Mandy Saligari - Proactive Parenting - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409183426
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409190998
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019

Proactive Parenting

Help your child conquer self-destructive behaviours and build self-esteem

By Mandy Saligari

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

TV therapist Mandy Saligari reveals how to approach your child's mental health issues by tackling the self-destructive behaviours that are often behind them

Take a proactive approach towards your child's mental health and discover how to have the conversations that will be life-saving and life-changing.

With a foreword by Benny Refson, President of the children's mental health charity Place2Be

The pressures faced by children and adolescents today are unprecedented, and the corresponding statistics around poor mental health deeply alarming. Behind every mental health issue, from addiction to ADHD, lies a host of underlying problems that need addressing but as a worried parent it's hard to know where to focus. What do you do if your child struggles with anxiety? Is self-harming? Has developed an unhealthy relationship with eating, exercise, technology or alcohol?

Proactive in approach, top addiction therapist Mandy Saligari provides the tools to help you identify and address the self-destructive patterns of behaviour, to stop them in their tracks. Her practical framework reveals how you can adapt your own behaviour and equip your child to develop emotional intelligence, resilience and self-esteem.

Biographical Notes

Mandy Saligari is an addiction, parenting and relationship expert with a strong media platform. She specialises in individuals and families affected by broad-spectrum addiction and addictive processes. She is a highly respected and established expert- passionate about helping people live healthy, happy, addiction free lives and preventing addiction running through families and society. She is passionate about dispelling the myths surrounding addiction and mental health. Mandy is also committed to regular talks at schools on early intervention, addiction, emotional coping mechanisms and self-esteem. Mandy has 3 children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409183419
  • Publication date: 07 Feb 2019
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Orion Spring
This book will change how we bring up our families — Simon Woodroffe OBE
A book with really helpful insights... we should all read knowing that we can make a difference — Dame Benny Refson, DBE President of Place2Be
Mandy is a like a surgeon for emotions. Through my work at Big Change, I know it's easier to grow a strong child than fix a broken adult and early prevention is key to breaking negative cycles ... I highly recommend this book — Sam Branson, co-founder of Big Change
The book gives guidelines and positive structures that can aid complicated, delicate and personal situations ... an incredibly useful source to have as a parent — Jude Law
Trapeze

Somewhere Close to Happy

Lia Louis
Authors:
Lia Louis

A laugh-out-loud funny yet heart-breaking novel about first love and second chances, with a satisfying mystery at its heart.Lizzie James is happy. She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of tray bakes), has had the same best friend since secondary school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and TV soaps. Granted, some members of her family she'd rather not see, and they definitely don't want to see her after what happened back then... But on the whole she's happy. Or somewhere close to it, anyway. Until a letter arrives one day from her best friend, Roman. A letter dated 12 years ago, the exact day he went missing. It brings all her painful memories flooding back: the new school she had to go to when she was ill, losing her beloved granddad, Hubble, and then losing her first love. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she starts to discover what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman.Who sent her the letter, and what happened to Roman?Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes, Giovanna Fletcher and Kate Eberlen's Miss You. This is a novel you won't soon forget.(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Orion Spring

What No One Tells You

Alexandra Sacks, Catherine Birndorf
Authors:
Alexandra Sacks, Catherine Birndorf
W&N

Under the Camelthorn Tree

Kate Nicholls
Authors:
Kate Nicholls

Trapeze

Spring Comes to Emmerdale

Pamela Bell
Authors:
Pamela Bell
Trapeze

Bonnie and Stan

Anna Stuart
Authors:
Anna Stuart
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott
Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Orion Spring

De-stress Your Life

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
Orion

Only a Mother

Elisabeth Carpenter
Authors:
Elisabeth Carpenter
Orion Spring

Qigong and the Tai Chi Axis

Mimi Kuo-Deemer
Authors:
Mimi Kuo-Deemer

Reduce stress, release pain and create whole body harmony with this practical introduction to Qigong and the yin/yang balance of Tai Chi, the ancient Chinese arts of 'movement meditation'. From reducing stress and improving posture to balance and general mobility, the many physical and mental benefits of Qigong and Tai Chi are widely celebrated. In this accessible book, Mimi Kuo-Deemer offers practices, insights and wisdom on these arts, and shows us how to support our natural capacity for energy, balance and wellbeing. Qigong's approach is based on the Chinese Five Elements or Phases of wood, fire, earth, metal and water. Each natural element relates to an organ and meridian system in the body, and Qigong and the Tai Chi Axis will explore each of these elements as they relate to our physical, mental and emotional health. It also will include popular and widely practiced sequences and forms such as the 8 Brocades, Five Animal Frolics, Tai Chi Qigong 18 Forms and Five Element Qigong practices and explore how these lead to wholeness, nourishment and health.Part I: Wood Element: Nourishing our Roots Part 2: Fire Element: Nourishing the Heart Part 3: Earth Element: Nourishing the Mind Part 4: Metal Element: Nourishing the SpiritPart 5: Water Element: Nourishing our Deepest Wisdom

W&N

Slowhand

Philip Norman
Authors:
Philip Norman
Gollancz

Wild Hunger

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Orion Spring

Healthy Menopause

Liz Earle
Authors:
Liz Earle
Seven Dials

The Little Big Things

Henry Fraser
Authors:
Henry Fraser
Orion

Shards of Hope

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

Archangel's Enigma

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Naasir is the most feral of the powerful group of vampires and angels known as the Seven, his loyalty pledged to the Archangel Raphael. When rumors surface of a plot to murder the former Archangel of Persia, now lost in the Sleep of the Ancients, Naasir is dispatched to find him. For only he possesses the tracking skills required-those more common to predatory animals than to man.Enlisted to accompany Naasir, Andromeda, a young angelic scholar with dangerous secrets, is fascinated by his nature-at once playful and brilliant, sensual and brutal. As they race to find the Sleeping archangel before it's too late, Naasir will force her to question all she knows . . . and tempt her to walk into the magnificent, feral darkness of his world. But first they must survive an enemy vicious enough to shatter the greatest taboo of the angelic race and plunge the world into a screaming nightmare . . .Read by Justine Eyre(p) 2015 Tantor Media Inc

Gollancz

Count Zero

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

They set a Slamhound on Turner's trail in New Delhi, slotted it to his pheromones and the colour of his hair.When the Maas Biolabs and Hosaka zaibatsus fight it out for world domination, computer cowboys like Turner and Count Zero are just foot soldiers in the great game: useful but ultimately expendable. When Turner wakes up in Mexico - in a new body with a beautiful woman beside him - his corporate masters let him recuperate for a while, then reactivate his memory for a mission even more dangerous than the one that nearly killed him: the head designer from Maas Biolabs says he wants to defect to Hosaka, and it's Turner's job to deliver him safely. Count Zero is a rustbelt data-hustler totally unprepared for what comes his way when the designer's defection triggers war in cyberspace. With voodoo gods in the Net and angels in the software, he can only hope that the megacorps and the super-rich have their virtual hands too full to notice the amateur hacker with the black market kit trying desperately to stay alive . . .

Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

The sky above the port was the colour of television, tuned to a dead channel.William Gibson revolutionised science fiction in his 1984 debut Neuromancer. The writer who gave us the matrix and coined the term 'cyberspace' produced a first novel that won the Hugo, Nebula and Philip K. Dick Awards, and lit the fuse on the Cyberpunk movement. More than three decades later, Gibson's text is as stylish as ever, his noir narrative still glitters like chrome in the shadows and his depictions of the rise and abuse of corporate power look more prescient every day. Part thriller, part warning, Neuromancer is a timeless classic of modern SF and one of the 20th century's most potent and compelling visions of the future.

Gollancz

Shield of Winter

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

Sleep Well Every Night

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold