Caroline Hulse - The Adults - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409178293
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409178323
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409178316
    • Publication date:29 Nov 2018

The Adults

Meet the only family more dysfunctional than yours this Christmas!

By Caroline Hulse
Read by Penelope Rawlins, Peter Kenny, and Sarah Ovens

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A hilarious and heartwarming debut from a fresh voice in fiction: perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

'Genuinely unputdownable books are rare in my experience. This is one. A brilliant, original comedy' Daily Mail

* * * * *

MEET THE ADULTS...

Claire and Matt are divorced but decide what's best for their daughter Scarlett is to have a 'normal' family Christmas with them all together.

Claire brings her new boyfriend Patrick, a seemingly eligible Iron-Man-in-Waiting.
Matt brings the new love of his life Alex, funny, smart, and extremely patient.
Scarlett, their daughter, brings her imaginary friend Posey. He's a rabbit.

Together the five (or six?) of them grit their teeth over Organized Fun activities, drinking a little too much after bed-time, oversharing classified secrets about their pasts and, before they know it, their holiday is a powder keg that ends - where this story starts - with a tearful, frightened, call to the police...

But what happened? They said they'd all be adults about this...

* * * * *

'I loved The Adults! Funny, dry and beautifully observed. Highly recommended'
Gill Sims, #1 bestselling author of Why Mummy Drinks and Why Mummy Swears

'Such a breath of fresh air! Witty, intensely human and (dare I say it) relatable ... The perfect comedy of errors' Katie Khan

'The Adults is my top read of 2018 so far. Absolutely hilarious ... This one will stay with me for a long time' Cathy Bramley

'Packed with sharp wit, engaging characters and off-beat humour, this is a fresh and feisty thrill-ride of a novel' Heat

'I took this book on holiday and couldn't put it down! I've never read anything quite like it' The Unmumsy Mum

'Gripped me from the start. Reminiscent of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies - a sure-fire winner'
Cass Hunter, author of The After Wife

'Brilliantly funny - will have you wincing in recognition' Good Housekeeping

'Funny, poignant, real - a truly original book that made me laugh, cry and cringe in equal measure. I loved it' Charlotte Duckworth

'Razor-sharp comedy - barbed and brilliant. The characters are totally convincing ... Sparky, heart-felt and fantastically fun, this is a fabulous debut' Sunday Mirror

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409178330
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Genuinely unputdownable books are rare in my experience. This is one...A brilliant, original comedy of contemporary manners. — DAILY MAIL

Caroline Hulse's The Adults gripped me from the start . . . With a razor-sharp eye, she dissects the nightmare of family politics. It's an assured, well-paced book, and even though we know the crisis point from the beginning, there are heaps of surprises along the way. Reminiscent of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies, this book is a sure-fire winner'

— Cass Hunter, author of The After Wife
I loved The Adults! Funny, dry and beautifully observed. Highly recommended for anyone whose Perfect Christmases never quite go according to plan! Gill Sims, bestselling author of Why Mummy Drinks.
Brilliantly funny. — GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
Packed with sharp wit, engaging characters and off-beat humour, this is a fresh and feisty thrill-ride of a novel. — HEAT
Razor-sharp comedy. — SUNDAY MIRROR
Clever, perceptive and wickedly funny, this is a holiday-from-hell extravaganza not to be missed! — Lancashire Evening Post
I have a feeling Caroline Hulse might be a genius, this book is so brilliant. It's funny, clever and original - I loved every minute of reading it. Also, Posey should get a spin-off TV show — Lucy Vine, author of Hot Mess
I loved it. I couldn't believe it was a debut. It was so funny, and intriguing and I was desperate to know where it was all heading - a great read — Mike Gayle author of THE MAN I THINK I KNOW