Anthony Gilbert - Lady Killer - Orion Publishing Group

Lady Killer

By Anthony Gilbert

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

Henry's vocation is being a husband. Like the famous English king with whom he shares his first name, Henry first woos, then weds, then kills his wives.

When he falls in love with orphan Sarah, Henry takes her to a lonely cottage and her initial happiness at being with him soon gives way to some uncomfortable suspicions. But will anyone reach the isolated spot before Henry deems her a little too inquisitive for her own good?

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471909962
  • Publication date: 14 Mar 2014
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. A blend of classic mystery, Orange is the New Black and Andy Weir's The Martian, One Way is a science-fiction thriller like no other. 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE 'S.J. Morden's Agatha-Christie-in-space thriller accelerates to warp speed and becomes an engrossing whodunnit' Financial Times * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'A claustrophobic, high-tension, survival-against-the-odds thriller. It paints a convincing picture of the lethal Martian envrionment as well as the growing terror of being incarcerated in a deadly prison with no way out' Guardian 'A tense and claustrophobic murder-mystery-on-Mars' James Swallow, Sunday Times bestselling author of NOMAD 'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping . . . the Red Planet was never bloodier' Financial Times

Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Gollancz

The Death House

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of 13 Minutes comes a heart-breaking, heart-stopping tale of love, life and death which will take your breath away.Toby is a boy who has forgotten how to live.Clara is a girl who was born to die.Toby's life was perfectly normal . . .Taken from his family, Toby now lives in the Death House. Isolated from the outside world the inhabitants of are watched for any signs of a mysterious illness . . .Clara was a girl who had everything. Adored by her friends and her family, her life was destined for greatness. Now, Clara is the newest resident of the Death House and she's determined not to allow her life to end there.This is Toby and Clara's story.Sarah Pinborough is the SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING author of BEHIND HER EYES.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinborough.com, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAMB READERS AWARD 2017***Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Truly Madly Guilty and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep - a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect.*************HOW WELL DO YOU REALLY KNOW YOUR NEIGHBOURS?In the English village of Heathcote the temperature - and the sense of unease - is rising. It started with small things - a perfume bottle being moved, a photograph left behind in someone's house. But now Anna is missing.As the search for Anna gathers pace, suspicions grow and secrets are revealed. Surely one of the villagers can't be responsible? But then can you ever really know what's going on behind closed doors...**********Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS - a quirky, darkly atmospheric novel:'Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very read' THE POOL'A dazzling debut...beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' DAILY MAIL

The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
Orion

Bellman & Black

Diane Setterfield
Authors:
Diane Setterfield

A haunting Victorian ghost story of love, loss and the mystery of death from the bestselling author of THE THIRTEENTH TALE.As a boy, William Bellman commits one small cruel act that appears to have unforeseen and terrible consequences. The killing of a rook with his catapult is soon forgotten amidst the riot of boyhood games. And by the time he is grown, with a wife and children of his own, he seems indeed, to be a man blessed by fortune. Until tragedy strikes, and the stranger in black comes, and William Bellman starts to wonder if all his happiness is about to be eclipsed. Desperate to save the one precious thing he has left, he enters into a bargain. A rather strange bargain, with an even stranger partner, to found a decidedly macabre business. And Bellman & Black is born.

W&N

The Coincidence Authority

John Ironmonger
Authors:
John Ironmonger

For fans of THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU, Mark Watson and Mark Haddon, here is a cleverly written mystery about fate, circumstance, destiny and coincidence from COSTA AWARD-shortlisted author, John Ironmonger. This quirky read is hard to put down and spans philosophy, conflict, relationships and romance.Thomas Post is an expert on coincidences. He's an authority. People come to see him, to ask him if he can explain strange events that have befallen them, and he can always explain these things away. We poor humans, he would say, have a tendency to make patterns out of random shapes, or to construct meaning from the random behaviour of the universe.But one day Thomas gets a visit from Azalea Lewis, and his world will never be the same again. For Azalea's coincidences seem to go off the scale. The lives of Thomas and Azalea become entwined, their destinies entangled. And now, with Azalea apparently dead in a foreign land, Thomas must reassemble the pieces of her life in search for the patterns that drove it. And that means he must try to unravel the coincidences that so afflicted her.

The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Eight years ago René Tessier was at the height of his fame. Now the once-celebrated film star frequents less reputable Parisian cafés. That is until young producer Julian Lane plans to star Tessier in his latest production with the promise of millions.Tessier is headed to London. But the washed-up old man spends less than 24 hours in a dingy Soho hotel before he is found dead. Was it suicide or murder? And who could have wanted Tessier dead?'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Clock in the Hatbox

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Ring for a Noose

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressIt is at a local watering hole, the Duck and Daisy, that lawyer-detective Arthur Crook happens upon a party of men and women calling themselves the Peace Brigadiers. Their mission is to aid refugees from Europe.But it isn't long before Crook suspects one of them is using the premises for criminal ends. And when murder strikes Crook becomes entangled in a treacherous plot . . .