Laura Kemp - The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409174837
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409174882
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

By Laura Kemp

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A fun and feel-good read, perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.
Biographical Notes

Laura Kemp writes tender but hilarious romantic comedies which are unashamed love letters to the everywoman. She is a journalist and has written for the Guardian, Daily Mail and the Sun amongst others. Laura lives with her husband and son in Cardiff, where she pretends to be a domestic revolutionary so she doesn't have to do the ironing.

Follow all her book news at facebook.com/Laurakempbooks or on Twitter @Laurajanekemp

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409174844
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Heartwarming, wise, funny and romantic...this is a delight — RACHAEL LUCAS
A truly wonderful and heartwarming read — HEIDI SWAIN
Gorgeous from start to finish - if this doesn't warm your heart I don't know what will! — HOLLY HEPBURN, author of A YEAR AT THE STAR AND SIXPENCE
A lovely, warm, uplifting read...loved it — CLARE SWATMAN, author of Before You Go

Praise for Laura Kemp's warm, feel-good reads:

Witty, warm and wise with the funniest one-liners - totally loved every page. Laura Kemp delivers another winner

— MILLY JOHNSON
Warm, funny, sweet *and* spicy, what a fab read — LUCY DIAMOND
A warm-hearted, laugh-out-loud story of the things we do (or don't do) in pursuit of love. Sexy, witty and wise, with moments that will steal your heart — MIRANDA DICKINSON
Gorgeous! Funny, clever, romantic and real, it's brilliant — RACHAEL LUCAS
Fun but with real heart — FABULOUS MAGAZINE
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

A woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...

Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt

A story about love, loss and finding hope-against all odds.Rob Coates can't believe his luck. There is Anna, his incredible wife, and most precious of all, Jack, their son, who makes every day an extraordinary adventure. Rob feels like he's won the lottery of life. Or rather-he did. Until the day it all changes when Anna becomes convinced there is something wrong with Jack.Now Rob sleepwalks through his days, unable to bridge the gulf that separates him from his wife, his son and the business of living. But he's determined to come to terms with what's happened-and find a way back to life, and forgiveness.We Own the Sky will resonate with anyone who has ever suffered loss or experienced great love. Luke Allnutt shows that the journey from hope to despair and back is never as simple as we think, and that even the most thoroughly broken heart can learn to beat again.

Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher

Football manager Charlie Gordon is struggling with one defeat after another at the club he loves. Only a decent Cup run is keeping him in work, but tensions are running close to the surface ahead of the next round: Chelsea at home. Footballers fall into two categories: artists or assassins. Soon Charlie is going to find out which players can deliver - and just how much pressure they can all stand.Meanwhile, as the country prepares for a general election, one of the most dangerous political assassinations in the IRA's history is being planned in London. An active service unit await the critical signal to proceed...Both sides will converge on the capital for a result that will shake everyone's lives, with consequences far beyond football.

Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences.' Val McDermid A gripping Scottish crime thriller from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.Two sistersJust before her wedding day, Morven Murray, queen of daytime TV, is found murdered. All eyes are on her sister Anna, who was heard arguing with her hours before she was killed.Two murdersOn the other side of Inverness, police informant Kevin Ramsay is killed in a gangland-style execution. But what exactly did he know?One killer?As ex-Met Detective Inspector Lukas Mahler digs deeper into both cases, he discovers that Morven's life was closer to the Inverness underworld than anyone imagined. Caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, is Lukas hunting one killer, or two?'A new star of tartan noir is born. Kirk has written a brilliantly tense, atmospheric debut. I can't wait to read more in this highland crime series.' Cass Green, Number 1 ebook bestselling author of THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR.

W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne
W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Orion

The Forever House

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

'A delight from start to finish' Jill MansellHunter's Moon is the ultimate 'forever' house. Nestled by a river in the Peasebrook valley, it has been the Willoughbys' home for over fifty years, and now estate agent Belinda Baxter is determined to find the perfect family to live there. But the sale of the house unlocks decades of family secrets - and brings Belinda face to face with her own troubled past. . . 'Truly blissful escapism - I loved it' Lucy DiamondA gorgeous escapist read for anyone needing a hug in a book - pick up The Forever House now!

W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Orion

Dead Simple

Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Authors:
Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Orion

The Flowers of the Field

Sarah Harrison
Authors:
Sarah Harrison
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Orion

The House of Dust and Dreams

Brenda Reid
Authors:
Brenda Reid

Eva Weaver

Eva Weaver is a writer, art therapist, coach and performance artist. She moved to Britain from Germany in 1995 and lives in Brighton. Like many Germans, she has been haunted by the events of the Second World War, which inspired her to write her first novel, The Puppet Boy of Warsaw. It has now been published in thirteen countries. Eva's second novel, The Eye of the Reindeer, was inspired by journeys to Scandinavia, encounters with the Sami people and her work as an art therapist over many years in mental health services in the UK. Alongside her writing, Eva runs her own coaching practice. www.evaweaver.com

Flynn Berry

Flynn Berry studied English at Brown University and has been awarded a Yaddo residency. Under the Harrow is her first novel.

Francesca Kay

Francesca Kay grew up in South-east Asia and India and has subsequently lived in Jamaica, the United States and Germany. Her first novel, An Equal Stillness, won the Orange Award for New Writers, and was shortlisted for Best First Book in the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Europe and South Asia Region). She lives with her family in Oxford.