Anna Stuart - Bonnie and Stan - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409177623
    • Publication date:21 Feb 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409178149
    • Publication date:21 Feb 2019
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409177630
    • Publication date:30 May 2019

Bonnie and Stan

By Anna Stuart

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Bonnie & Stan is a poignant, surprising love story set during the Swinging Sixties and the present day. Ultimately feel-good and full of emotion, Bonnie & Stan will make your heart sing. For readers who enjoyed Julie Cohen, JoJo Moyes and Marian Keyes.

After 50 years together Stan still adores his wife... so why is he dating again?

Bonnie and Stan are soulmates. They met during the Swinging Sixties, to the soundtrack of The Beatles and the Merseybeat scene. Now they've grown up and grown old together, had children and grandchildren. They are finally building their dream home, when disaster strikes.

Stan is running out of time, and can't bear the thought of leaving Bonnie alone. Alongside his teenage granddaughter Greya, he forms a plan to find Bonnie a new love of her life. And she must never find out...

Bonnie & Stan is a poignant, surprising love story set during the Swinging Sixties and the present day. Ultimately feel-good and full of emotion, Bonnie & Stan will make your heart sing.

Biographical Notes

Anna Stuart has wanted to be a writer ever since she sat up in her cot with a book. For years she wrote short stories and serials for the women's magazines before being published by Pan Macmillan as a historical novelist under the pseudonym Joanna Courtney. Her Queens of the Conquest series, set in the pre-1066 years, has been published to acclaim in all formats including audiobook and been translated for European markets but she is delighted to return to the contemporary world for Bonnie & Stan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409177647
  • Publication date: 21 Feb 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Trapeze
It's a total charmer, so sad but sweet and uplifting, staying with me long after I'd read it. I really enjoyed the sentiment that love stays with you after someone has gone, the feeling of reading it and it ending was the same. — Laura Kemp, author of BRING ME SUNSHINE
Sweet, funny, heartbreaking and uplifting. — Rachael Lucas, author of FINDING HOPE AT HILLSIDE FARM
I sobbed my way through this read. Heartbreaking yet funny, clever and life-affirming too. — Caroline Smailes, author of THE DROWNING OF ARTHUR BRAXTON
Full of heart, wit and rock and roll Bonnie and Stan is an uplifting joy to read. I highly recommend it. — Katie Marsh, author of THE REST OF ME
Warm, thought-provoking and unexpected - Bonnie and Stan is an uplifting reminder of the enduring power of true love. — Isabel Ashdown, author of LAKE CHILD
a fresh, original love story beautifully told. — Ruth Hogan, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS
Bright, original and moving: two wonderful storylines, one unforgettable love story — Tracy Rees
Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
Orion

My Mother's Daughter

Ann O'Loughlin
Authors:
Ann O'Loughlin
W&N

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

March 1939Estelle is the headstrong daughter of Fleur, a Resistance legend who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while helping Allied soldiers to escape. Christa, an only child, longs to break free from the constraints of London suburbia, and fantasises about the ethereal Belgian heroine who saved her father. When Estelle comes looking for the truth about the mother she believes deserted her, an intense friendship grows between the two young women. Estelle invites Christa to De Eikenhoeve, her family's idyllic country estate. There, Christa encounters Estelle's two brothers - brooding, tempestuous Robbe and dependable, golden-haired Pieter - and during that long hot summer, passions run high. When war breaks out Christa is forced to return home, but not before she has done something she will regret for the rest of her life.Christa arrives back in England a changed woman, while Estelle decides to follow in her mother's footsteps and join the Resistance. Little do they dream that Fleur was betrayed by someone close to them, and that the legacy of this betrayal will have heartbreaking consequences for them all.Read by Catherine Harvey(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

'Recipe For Life pulls off the rare trick of being both gritty and lyrical, heartrending and compelling. A novel about how easy it is to become an observer in your own life, and the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for LifeA woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...******'Venice comes alive...warm, engaging and truly delicious' Rosanna Ley, author of The Little Theatre by the Sea'A delicious and sensual adventure. I was whisked away to the sights and tastes of the most romantic - and mysterious - of cities. A story as evocative and captivating as Venice itself' Fiona Gibson, author of The Woman Who Met Her Match'With a wonderfully evocative setting and mouth-watering descriptions of Venetian food, A Year at Hotel Gondola is a refreshingly different take on the challenges of making a relationship when you're older' Pamela Hartshorne, author of The Cursed Wife

W&N

Good Hope Road

Sarita Mandanna
Authors:
Sarita Mandanna

'A powerfully emotive family drama featuring well-drawn and sympathetic characters set against a little known but momentous event in US history, which will strike a chord with those who enjoyed Pat Barker's Regeneration and Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road to the Deep North' WE LOVE THIS BOOKFrom the author of TV BOOK CLUB PICK, TIGER HILLSJim Stonebridge lives a solitary life with his father, a haunted man, on an apple estate in deepest Vermont. The year is 1932 and the grand house, once filled with laughter and parties, now stagnates under the weight of secrets and stories untold.Jim is out fishing in the quietness of the woods one day when he spots a plane banking low over the river. From behind the pilot streams a mass of balloons, held by a woman with rich red hair. Madeleine Scott, a spirited bohemian, bursts into their lives, bringing light and laughter to the estate once more. But with the bittersweet unravelling that love brings come memories. Of a friendship forged on battlefields and a past denied. 'A novel of great ambition and power' THE TIMES

W&N

Ridley Road

Jo Bloom
Authors:
Jo Bloom

'Vivid, cinematic and exciting' Red'Conjures a great picture of Soho's early-Sixties jazz-and-caffeine buzz' Emerald Street'Thought-provoking' Independent on SundayA TALE OF LOVE AND MORALITY SET IN THE DARK SIDE OF THE SWINGING SIXTIESSUMMER, 1962. Twenty-year-old Vivien Epstein, a Jewish hairdresser from Manchester, arrives in London following the death of her father. She has travelled to the city to make a new start, and quickly finds herself swept up in a city buzzing with life. Landing a job at Oscar's salon, she thrives amid the vibrant café culture of Soho and the warm camaraderie of the other hairdressers. But beneath the surface, Vivien is desperate to find Jack Fox, a man she had a brief but intense romance with some months before. Her search leads to confront the dark resurgence of fascism, countered by the Jewish community in street battles around Ridley Road in the East End of London. Amid the growing tensions, can her love survive? AN EXPLOSIVE, HEART-BREAKING NOVEL FOR FANS OF MAGGIE O'FARRELL AND ZOE HELLERReaders LOVE Ridley Road:'Enthralling and captivating' Mrs T.'I read it in one sitting' Rebecca'Did not want to put it down' Eva'Fantastic!' Mrs S

Orion

Village Rumours

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
Orion

Fetch Nurse Connie

Jean Fullerton
Authors:
Jean Fullerton
W&N

The Letters of Ivor Punch

Colin MacIntyre
Authors:
Colin MacIntyre
W&N

And Sometimes I Wonder About You

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

Summertime

Vanessa Lafaye
Authors:
Vanessa Lafaye

Orion

Under a Cornish Sky

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
Orion

Far From The Madding Crowd (film)

Thomas Hardy
Authors:
Thomas Hardy
W&N

Shame

Melanie Finn
Authors:
Melanie Finn
W&N

Two Eerie Tales of Suspense

Paul Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday
W&N

Ella Morris

John David Morley
Authors:
John David Morley
W&N

The Woman in the Picture

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

The page-turning sequel to THE CRIMSON ROOMS by the author of bestselling Richard & Judy Book Club pick, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL.London, 1926. Evie Gifford, one of the first female lawyers in Britain, is not a woman who lets convention get in her way. She has left her family home following a devastating love affair, much to her mother's disapproval.London is tense in the days leading up to the General Strike and Evelyn throws herself into two very different cases - one involving a family with links to the unions and the other a rich man who claims not to be the father of his wife's child. Evie is confronting the hardest challenge of her career when she is faced with an unexpected proposal - just as her former lover returns.How can she possibly choose between security with a man she admires and passion for the man who betrayed her?

Dan Smith

Dan Smith grew up following his parents across the world to Africa, Indonesia and Brazil. He has been writing short stories for as long as he can remember and has been published in the anthology MATTER 4, shortlisted for the Royal Literary Fund mentor scheme, the Northern Writers Awards, the 2010 Brit Writers Published Author of the Year award and the Authors' Club First Novel award. He lives in Newcastle with his family. Find out more at www.dansmithsbooks.com.

Graham Hurley

Graham Hurley is an award-winning TV documentary maker who now writes full time. He is married and has grown up children. He lived in Portsmouth for 20 years but now lives in Exmouth, Devon.www.grahamhurley.co.uk

Katie Agnew

Katie Agnew was born in Edinburgh and educated at Aberdeen University and City University, London. She worked as a journalist for many years, writing for MARIE CLAIRE, COSMOPOLITAN, RED and the DAILY MAIL amongst others. She was features editor on MARIE CLAIRE magazine for two years before becoming a novelist. Her first novel, DROP DEAD GORGEOUS, was published in 2003 and won a WH SMITH FRESH TALENT AWARD. Her subsequent novels, including DROP DEAD GORGEOUS and WIVES V GIRLFRIENDS, are loved by readers who like their fiction packed with glamour, passion and drama. Katie lives in Bath with her family.