Sam Sykes - Seven Blades in Black - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473218239
    • Publication date:02 May 2019
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473218253
    • Publication date:02 May 2019

Seven Blades in Black

By Sam Sykes
Read by Daisy May

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

For readers of Ed McDonald's BLACKWING, Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie, SEVEN BLADES OF BLACK is a fast-paced fantasy adventure from an author who has won high praise from Robin Hobb

Acclaimed author Sam Sykes returns with a brilliant new epic fantasy that introduces to an unforgettable outcast magician caught between two warring empires.

Set in the Scar, where the magical, decadent Imperium battles the upstart, technologically-savvy Revolution, SEVEN BLADES OF BLACK follows the exploits of Sal the Cacophony, the most famous and dangerous of all the rogue mages.

Among humans, none have power like mages. And among mages, none have will like Sal the Cacophony. Once revered, now vagrant, she walks a wasteland scarred by generations of magical warfare.

The Scar, a land torn between powerful empires, is where rogue mages go to disappear, disgraced soldiers go to die and Sal went with a blade, a gun and a list of names she intended to use both on.

But vengeance is a flame swift extinguished. Betrayed by those she trusted most, her magic torn from her and awaiting execution, Sal the Cacophony has one last tale to tell before they take her head.

All she has left is her name, her story and the weapon she used to carved both.

Vengeance is its own reward.

(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Biographical Notes

Samuel Sykes began writing his debut novel, Tome of the Undergates (the first book in his Aeon's Gate trilogy) when he was seventeen. Since then, he has also written Black Halo, The Skybound Sea and the Bring Down Heaven trilogy that begins with The City Stained Red.

He currently lives in the US, where he is working on his next novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409185512
  • Publication date: 02 May 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz