Katie May - The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172390
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172406
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club

By Katie May

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

THE WHITSTABLE HIGH TIDE SWIMMING CLUB is a heartwarming novel about second chances. For readers of Jill Mansell, Cathy Bramley, Lucy Diamond and Carole Matthews

"This book really is about the strong power of female friendship and I loved every moment of it." GoodReads reviewer

Dive into The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club - the uplifting novel about friendship, community spirit and how ordinary people protect what they love.

When Deb (ageing bikini, sunglasses) and Maisie (black wetsuit, swimming shoes, goggles) keep meeting on Reeves Beach, they strike up an unlikely friendship based on their love of swimming and their recent divorces. Soon, they are joined by other high tide swimmers, each with a crisis of their own to weather. Ann, a bossy organiser, is caring for her elderly mother at home; Julie has somehow (although she's not quite sure how) managed to produce three children under school age; and Chloe, a bright, brittle girl of fifteen, finds calmness in the water, and Quiet, anxious Bill is soon welcomed into the heart of the club. When the swimmers discover plans for their beach to be paved over for a leisure complex, together they are determined to make a stand, and to prove that the beach is more than just a place to swim - it is the heart of the community.

*****

Readers love The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club

"Laugh-out-loud moments, a sparkling dialogue and dollops of heart-warming community spirit" - Lancashire Evening Post

"A beautiful setting, wonderful characters, and a great story. This book really is about the strong power of female friendship and I loved every moment of it." - Goodreads Reviewer

"Uplifting and fun story about resilient women." - Amazon Reviewer

*******

Biographical Notes

Katie May is better known as Betty Herbert, author of the award-winning blog and memoir, THE 52 SEDUCTIONS (Headline UK and 8 other languages). She has also published fiction in her own name: BURNING OUT (Snowbooks, 2009) and GHOSTS & THEIR USESS (Urban Fox, 2007). She has written for The Times, Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Glamour and Aeon, amongst others.
She began her literary career as a resident writer for Tate Britain' s education programme, and is currently Programme Director for Creative Writing at Canterbury Christ Church University. In her spare time, she cooks, mixes demon cocktails and walks a great deal. She lives in Whitstable with her husband and son.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409172383
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Trapeze
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part Three: Making Waves

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part Two: Undertow

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May

Alan Bates

In 1956, Sir Alan Bates debuted on stage in the West End as Cliff in Look Back in Anger, a role he had originated at the Royal Court and which made him a star. He featured in films such as Whistle Down the Wind, A Kind of Loving, Zorba the Greek, Far From the Madding Crowd, Women in Love, Hamlet and Gosford Park. Stage performances include Look Back in Anger and Life Class. He was knighted in the New Year's Honours List 2003 and died in December the same year.

Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley was born into a family of storytellers who never stopped talking about the old days 'back home' in England - for which he is eternally grateful. He is a former professor at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. Alan is the author of a memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE in addition to the bestselling Flavia de Luce series. He lives with his wife, Shirley, in the Isle of Man.To find out more, visit www.flaviadeluce.com.

Alan Furst

Alan Furst is widely recognised as the master of the historical spy novel. Now translated into eighteen languages, he is the author of novels including MISSION TO PARIS, SPIES OF THE BALKANS - a TV Book Club choice - THE SPIES OF WARSAW, which became a BBC mini-series starring David Tennant and THE FOREIGN CORRESPONDENT. Born in New York, he lived for many years in Paris and travelled as a journalist in Eastern Europe and Russia. He has written extensively for Esquire and the International Herald Tribune. He now lives in Long Island.www.alanfurst.net

Alice Walker

Alice Walker won the Pulitzer prize and the American Book Award for THE COLOR PURPLE. She is the author of many bestselling novels, essays and collections of poetry including MERIDIAN, BY THE LIGHT OF MY FATHER'S SMILE and THE THIRD LIFE OF GRANGE COPELAND.Visit Alice Walker's official website at: alicewalkersgarden.com

Allan Corduner

Allan Corduner trained at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School and has appeared on stage in PASSION at the Donmar Warehouse, SERIOUS MONEY in the West End and TITANIC on Broadway, and on screen in DA VINCI'S DEMONS, YENTL and TOPSY-TURVY, amonst many other roles. He is a highly experience voice actor and memorably narrated the voice of Death when reading THE BOOK THIEF.

Anna Bentinck

Anna Bentinck was trained at Arts Educational College and has worked extensively for BBC radio. Animation voices include the series 64 Zoo Lane. Film credits include The Trojan Women, Alice in Wonderland and To The Devil a Daughter. Her many audio books range from Tess of the d'Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy, Shirley by Charlotte Bronte, The Five Children and It, by E. Nesbit, One Day by David Nicholls , Beyond Black by Hilary Mantel, The Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys, Sanditon and The Watsons by Jane Austen to The Bible.

Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling PC Peter Grant series of novels (Rivers of London, Moon Over Soho, Whispers Under Ground, Broken Homes, Foxglove Summer and the upcoming The Hanging Tree).He was born and raised in London, and his love for the city is reflected throughout the series. Ben has also previously written for television and worked as a bookseller.He still resides in London, and is currently working on his next novel. Find out more on his website www.the-folly.com, or follow him on Twitter @Ben_Aaronovitch.

Bram Stoker

Abraham "Bram" Stoker (1847-l 1912) was an Irish novelist and short story writer, best known today for his 1897 Gothic novel Dracula. During his lifetime, he was better known as the personal assistant of actor Henry Irving and business manager of the Lyceum Theatre in London, which Irving owned.

C. S. Forester

Cecil Scott Forester was born in 1899 in Cairo and educated in England. He went to Hollywood during the opening years of World War II to help write and produce 'propaganda' films that would convince U.S. filmgoers that the they should take the side of the British and Allies in the War, which led to such films as Eagle Squadron (1941). He is most famous for his celebrated Hornblower series. He died in 1966.

Clare Corbett

Clare Corbett has had a successful career on stage, screen and radio. Theatre credits include 'To Kill A Mocking Bird' 'Pygmalion' and Spoonface Steinberg' and her TV credits include BBC's 'Spooks,' 'Fastnet' and 'Final Demand'. A winner of the prestigious Carleton Hobbs Radio Award, she has appeared in over 250 radio plays including 'Absolute Power' 'Venus and Adonis' and ' Dr Zhivago'. Her other voice work comprises of Aardman Animation's ' the planet sketch' and numerous audiobooks (children and adult) including 'Poppy Shakespeare', 'Swallowing Grandma' and 'Child X'. She read 'Alys, Always' by Harriet Lane for Orion.

Dan Vyleta

Dan Vyleta is the son of Czech refugees who emigrated to Germany in the late 1960s. After growing up in Germany, he left to attend university in the UK where he completed a PhD in History at King's College, Cambridge. His debut novel, Pavel & I, gathered immediate international acclaim and was translated into eight languages. His second novel, The Quiet Twin, was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, and his third, The Crooked Maid, was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and won the J.I Segal Award. When not reading or writing novels, Dan Vyleta watches cop shows, or listens to CDs from his embarrassingly large collection of jazz albums. He lives in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Daniel Weyman

Daniel appears in Foyle's War for itv as series regular Adam Wainwright. His many other television appearances include Poirot, Midsomer Murders and Dunkirk. He was nominated for Best Performance in a Play at the TMA Awards for his portrayal of Nicholas Nickleby which played at Chichester Festival Theatre, in the West End and in Toronto. His first professional job was at the Donmar Warehouse in The Vortex directed by Michael Grandage. He has recorded many audiobooks and was included in the ALA's Listen List 2013 for outstanding narration.

Emma Powell

Emma Powell's recent theatre credits include '.45' for Hampstead Theatre, Lady Macbeth and Lady Capulet for C Company, roles in 'Two Gentlemen of Verona' and 'Julius Caesar' for the RSC and 'Persuasion' and 'The Rivals' for ReCreation Theatre Company. Her Radio Drama work includes the classic series 'A Dance to the Music of Time' for Radio 4 and 'Use It or Lose It' for Radio 3 as well as the comedy horror podcast series 'In the Gloaming'. She also has many voice-over credits. GRACELING and FIRE are her first audiobooks for Orion.

Jilly Bond

Jilly Bond has been an actress for over twenty years, with significant experience on stage, radio and television, including Judge John Deed, Doctors and People Like Us. She has appeared in over one hundred radio plays, including The Barchester Chronicles and The Archers and has read numerous audiobooks.

John Ironmonger

John Ironmonger was born and grew up in East Africa. He has a doctorate in zoology, and was once an expert on freshwater leeches. He is the author of THE GOOD ZOO GUIDE and the novels THE NOTABLE BRAIN OF MAXIMILIAN PONDER, which was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa First Novel Prize and the GUARDIAN's NOT THE BOOKER PRIZE, and THE COINCIDENCE AUTHORITY. He was part of a world record team for speed reading Shakespeare and once drove across the Sahara in a £100 banger. He lives in rural Shropshire with his wife Sue and has two grown-up children. Follow him on Twitter @jwironmonger or visit his website http://notablebrain.blogspot.co.uk.

Jonathan Keeble

Jonathan combines his audio work with a busy theatre and TV career. He is very proud to have appeared more times (11) at Manchester's prestigious Royal Exchange Theatre than any one else of his age. He has featured in over 500 radio plays for the BBC appearing in everything from Shakespeare to Sherlock Holmes to Dr Who and is also the evil Owen in The Archers. Much in demand for his voicework, this ranges from playing Sir Christopher Wren in St. Paul's Cathedral to The Angel of Death in the film Hellboy 2, with stops at all points in between. An award-winning reader, Jonathan has recorded over 100 audiobooks.

Julia Whelan

Julia Whelan, an Earphones award winner, is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple television shows, most notably in Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry, and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.