Michael Underwood - Lawful Pursuit - Orion Publishing Group

Lawful Pursuit

By Michael Underwood

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Underwood's novels are insidiously hard to put down' Independent

Six men have failed to appear in a West End court, so it's time for Scotland Yard to make a few undercover enquiries. They enlist the help of Detective-Constable Cordari, who leads them to a mysterious organisation smuggling criminals out of the country.

There ensues a relentless chase that moves to Algeria and back to London. In the meantime, Cordari has vanished in the same horribly mysterious way as others before him.

'A plot that grows to grim and sinister proportions. An ingenious story with plenty of excitement' Manchester Evening News

Biographical Notes

Michael Underwood (the pseudonym of John Michael Evelyn) was born in Worthing, Sussex and educated at Christ Church College, Oxford. He was called to the Bar in 1939 and served in the British army during World War Two. He returned to work in the Department of Public Prosecutions until his retirement in 1976, and wrote almost 50 crime novels informed by his career in the law. His five series characters include Sergeant Nick Atwell and lawyer Rosa Epton, of whom it was said by the Washington Post that she 'outdoes Perry Mason'.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471907722
  • Publication date: 14 May 2013
  • Page count: 150
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott

For better, for worse... marriage can be a dangerous game.'From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest.' - A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOWA page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.******Rebecca didn't know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn't stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge... they made a promise to each other, afterall. Til death do us part. ******With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair.

The Murder Room

Smooth Justice

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

In Bloomsbury Magistrate's Court, stipendiary magistrate Donald Ferney reigned supreme. Ferney sought to acquire the public image of the 'kindly magistrate' and his remarks, even his judgements, were sometimes aimed at the local reporters present in court.But among those who knew him better, Mr Ferney was not loved. He had, indeed, made many enemies in all departments of his life, in particular among the permanent staff who served at his court ...'Among Mr Underwood's best' P. D. James

The Murder Room

Victim of Circumstance

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

John Farndon, a teacher at a public school, is bored with his French wife Monique and infatuated with the assistant matron Belinda. He plans to kill Monique, but from the moment John is about to pull the trigger the action jumps to a trial. But the trial is not John's - and Monique is still alive. John has been shot in the back of the head ...'Neatly written, convincing' Financial Times

The Murder Room

A Clear Case of Suicide

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Laurence Deegan, QC, had just won his latest case. At fifty, already a distinguished and famous barrister, he seemed set to become a judge at an early age. A few hours later Deegan ran the bath installed in his Chambers, got into it and slit the veins in both wrists. Why had he done it? His son, a Special Branch police officer, takes it upon himself to find out ...'Underwood couldn't write a bad book if he tried' Oxford Mail

The Murder Room

Hand of Fate

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Frank Wimble never doubted his ability to do anything he wanted. When he set out to commit the perfect murder he was entirely confident. When his wife vanishes the locals all assume Wimble has done it, especially when he starts to go around with his young mistress. But with no body and no evidence the police can't do much. They can't do anything, in fact, until Wimble gets unlucky and a most damning piece of evidence suddenly appears. But is it enough to convict Wimble at trial?

The Murder Room

The Man Who Died on Friday

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood
The Murder Room

The Man Who Killed Too Soon

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Richard Monk was on holiday in Japan. He didn't expect to get involved in the theft of £50,000, blackmail and murder ...But that was what happened when the good-looking young man came up to him on a Japanese mountainside and said: 'I'm in deep trouble, Mr Monk. Will you help me?'

The Murder Room

Death by Misadventure

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

A police officer needs the quickness and guile of a bookmaker, the ingenuity of a psychiatrist and the physical reserves of a Marine, or so it seems to Detective Chief Superintendent Manton, who is called in to investigate a huge bullion robbery and its possible link with the death of a solicitor in a car crash. But even when a supposed double murderer is charged and tried there is still a taunting question mark over the case. Whose was the brain that planned the audacious gold robbery and does Manton know enough about the criminal mind to find out?

The Murder Room

The Juror

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Bernie Mostyn, vice racketeer, is being retried. At his first trial a jury had failed to agree - but this time around two jurors are threatened and a third is killed.The most obvious suspects are Mostyn's strong-arm men, still at large. But the police are not convinced ...'Mr Underwood at his attractive, unpretentious best' Sunday Times

The Murder Room

Menaces, Menaces

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

The first 'menaces' brought Herbert Sipson, professional blackmailer, to the dock, charged with having demanded £10,000 from a bingo company under threat of bombing their premises. The second is a demand for £100,000 from the Swallow Sugar Corporation under threat of introducing ground glass into some of its bags of sugar on the supermarket shelves. It, too, bears all the hallmarks of a Herbert Sipson scheme. But it arrives on the opening day of Herbert's trial and he has been locked up in prison. How can he be responsible?

The Murder Room

The Fatal Trip

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Stephen Burley was standing trial for the theft of £20,000 in cash from his employers, Rickard's Motors. Detective Sergeant Nick Atwell, the investigating officer in charge of the enquiries, had become uneasy about the case. Burley had fainted in the dock when he was convicted, and Nick interpreted this as another sign of his innocence. Nick appeals to his young wife, Clare, for help, and on various pretences Clare embarks on some very tricky enquiries of her own ...

The Murder Room

Murder with Malice

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Detective Sergeant Nick Atwell has been suspended, accused of soliciting a bribe from a murder suspect. His wife, and former cop, Clare sets out to prove his innocence, which involves delving in the family affairs of politician and TV personality Sir Guy Frensham.Frensham's seventeen-year-old son is guilty of bludgeoning widow Florence Isaacs. Nick had been the investigating officer in the case, and Clare will need more than a little help to unlock the mystery of the real criminal ...'An utterly professional blend of plot and characters' Kirkus

The Murder Room

Crooked Wood

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Clive Donig is on trial for the murder of Stanley Fulmer, a senior partner in a very shady firm of solicitors. The prosecution contend that he is a professional killer, hired by one of Fulmer's clients whom Fulmer has cheated. Detective Sergeant Nick Atwell is a key witness for the prosecution, as well as being the officer in charge of the case. And, behind the scenes Nick's clever young wife, Clare, is doing a bit of enquiring of her own ...

The Murder Room

A Crime Apart

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

A woman is murdered in a London suburb and the police investigation into her death is meticulously undertaken. Trying to solve the riddle is Detective Chief Inspector Chudd, newly appointed and still trying to find his feet in. When the truth finally emerges, the gallery of suspects includes the lady next door, a clock-winder, the ex-lodger, a Canadian heiress and two 'bovver boys'. This is as much a story about detection and detectives as it is about the brutal crime itself. 'As always, splendid' Oxford Mail

The Murder Room

The Silent Liars

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood
The Murder Room

Shem's Demise

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood
The Murder Room

Anything but the Truth

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood
The Murder Room

A Trout in the Milk

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood
The Murder Room

Reward for a Defector

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood

Agent or traitor? Killer or victim? Kurte Menke is a refugee from the East ... or is he? Once they had been friends - long ago in Berlin before the wall was built. Now, for fifteen years, their friendship has totalled a card at Christmas. But, a late-night phone call brings Charles Ashmore, a respectable London solicitor, and Kurte Menke, an East German defector, together again. Is it just chance that Kurt's reappearance coincides with the trial of an English spy - a trial that Charles is defending? And who sends the mysterious attackers to Charles's cottage? Is it the Germans, the British, or somebody else?

The Murder Room

The Unprofessional Spy

Michael Underwood
Authors:
Michael Underwood