Anthony Gilbert - Die in the Dark - Orion Publishing Group

Die in the Dark

By Anthony Gilbert

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

Detective Arthur Crook is browsing the newspaper on the morning of 14 April 1947, when an advertisement jumps out at him.

'Rest and Refreshment: to a lady seeking the above and able to pay for it, is offered a unique opportunity for complete seclusion in a delightful country house'

Disastrously, Mrs Emily Watson has read the same ad, and soon Crook becomes embroiled in the disappearance of a rich widow preyed upon by her unscrupulous nephew. And, for once, the super sleuth almost comes a cropper . . .


'The ebullient Crook at his boisterous best' Country Life

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471909917
  • Publication date: 14 Apr 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

'A snowy Christmas in a country village. Fabulous!' Jill Mansell Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder. As featured in the Sunday Times, the first village mystery in a new series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Orion

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

The six drowned girls stared up at them from the photographs. All young. All attractive. All dead. 'It is a lot of dead girls. And it's a very small island.'* * * * * AN ATMOSPHERIC NEW CRIME SERIES SET IN THE CHANNEL ISLANDS Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer Dorey has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years.Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.* * * * *'Dark, haunting and full of twists' - Chris Whitaker, author of ALL THE WICKED GIRLS'A twisty thriller set in Guernsey and populated with great characters.' - Olivia Kiernan, author of TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE'A gripping thriller set in Guernsey. I loved it!' - Karen Hamilton, author of THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND'Darkly atmospheric, nail-bitingly tense, intrigue-packed - a real crime fiction must read!' Stephanie Marland, author of MY LITTLE EYE'Atmospheric and tense. Superb!' Isabel Ashdown, author of LITTLE SISTER

Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

David Gemmell was the UK's number one fantasy and historical novelist until his death in 2006. A regular Sunday Times bestseller, and international sensation, his legacy lives on through his novels, his influence on the genre, and through the David Gemmell Legend awards.Rhyming Rings is a never-before-seen Gemmell novel, discovered in his papers by his widow, Stella Gemmell. Merging autobiographical details of Gemmell's life as a journalist in South London with a serial killer and a tinge of the supernatural, this is perfect for fans of David's work, as well as readers of gritty crime novels. Set against the backdrop of a London simmering with poverty, change and racial tension, this taut thriller is a fitting legacy for the great writer.This book includes a brand new introduction from massive Gemmell fan Conn Iggulden, and an afterword by Gemmell's friend Stan Nicholls.An ambidextrous killer is murdering women, leaving virtually no evidence behind, and struggling journalist Jeremy Miller wishes he was covering the case. Instead, he's stuck with heart-warming local stories about paraplegic teenagers and elderly psychic ladies. So when his stories and the murder case start to converge no one is more surprised than Jeremy.Or, it turns out, more at risk.

Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Marjorie Hyde, a gifted but unsuccessful actress, is happily married. Like many members of her profession she is temperamental, and though not that beautiful has that Titian colouring that is supposed to make men mad. Her husband, Christopher, is insanely jealous, and after learning that she is frequently in the company of Philip Clare, a barrister and Parliamentary candidate, Christopher threatens to instigate divorce proceedings that would ruin his rival's career.The same night, he drinks his usual glass of after-dinner port and dies from hyosin poisoning. And in the unravelling of the mystery surrounding his death, nobody is free from suspicion.

The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
Orion

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is investigating the death of a senior lawyer during a robbery. But the case becomes more complex when a note is discovered, indicating that this may have been no random attack, and when local gangster Big Ger Cafferty receives an identical message, Clarke decides that the recently retired John Rebus may be able to help. He's the only man Cafferty will open up to, and together the two old adversaries might just stand a chance of saving Cafferty's skin.But a notorious family has arrived in Edinburgh, too, tailed by a team of undercover detectives. There's something they want, and they'll stop at nothing to get it. DI Malcolm Fox's job is to provide the undercover squad with local expertise, but he's soon drawn in too deep as the two cases look like colliding. And meantime, an anonymous killer stalks the night-time streets, focussed on revenge. It's a game of dog eat dog - in the city as in the wild.Even Dogs in the Wild brings back Ian Rankin's greatest characters in a story exploring the darkest corners of our instincts and desires.Read by James Macpherson

The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Eight years ago René Tessier was at the height of his fame. Now the once-celebrated film star frequents less reputable Parisian cafés. That is until young producer Julian Lane plans to star Tessier in his latest production with the promise of millions.Tessier is headed to London. But the washed-up old man spends less than 24 hours in a dingy Soho hotel before he is found dead. Was it suicide or murder? And who could have wanted Tessier dead?'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express