Elle Croft - The Guilty Wife - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175438
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175421
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

The Guilty Wife

A thrilling psychological suspense with twists and turns that grip you to the very last page

By Elle Croft
Read by Victoria Fox

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

If you were being framed for murder, how far would you go to clear your name?

The debut psychological thriller that reads as Apple Tree Yard meets Behind Closed Doors, by way of Double Jeopardy.

WIFE. MISTRESS. MURDERER.

If you were being framed for murder, how far would you go to clear your name?

The debut psychological thriller that reads as Apple Tree Yard meets Behind Closed Doors, by way of Double Jeopardy.

I'm not guilty of murder.

Bethany Reston is happily married. But she's also having an affair with a famous client.

And no one can ever know.

But that doesn't make me innocent.

When Bethany's lover is brutally murdered, she has to hide her grief from everyone.

But someone knows her secret. And then one day the threats begin.

With an ever-growing pile of evidence pointing to her as the murderer, the only way she can protect her secrets is to prove her innocence. And that means tracking down a killer.

An incredibly taut, tense game of cat and mouse - with a twist you'll never see coming.
Read by Victoria Fox
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2017

Biographical Notes

Elle Croft was born in South Africa, grew up in Australia and moved to the UK in 2010 after travelling around the world with her husband. She works as a freelance social media specialist and also blogs about travel, food and life in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409175445
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
I couldn't put this down. Pacy and gripping. — Cass Green, author of the number 1 ebook bestseller The Woman Next Door
'An accomplished debut with a relentless and intense pace that kept me completely rapt and eager to find out answers. I loved the final twist.' — KL Slater, international bestselling author of Safe With Me, Blink and Liar
'A gripping psychological thriller. This debut is skilfully plotted and I had to keep turning the pages as the tension increased - I just couldn't put it down. And the ending! You just have to read it. I am looking forward to more from Elle Croft.' — Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of The Missing Ones
Full of twists and turns, THE GUILTY WIFE is a gripping tale of betrayal, deceit, and duplicity. The ending will stay with you long after you've finished the last page. Fabulous. — Jenny Blackhurst, bestselling author of How I Lost You and Before I Let You In
A gripping portrayal of a woman under fire, which explores the blurry boundaries of innocence and guilt. The Guilty Wife will make you question those closest to you as the plot unfolds at pace, with an ending that pulls the rug from under your feet. A brilliant debut. — Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House
Twisty and fast-moving, The Guilty Wife kept me guessing until the very end! A great read. — Isabel Ashdowm, author of Little Sister and Beautiful Liars
What a clever idea! This kept me reading through the night to see how 'the guilty wife' would get out of this one..... — Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife and Blood Sisters.
I read The Guilty Wife in an intense two day sitting. Brilliant. — Niki Mackay, author of I,Witness
Trapeze

I Heart Unicorns

Anastasia Catris
Authors:
Anastasia Catris

Unleash a life lived in colour with this magical unicorn colouring book. Let your imagination run wild as you colour in these beautifully intricate line drawings of these mystical creatures. De-stress and discover your creative side as you fill each page with colour. Now you can be a unicorn in a field of horses. After all, when you reduce life to black and white, you never see rainbows.

Trapeze

I Heart Mermaids

Anastasia Catris
Authors:
Anastasia Catris

Unleash a life lived in colour with this enchanting mermaid colouring book. Let your imagination swim away with you as you colour in beautifully intricate line drawings of these mystical underwater creatures. De-stress and discover your creative side as you fill each page with colour. Be a mermaid and make waves!

Gollancz

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
W&N

Catapult

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund

'A powerhouse of a first story collection notable for its temerity and its skilled combination of humour and insight' New York Times Book Review The unknowable wisdom of a baby; two teenagers with plans to build a time machine;the unnerving relationship between a man and his dangerous dog; a bumpy reunion between two childhood friends . . . These are stories about how people grow together and pull apart, the strangeness of lives lived at close quarters. Envy, distrust, confidence, collusion, hope - in this remarkable collection, Emily Fridlund delves into the small lies and large truths that make up our lives.Selected by Ben Marcus as winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction

Seven Dials

Superstar Dogs

Julie Tottman
Authors:
Julie Tottman

*****Your pets can rival movie stars with these easy tricks from the trainer behind Harry Potter and Game of Thrones, Julie Tottman. Whether your dog is clever, cheeky, kooky or cuddly, this perfect gift for dog lovers everywhere reveals easy tricks to make them the envy of their friends. Trick-training is a simple and fun way to bond with your dog whilst keeping them stimulated and active, and there is no one better placed to show you how to do it than Julie. Over the last twenty years, Julie has been the animal trainer behind a whole host of major Hollywood blockbusters - from the Harry Potter franchise to Lassie, The Dark Knight, 102 Dalmations and, most recently, Game of Thrones. By breaking each trick down into easy step-by-step instructions, Julie shows you how to teach your pet a wide range of easy and fun tricks, catering for all shapes, sizes - and attention spans! Alongside lots of helpful tips and advice, you'll also find fun black and white illustrations and space to jot down when your pet has successfully performed each trick, meaning they'll be rivalling movie stars in no time.

Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan
Gollancz

Blade Runner

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

As the eagerly-anticipated new film Blade Runner 2049 finally comes to the screen, rediscover the world of Blade Runner . . . World War Terminus had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn't 'retiring' them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal - the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill six Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard's world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit - and the threat of death for the hunter, rather than the hunted . . .

Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt
Orion Spring

The Little Book of Kindness

Bernadette Russell
Authors:
Bernadette Russell
W&N

Where Poppies Blow

John Lewis-Stempel
Authors:
John Lewis-Stempel

Winner of the 2017 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize for nature writingThe natural history of the Western Front during the First World War'If it weren't for the birds, what a hell it would be.' During the Great War, soldiers lived inside the ground, closer to nature than many humans had lived for centuries. Animals provided comfort and interest to fill the blank hours in the trenches - bird-watching, for instance, was probably the single most popular hobby among officers. Soldiers went fishing in flooded shell holes, shot hares in no-man's land for the pot, and planted gardens in their trenches and billets. Nature was also sometimes a curse - rats, spiders and lice abounded, and disease could be biblical.But above all, nature healed, and, despite the bullets and blood, it inspired men to endure. Where Poppies Blow is the unique story of how nature gave the British soldiers of the Great War a reason to fight, and the will to go on.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
W&N

Connectography

Parag Khanna
Authors:
Parag Khanna
Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith is one of the brightest stars of space opera.In the far future, many years after the loss of earth, humanity has changed. Strength is the only way to survive. And the most vicious man alive has a new con in mind... Here and now, a man with unnatural powers hunts down a killer with impossible abilities. Infused with a barely-understood alien technology, the two are merely pawns in a bigger game...A long time ago, the last tribes of Northern Britain face an unimaginable enemy. Demons risen from the sea, absorbing and twisting everything they touch. But there are some among the tribes who have power, who will fight...And all of these times are connected...Gavin Smith's new epic space opera is a wide-ranging exploration of the past, present and future of mankind.

Orion

The Sixth Extinction

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author returns with a gripping, high-concept adventure thriller in the Sigma Force series - for fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton.A remote military research station in Utah sends out a frantic distress call, ending with a chilling final command: Kill us all! By the time help arrives every living thing for fifty miles has been annihilated. And blight is spreading.To halt the inevitable, Commander Gray Pierce and Sigma must unravel a threat that rises out of the distant past, to a time when Antarctica was green and life on Earth balanced on a knife edge. Following clues from an ancient map rescued from the lost Library of Alexandria, Sigma will discover the truth about an ancient continent, about a new form of death buried under miles of ice, and the coming extinction of mankind.

W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Gollancz

Barricade

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
The Murder Room

The Joker in the Pack

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

When Helga Rolfe flies into Nassau to join her elderly millionaire husband, Herman, she finds plenty of bad news awaiting her. Crippled, suspicious Herman has long suspected she's been playing around since their marriage, and is proposing to write some nasty-looking terms into his will. Herman is right, of course - Helga's weakness is for handsome, sexy men like Harry Jackson, whom she meets on the beach the day she arrives. But Harry is not quite what she thinks - and because of him she suddenly finds herself in a nightmare world of blackmail, voodoo and violence ...'I always enjoy his books ... he just keeps me reading' George Macdonald Fraser

Orion

Hark!

Ed McBain
Authors:
Ed McBain
Orion

Fat Ollie's Book

Ed McBain
Authors:
Ed McBain