Gareth Moore - The Ordnance Survey Puzzle Book - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ordnance Survey Puzzle Book

Pit your wits against Britain’s greatest map makers

By Gareth Moore

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Over 200 fiendish puzzles to find out who will be the ultimate map-master!

Are YOU the ultimate map-reader?

Do you know your trig points from your National Trails? Can you calculate using contours? And can you fathom exactly how far the footpath is from the free house?

Track down hidden treasures, decipher geographical details and discover amazing facts as you work through this unique puzzle book based on 40 of the Ordnance Survey's best British maps. Explore the first ever OS map made in 1801, unearth the history of curious place names, encounter abandoned Medieval villages and search the site of the first tarmac road in the world.

With hundreds of puzzles ranging from easy to mind-boggling, this mix of navigational tests, word games, code-crackers, anagrams and mathematical conundrums will put your friends and family through their paces on the path to becoming the ultimate map-master!

Biographical Notes

Established in 1791, Ordnance Survey is the world's leading producer of maps. Their vast collection of geographic data has mapped the location of every fixed physical object in Great Britain, from the ground upwards, to within one metre accuracy. While their world-famous and much-loved paper maps remain important, OS produce digital map data, online route planning and sharing services and mobile apps, plus many other location-based products so you know exactly where you are.

www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409184676
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Trapeze
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

W&N

The Favourite

Ophelia Field
Authors:
Ophelia Field

'An incredible story crackling with royal passion, envy, ambition and betrayal ... Field's account of the psychological power play between Queen Anne and her confidante is surely definitive. A tour de force' Lucy WorsleySarah Churchill, Duchess of Marlborough (1660-1774), was as glamorous as she was controversial. Politically influential and independently powerful, she was an intimate, and then a blackmailer, of Queen Anne, accusing her of keeping lesbian favourites - including Sarah's own cousin Abigail Masham.Ophelia Field's masterly biography, published in a new and updated edition, brings Sarah Churchill's own voice, passionate and intelligent, back to life. Here is an unforgettable portrait of a woman who cared intensely about how we would remember her.

W&N

Black City

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Question Time

Mark Mason
Authors:
Mark Mason

Which major UK retailer has the same name as Odysseus's dog in Greek mythology?In the original version of the Band Aid hit 'Do They Know It's Christmas?', who sang the opening line?Which is the only US state whose name can be typed on a single row of a QWERTY keyboard?Travel writer and quiz fan Mark Mason decided to combine two of his greatest loves by setting off on a tour of Britain's quizzes. From a pub quiz in Edinburgh to a charity quiz in Hampshire, from a corporate quiz in Birmingham to a journalists' quiz in Parliament, he finds answers aplenty while asking some questions of his own. Just what is it that attracts us to these tests of our knowledge? What are the ingredients of the perfect quiz question? And which is the only English city whose official name begins with H?The only travel book ever to discuss Winston Churchill's use of language and reveal Donald Duck's middle name, QUESTION TIME is an affectionate tribute to Britain and one of its most cherished institutions - the quiz.'A must-have book for any quiz lover' THE TIMES

Orion Spring

Wicca

Harmony Nice
Authors:
Harmony Nice
Trapeze

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

Hank Green
Authors:
Hank Green
W&N

The Book of Seconds

Mark Mason
Authors:
Mark Mason

DID YOU KNOW that the second man to swim the Channel drank 20 drops of champagne every hour? Or that the second crew to land on the Moon danced to a pop song in zero gravity? Or that the second man to run a sub-4-minute mile once stopped to check on a fallen rival - but still managed to win the race?You probably didn't - because seconds never get the attention they deserve. This book reveals the people and things who until now have been kept in the shadow of the firsts. We'll glory in the achievements of the nearly-men and nearly-women, not to mention nearly-skyscrapers, nearly-LPs and nearly-deserts.Above all we'll see how so-called 'runners-up' can be exciting, intriguing and heroic. Step forward, seconds - your time in the spotlight has come at last.

W&N

Agent Jack: The True Story of MI5's Secret Nazi Hunter

Robert Hutton
Authors:
Robert Hutton
W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Diary 2019

Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Authors:
Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium

The 2019 Discworld Quiz Diary contains everything you needed to know - and a few things you didn't - about modern literature's favourite flat earth.One part diary, one part quiz on the arcane practices of the funniest creation in modern fantasy, 100% Discworld goodness. With their trademark mix of cultural ephemera, background detail and hilarious one-liners, the Discworld diaries are back. This year: trivia. Do you know where the Discworld gods live? Do you know the name of the last continent? Do you know the name of the Discworld's worst engineer? Do you know what's in CMOT Dibbler's sausages? Put your knowledge to the test, and all will be revealed. Well, except the last one; nobody knows that, not even Dibbler. These and other gems of knowledge await you within. Make every day a Discworld day, with the 2019 Discworld Quiz Diary.

W&N

The Map of Salt and Stars

Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Authors:
Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
W&N

Enigma

Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Authors:
Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

The Companion

Sarah Dunnakey
Authors:
Sarah Dunnakey

The Companion is a beautiful and powerfully-told story of buried secrets, set between the 1930s and the present day, on the wild Yorkshire moors.Billy Shaw lives in a palace. Potter's Pleasure Palace, the best entertainment venue in Yorkshire, complete with dancing and swing-boats and picnickers and a roller-skating rink. Jasper Harper lives in the big house above the valley, with his eccentric mother Edie and Uncle Charles, brother and sister authors who have come from London to write in the seclusion of the moors. When it is arranged for Billy to become Jasper's companion, Billy arrives to find a wild, peculiar boy in a curiously haphazard household where nothing that's meant is said and the air is thick with secrets. Later, when Charles and Edie are found dead, it is ruled a double suicide, but fictions have become tangled up in facts and it's left to Anna Sallis, almost a century later, to unravel the knots and piece together the truth.Read by Sherry Baines and Mike Rogers(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

W&N

Great British Journeys

Nicholas Crane
Authors:
Nicholas Crane
Orion

The Returning Tide

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

Two sisters and one betrayal that will carry across generations . . .In wartime Cornwall, 1943, a story between two sisters begins - the story of Adele and Amelia, and the heart-breaking betrayal that will divide them forever. Decades later, the efforts of one reckless act still echo - but how long will it be until their past returns? The Returning Tide will sweep you away to the beautiful Cornish coast, full of secrets and mystery, and will be loved by fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Orion

Runes, Orion Plain and Simple

Kim Farnell
Authors:
Kim Farnell

A practical guide on how to make your own set of runes and how to interpret them.Runes are alphabet letters or characters that have been used for thousands of years as a form of communication and divination. This book, written by an authority on divination systems, shows readers how to make their own set of runes and how to interpret them.Topics covered include:· A brief overview of runes, from Etruscan times to the present· A summary of the myths and lore that inform runic wisdom· Definitions of the basic rune symbols· Instructions on how to read the runes and rune spreads· An introduction to runic magicIn the past 25 years using runes as a divination tool has become increasingly popular. This accessible guide presents each letter of the runic alphabet in detail with its origins and magical uses and helps seekers tap into their energy. From making your own runes (and a bag to protect them) to reading the ancient alphabet, casting the runes and interpreting the spread, all the basics are laid out in a clear, easy-to-follow and superbly illustrated fashion which is perfect for beginners.

Trapeze

The Brexit Survival Activity Book

Wayne Kerr, Wayne Kerr
Contributors:
Wayne Kerr, Wayne Kerr

A parody survival guide to Brexit, the perfect stocking filler gift for the politically dissatisfied person in your life!AS FEATURED ON THE GUARDIANACTIVITIES INCLUDE: the Great Brexit sing-a-long, Find the Foreign Secretary and a Theresa May mindfulness exercise.Packed with a host of games, puzzles, activities and jokes, THE BREXIT SURVIVAL ACTIVITY BOOK will take your mind off the impending doom of not being allowed to compete in Eurovision. Remember - if you don't laugh, you'll only cry. So grab a pencil, and get puzzling!

W&N

Fighting Fit

Laura Dawes
Authors:
Laura Dawes
W&N

Connectography

Parag Khanna
Authors:
Parag Khanna

Which lines on the map matter most?It is time to reimagine how life is organized on Earth. We're accelerating into a future shaped less by countries than by connectivity. A world in which the most connected powers, and people, will win.In Connectography, Parag Khanna guides us through the emerging global network civilization in which mega-cities compete over connectivity and borders are increasingly irrelevant. He travels from Ukraine to Iran, Mongolia to North Korea, London to Dubai and the Arctic Circle to the South China Sea - all to show how twenty-first-century conflict is a tug-of-war over pipelines and internet cables, advanced technologies and market access.Yet Connectography offers a hopeful vision of the future. Khanna argues that new energy discoveries and innovations have eliminated the need for resource wars, global financial assets are being deployed to build productive infrastructure that can reduce inequality, and frail regions such as Africa and the Middle East are unscrambling their fraught colonial borders through ambitious new transportation corridors and power grids.Beneath the chaos of a world that appears to be falling apart is a new foundation of connectivity pulling it together.