Katie May - The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In

By Katie May

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

THE WHITSTABLE HIGH TIDE SWIMMING CLUB is a heartwarming serialized novel in three parts. For readers of Phillipa Ashley, Cathy Bramley, Jenny Hale and Holly Martin

I could taste the sea air and feel the shingle beneath my feet in this gorgeous tale of female friendship and new beginnings. I thoroughly enjoyed The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: it's a warm, engaging novel, full of heart and soul, and perfect to cosy up with on a chilly autumn night. - Victoria Fox


* * * * *

In the gorgeous seaside town of Whitstable, brokenhearted Deb begins to swim each day and gathers a new group of friends around her. But can the magic of sea heal the hurt of the past? Or will family ties drag her underwater again?

A heart-warming, funny and poignant story of romance, friendship and second chances. It's also a song to the author's home town of Whitstable, where the sea is smooth, the shingle is painful on bare feet, and the air is full of possibilities.



Praise for The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club:

'Warm, wise and funny' Rachael Lucas.


What Amazon readers are saying about The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club:

'There is poignancy and loneliness, humour and loss. And an overwhelming unity to keep the club going.'

'This book is beautifully written and was a pleasure to read. The characters are likeable and believable, but it was the sense of place that I enjoyed the most.'

'I devoured this in one sitting: the first part of a perfectly poised novel about friendship, bravery, and the perfect calm that the sea can draw into busy lives.'

'This really made me want to take up sea swimming! A very charming novel, with characters you'll want to see more of. Will definitely be reading more.'

'The setting of Whitstable works beautifully, the rhythm of the tides holds them together and the battle they have taken on forges new friendships.'

Biographical Notes

Katie May is better known as Betty Herbert, author of the award-winning blog and memoir, THE 52 SEDUCTIONS (Headline UK and 8 other languages). She has also published fiction in her own name: BURNING OUT (Snowbooks, 2009) and GHOSTS & THEIR USESS (Urban Fox, 2007). She has written for The Times, Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Glamour and Aeon, amongst others.
She began her literary career as a resident writer for Tate Britain' s education programme, and is currently Programme Director for Creative Writing at Canterbury Christ Church University. In her spare time, she cooks, mixes demon cocktails and walks a great deal. She lives in Whitstable with her husband and son.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409172352
  • Publication date: 31 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Trapeze
Warm, wise and funny. — Rachael Lucas, author of Wildflower Bay
I could taste the sea air and feel the shingle beneath my feet in this gorgeous tale of female friendship and new beginnings. I thoroughly enjoyed The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: it's a warm, engaging novel, full of heart and soul, and perfect to cosy up with on a chilly autumn night. - Victoria Fox
'I could taste the sea air and feel the shingle beneath my feet in this gorgeous tale of female friendship and new beginnings. I thoroughly enjoyed The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: it's a warm, engaging novel, full of heart and soul, and perfect to cosy up with on a chilly autumn night.' - Victoria Fox
W&N

Relish

Ruth Cowen
Authors:
Ruth Cowen
Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

Seven Dials

The Crystal Compass

Aisha Amarfio
Authors:
Aisha Amarfio
Orion

I, Witness

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay
Orion

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually comes to realise that while some of his quarry are unremittingly vile, vicious grotesques, others are the victims of sin, evil or simple naivety.In this collection of short stories, following the adventures of the hit collection THE LAST WISH, join Geralt as he battles monsters, demons and prejudices alike . . .

Orion

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding

A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man's journey to find his destiny.Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He's never questioned it; that's just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . .But what lies beyond the prison walls is more terrifying still. Rescued by a man who hates him yet is oath-bound to protect him, pursued by inhuman forces, Aren slowly accepts that everything he knew about his world was a lie. The rules are not there to protect him, or his people, but to enslave them. A revolution is brewing, and Aren is being drawn into it, whether he likes it or not.The key to the revolution is the Ember Blade. The sword of kings, the Excalibur of his people. Only with the Ember Blade in hand can their people be inspired to rise up . . . but it's locked in an impenetrable vault in the most heavily guarded fortress in the land.All they have to do now is steal it . . .

Seven Dials

30 Days of Vegan

Catherine Kidd
Authors:
Catherine Kidd
Trapeze

Beautiful Liars

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Trapeze

My Mad Dad

Robyn Hollingworth
Authors:
Robyn Hollingworth

'At some point the cared for become the carers; the only way to avoid this is to live alone in the wilderness. So we end up having to care for the people who had cared for us, and this isn't a shame and it isn't a tragedy and it isn't a chore. It is an honour. To be able to return the gift of love that someone bestows upon you is a gift in itself. This is a story of caring...'At the age of twenty-five Robyn Hollingworth finds herself leaving London to return home to rural South Wales. It's her old life - same teddy bears resting on her pillow, their bodies tucked under the duvet; same view of the garages behind which she'd had her first cigarette and first kiss - but so much has changed. Her father, the proud, charmingly intelligent, self-made man who made people laugh, was in the grip of early onset Alzheimer's. His brilliant mind, which saw him building power stations and literally bringing light into the lives of others, had succumbed to darkness. As Robyn settles back in the rhythms of life in the rain-soaked vast Welsh valleys, she keeps a diary charting her journey from cared-for to carer. Lyrical, poignant and with flashes of brilliant humour, My Mad Dad explores how in helping others we can heal ourselves.

Orion

The Spark Girl's Promise

Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford

January 1941. Peggy Dando has learned a lot during her time as a Spark Girl. Now posted to Swansea, she is a driver to the squadron leader spending her days driving him to meetings with officials, and ferrying official documents and cargo around the country. She often hears things she shouldn't and knows to be discreet, understanding how serious the phrase, loose lips cost lives really is. Peggy soon meets and falls in love with pilot Jim Hudson but there's a shock in store when Jim is posted overseas and Peggy later learns that he is missing in action and presumed dead. Her heart is broken but that's not the last of the surprises for Peggy...Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, this new series plays right into the heart of the saga market.

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Seven Dials

Salt, Butter, Bones

Nicole Pisani
Authors:
Nicole Pisani

Orion Spring

The Good Menopause Guide

Liz Earle
Authors:
Liz Earle
Orion

Caligula

Simon Turney
Authors:
Simon Turney
Seven Dials

Turning The Wheel of Your Zodiac Soul

John Wadsworth
Authors:
John Wadsworth

How to use the zodiac to manifest your life the way you were born to live it.Turning The Wheel of Your Zodiac Soul is the brand new approach and twelve-stage programme from leading astrologer, John Wadsworth. Teaching you how to use the Zodiac as a path to wholeness, John's method will reveal to you 'the revelation of you in the totality of who you are.'Drawing on over two thousand years of astrological tradition, John presents the zodiac soul using a wheel analogy: it is a wheel that is supposed to turn, but will inevitably get stuck and falter during the course of life's many challenges- whether these be around personal relationships, financial issues, health, career pressures or a low sense of self-worth. Through his programme, John reassuringly shows that these challenges all have their place in the wheel, and that our underlying fears and self-defeating behaviour patterns driving them can all be addressed and compassionately transformed. With John's assistance, you will learn to identify where the wheel gets stuck in your own life and get it turning again. Turning The Wheel of Your Zodiac Soul will offer you a way of making significant changes, guiding you to manifest the life you were born to live.

Orion

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'Joe Ide is the best new discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael Connelly'In a way, the hate felt good. You were righteous, godlike, the dispenser of justice . . .'Super-smart sleuth Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - has built a mostly respectable life for himself, helping out friends and neighbours when he can and taking the occasional case to make ends meet. But there is one mystery that still haunts him almost ten years later - did his brother really die in a hit-and-run or was there more to the story behind his death? IQ has been approached by his brother's former girlfriend Sarita, whose younger sister, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. Accompanied once more by his fast-talking, don't-call-me-a-sidekick partner Dodson, IQ heads off for the casinos and massage parlours of Las Vegas. His quest takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances that surrounded his brother's death. But when Isaiah learns the truth, what will he do with it?(p) Hachette Audio 2017

Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton
W&N

Waiting for the Albino Dunnock

Rosamond Richardson
Authors:
Rosamond Richardson
Gollancz

The Lady of the Lake

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski