their ambitions, friendships and flaws. An absolute must read' STYLISTIf you could choose just sixteen moments to define your entire life, what would they be?Cass Wheeler has seen it all - from the searing heights of success, to earth-shattering moments of despair. She has known passion, envy, pride, fear, and love. She has been a daughter, a mother, a singer, a lover. A musician born in 1950, Cass is now taking one day to select the sixteen songs in her repertoire that have meant the most to her. And behind each song lies a story - from the day her mother abandoned her, to her passionate first love, to the moment she lost everything. The dreams, the failures, the second chances. But what made her disappear so suddenly from her public life?

Orion

The Forever House

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

'A delight from start to finish' Jill MansellHunter's Moon is the ultimate 'forever' house. Nestled by a river in the Peasebrook valley, it has been the Willoughbys' home for over fifty years, and now estate agent Belinda Baxter is determined to find the perfect family to live there. But the sale of the house unlocks decades of family secrets - and brings Belinda face to face with her own troubled past. . . 'Truly blissful escapism - I loved it' Lucy DiamondA gorgeous escapist read for anyone needing a hug in a book - pick up The Forever House now!

Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Orion

Dead Simple

Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Authors:
Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Gollancz

Puttering About in a Small Land

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick