Anthony Gilbert - Lift up the Lid - Orion Publishing Group

Lift up the Lid

By Anthony Gilbert

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

When murder hits the sleepy town of Hinton St Luke tongues start wagging. It's what you might call a cosy domestic murder: a beautiful young wife; a rich curmudgeonly old husband dying at just the right moment; a jealous nurse; a mysterious voice from the past and a set of anonymous letters.

But which one will lead directly to the killer's front door?

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471909856
  • Publication date: 14 Mar 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Orion

Thirteen

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh

THE SERIAL KILLER ISN'T ON TRIAL.HE'S ON THE JURY...****************'THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year.' Sarah Pinborough'Outstanding.' Lee Child'Smart and original. This is a belter of a book.' Clare Mackintosh****************'To your knowledge, is there anything that would preclude you from serving on this jury?'Murder wasn't the hard part. It was just the start of the game.Joshua Kane has been preparing for this moment his whole life. He's done it before. But this is the big one.This is the murder trial of the century. And Kane has killed to get the best seat in the house.But there's someone on his tail. Someone who suspects that the killer isn't the man on trial.Kane knows time is running out - he just needs to get to the conviction without being discovered.****************THIRTEEN REASONS WHY ... YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK:'An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year.' Sarah Pinborough'Outstanding - an intriguing premise, a tense, gripping build-up, and a spectacular climax. This guy is the real deal. Trust me.' Lee Child'Smart and original. This is a belter of a book.' Clare Mackintosh'Great hook. Great plot. Great book. Thirteen is a real page turner and one you won't want to put down.' Simon Kernick'A brilliant, twisty, ingeniously constructed puzzle of a book. Steve Cavanagh pulls off an enviable premise with panache.' Ruth Ware'I've been tracking Steve Cavanagh for a few years now and Thirteen is his best, a dead bang beast of a book that expertly combining his authority on the law with an absolutely great thrill ride. Books this ingenious don't come along very often.' Michael Connelly'Quite simply deserves to be HUGE. If you read a thriller as good this year, it's only because you've read this one twice.' Mark Billingham'Tore through this between dusk and dawn. Absolute 5-star cracker from Steve Cavanagh, who's gotta be among top legal thriller writers out there nowadays. A powerhouse of a book that's much more than its high-concept hook.' Craig Sisterson'Wow! This book is friggin' awesome! Utterly immersive.' Emma Kavanagh'Fantastically gripping? Guilty as charged!' Angela Clarke'An absolute cracker.' Susi Holliday'Guilty of thrills, twists, and expertly manipulating the reader.' Mason Cross'An absolute rollercoaster of a read. Thrilling.' Cass Green

W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Gollancz

The House of Binding Thorns

Aliette de Bodard
Authors:
Aliette de Bodard
The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'Few murders would go unhung,' said plump, cynical Arthur Crook, 'if people used their eyes more. It's the man selling violets in the gutter, the woman exercising her Pekinese, the chap reading the midday racing news in the Tube who actually have the chance to spot the murderer. They're the people he can't guard aginst.'Arthur Crook is a delightful nosey-parker, and here his blustering humour and bulldog tenacity face their toughest test yet.

The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

The bell of St Ethelburga's had stopped ringing. It had pealed out its customary call to the faithful, its gentle reproach to the sluggards; but somehow that morning it did not seem to ring as long as usual. For Death had been busy in the belfry, where a startled vicar made an appalling discovery.The murder in the church begins another mystery for the inimitable Crook and Parsons, who shine with their trademark ingenuity and impudence.

Orion

Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

'Unputdownable!' Sir Ranulph FiennesA murder. A mystery that will change everything.Will Jaeger's family are gone, and they're not coming back.But there's one thing he can fix. His best friend has been found dead, and he's going to catch the monsters that killed him.To do it, Jaeger assembles an expert team of ex-SAS soldiers. They must head deep into the Amazon rainforest. It seems his friend was on the trail of an old Nazi bomber.And someone definitely wants it kept secret. As things go wrong, and Jaeger closes the net on his friend's killer, he comes to realise one thing.Everything is connected. And, for one man, the War never ended . . .A modern, edge-of-your-seat thriller, shrouded in the shadows cast by Nazi Germany. Great for fans of Gregg Hurwitz, James Swallow, and I Am Pilgrim.What readers are saying about BEAR GRYLLS: GHOST FLIGHT:'A gripping thriller set in the darkest of days', Jonathan Ross'Men don't come much tougher than daredevil climber and adventurer, Bear Grylls', SUN'A great adventure, superbly written!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'If you want a page-turning, action packed adventure story with hints of WWII then look no further', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Will resonate with fans of classic spy thrillers', MAIL ON SUNDAY'I loved it from beginning to end, and I can't wait to read what happens next', Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Once I finished this one I went straight back & got the next in the Will Jaeger series!', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressMargaret Fielding, wife of an eminent QC, was tried for the murder of her first husband ten years ago and, innocent, was acquitted for lack of evidence. Now someone is threatening to produce evidence that could convict her. Fortunately, Margaret meets Arthur Crook, the detective lawyer to whom the innocent turn, never in vain. When her blackmailer is found murdered, just after she is seen, distraught, leaving the premises, it is to Crook that she tells her tale. But someone knows Crook by reputation, and is anxious that he does not take on Margaret's case.

The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Case Against Andrew Fane

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Andrew Fane is faced with five years in prison for fraud, and a penniless future. When he appeals for help from his uncle his pleas go unanswered, but on visiting him Fane is welcomed by a mysterious and heavily veiled woman.When he finds his uncle's body, murdered in horrible and grotesque circumstances, she suddenly disappears leaving Fane faced with the dilemma of telling the police or covering his tracks . . .'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Body on the Beam

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Eight years ago René Tessier was at the height of his fame. Now the once-celebrated film star frequents less reputable Parisian cafés. That is until young producer Julian Lane plans to star Tessier in his latest production with the promise of millions.Tessier is headed to London. But the washed-up old man spends less than 24 hours in a dingy Soho hotel before he is found dead. Was it suicide or murder? And who could have wanted Tessier dead?'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express