Cathy Bramley - Home to Appleby Farm - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Home to Appleby Farm

By Cathy Bramley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Feel-good, escapist, romantic stories for fans of Debbie Macomber and Kristan Higgins

Sometimes the life you want isn't the one you need...

Freya Moorcroft has wild red hair, mischievous green eyes, a warm smile and a heart of gold. She's been happy working at the café round the corner from Ivy Lane allotments and her romance with her new boyfriend is going well, she thinks, but a part of her still misses the beautiful rolling hills of her Cumbrian childhood home: Appleby Farm.

Then a phone call out of the blue and a desperate plea for help change everything...

The farm is in financial trouble, and it's taking its toll on the aunt and uncle who raised Freya. Heading home to lend a hand, Freya quickly learns that things are worse than she first thought. As she summons up all her creativity and determination to turn things around, Freya is surprised as her own dreams for the future begin to take shape.

Freya knows that love, not money, makes the world go round. But will saving Appleby Farm and following her heart come at a price?

*Published in the UK as Appleby Farm*

***

Readers are captivated by Cathy Bramley's heartwarming stories:


'Funny and sweet and as satisfying as a homemade apple pie'
Milly Johnson

'As comforting as hot tea and toast made on the Aga!'
Veronica Henry

'A delicious tale of friendship, family and baking... I loved its warmth and charm'
Cathy Woodman

'Delightfully warm with plenty twists and turns'
Trisha Ashley

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409186885
  • Publication date: 21 Mar 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

We'll Meet Again

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

Where Love Grows

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

Conditional Love

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

You never know what surprises might be just around the corner...A takeaway, TV and tea with two sugars is about as exciting as it gets for thirty-something Sophie Stone. Sophie's life is safe and predictable, which is just the way she likes it, thank you very much.But when a mysterious benefactor leaves her an inheritance, Sophie has to accept that change is afoot. There is one big catch: in order to inherit, Sophie must agree to meet the father she has never seen.Saying 'yes' means the chance to build her own dream home, but she'll also have to face the past and hear some uncomfortable truths...With interference from an evil boss, warring parents, an unreliable boyfriend and an architect who puts his foot in it every time he opens his mouth, will Sophie be able to build a future on her own terms - and maybe even find love along the way?***Readers are captivated by Cathy Bramley's heartwarming stories:'Funny and sweet and as satisfying as a homemade apple pie' Milly Johnson 'As comforting as hot tea and toast made on the Aga!' Veronica Henry 'A delicious tale of friendship, family and baking... I loved its warmth and charm' Cathy Woodman 'Delightfully warm with plenty twists and turns' Trisha Ashley

Orion

The Country House

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

The Cookery School

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Sometimes we all need some comfort food... When Verity's best friend and baking companion died, she took with her their shared passion for cooking. To top it off, it looks like her career and love life might soon follow suit.Instead of taking some time for herself, Verity leaps at the opportunity to help a friend find her feet and help establish a cooking school in the village. Her only demand is that she doesn't have to cook anything! It's a place to hide out until she's ready to put herself out there again...but starting a cookery school is far from easy, even new friendships and even the potential of fresh romance around the corner.So when tragedy strikes Verity once again feels like she is losing everything. Can Verity find the magic ingredient to save the cookery school?And more importantly, can Verity finally write her own recipe for happiness and put herself first?*Published in the UK as The Plumberry School of Comfort Food****Readers are captivated by Cathy Bramley's heartwarming stories:'Funny and sweet and as satisfying as a homemade apple pie'Milly Johnson'As comforting as hot tea and toast made on the Aga!'Veronica Henry'A delicious tale of friendship, family and baking... I loved its warmth and charm'Cathy Woodman'Delightfully warm with plenty twists and turns'Trisha Ashley

Orion

The Little Village Café

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

The Bakery on the Hill

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

A Seaside Escape

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

A Vintage Summer

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

White Lies and Secret Wishes

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

What happens when what you wish for is only half the story...?When three strangers meet at a funeral, their lives and wishes intersect. Death has a funny way of showing you what you really want out of life... or so they say, anyway.Jo wants to get her business back on track and conquer her fear of heights. Or at least that's what she'll say when asked. A little after thirty and flirty, she has things to prove and finding love can definitely wait...Sarah has everything she ever wanted, a gorgeous baby and the perfect job. She just needs to get that promotion and then all those missed bath times will be worth it. So she says, anyway. But she can't stop to think about it for too long or she might drop something...All Carrie wants is to look good in that all-important summer accessory, a bikini. So she has always said, anyway. But it's not the only weight she's carrying, as dark secrets from her past are threatening to surface...So the three unlikely new friends set themselves a deadline to get their lives in order; juggling men, babies and bikini bottoms along the way. There's nothing to stop them from achieving their dreams - except those little white lies we all tell...*Published in the UK as White Lies and Wishes****Readers are captivated by Cathy Bramley's heartwarming stories:'Funny and sweet and as satisfying as a homemade apple pie'Milly Johnson'As comforting as hot tea and toast made on the Aga!'Veronica Henry'A delicious tale of friendship, family and baking... I loved its warmth and charm'Cathy Woodman'Delightfully warm with plenty twists and turns'Trisha Ashley

A.C. Grayling

A.C. Grayling is Professor of Philosophy and Master of the New College of the Humanities, London. He believes that philosophy should take an active, useful role in society. He has written and edited many books, both scholarly and for a general readership, and has been a regular contributor to The Times, Financial Times, Observer, Independent on Sunday, Economist, Literary Review, New Statesman and Prospect, and is a frequent and popular contributor to radio and television programmes, including Newsnight, Today, In Our Time, Start the Week and CNN news. He is a former Fellow of the World Economic Forum at Davos, a Vice President of the British Humanist Association, an Honorary Associate of the National Secular Society, Patron of the UK Armed Forces Humanist association, Patron of Dignity in Dying, a former Booker Prize Judge, a Fellow of the Royal Literary Society, a member of the human rights group IHEU represented at the UN Human Rights Council in Geneva; and much more.

Alice Walker

Alice Walker won the Pulitzer prize and the American Book Award for THE COLOR PURPLE. She is the author of many bestselling novels, essays and collections of poetry including MERIDIAN, BY THE LIGHT OF MY FATHER'S SMILE and THE THIRD LIFE OF GRANGE COPELAND.Visit Alice Walker's official website at: alicewalkersgarden.com

Aliette de Bodard

Aliette de Bodard is one of the Writers of the Future, has won two Nebula Awards, a Locus Award and a BSFA Award. She has also been a finalist for the Hugo, Sturgeon, and Tiptree Awards, making her one of our most-lauded contemporary fiction writers. A writer by night, by day she is a qualified engineer, specialising in Applied Mathematics. She lives in Paris, in a flat with more computers than she really needs. You can learn more at www.aliettedebodard.com or by following @aliettedb on twitter.

Ann Widdecombe

For many years a forthright and high-profile MP, Ann Widdecombe is now as well-known for her star appearances on STRICTLY COME DANCING and CELEBRITY BIG BROTHER. A former Prisons Minister, she converted to Roman Catholicism in 1993. Countrywoman, columnist and bestselling author, she lives on Dartmoor. Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

Anna Freeman

Anna Freeman is an associate lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury. She lives in Bristol. Her first novel, THE FAIR FIGHT, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Antonia Honeywell

Antonia Honeywell studied English at Manchester University and worked at the Natural History and Victoria and Albert Museums in London, running creative writing workshops and education programmes for children, before training as a teacher. During her ten years teaching English, drama and film studies, she wrote a musical, and a play which was performed at the Edinburgh Festival. She has four young children and lives in Buckinghamshire. THE SHIP is her first novel.

Bear Grylls

Bear Grylls has become known around the world as one of the most recognised faces of survival and outdoor adventure. He spent three years as a soldier in the British Special Forces, serving with 21 SAS. It was here that he perfected many of the skills that his fans all over the world enjoy, watching him pit himself against Mother Nature. His TV show, MAN VS WILD/BORN SURVIVOR, became one of the most watched programmes on the planet with an estimated audience of 1.2 billion. He also hosts the hit adventure show RUNNING WILD on NBC in America, as well as THE ISLAND WITH BEAR GRYLLS for Channel 4 and MISSION SURVIVE WITH BEAR GRYLLS for ITV in the UK. He has authored a number of fiction and non-fiction books, including the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, GHOST FLIGHT, and the number one bestseller, MUD, SWEAT & TEARS.Find out more at www.beargrylls.com or follow him on Twitter @BearGrylls

Boris Akunin

BORIS AKUNIN is the pseudonym of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He has been compared to Gogol, Tolstoy and Arthur Conan Doyle, and his Erast Fandorin books have sold over forty million copies around the world. He lives in London.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more.

Bryan Appleyard

Born in 1951, Bryan Appleyard attended King's College, Cambridge. He was Financial News Editor and Deputy Arts Editor at THE TIMES from 1976 to 1984. He writes for numerous publications including VANITY FAIR, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR and THE SUNDAY TIMES, where he is a special feature writer, commentator, reviewer and columnist.