Anthony Gilbert - Night Encounter - Orion Publishing Group

Night Encounter

By Anthony Gilbert

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The shades of night were falling fast when Arthur Crook drove the old Superb over the Lakeland Fells and into the valley, to stop at a mysterious house where, though a light burned in an upper window, no one answered the bell.

Here opens a double murder mystery in which Crook acts in the defence of a young prisoner on the run, whose guilt appears evident.

'The usual gusto, racy prose, good plotting and up-to-the-minute social observation' Sunday Times

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471910326
  • Publication date: 21 May 2014
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking' - Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID / SHE SAID, on TATTLETALEThe new psychological thriller from Sarah J Naughton, author of TATTLETALE, for fans of Clare Mackintosh's LET ME LIE, Cara Hunter's CLOSE TO HOME and Lara Marshall's FRIEND REQUEST*************'Intelligent. Gripping. Colourful. Great setting. Absorbing characters.' - Jane Corry, bestselling author of MY HUSBAND'S WIFE and BLOOD SISTERSIt was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star resort in paradise.White sands, a private villa and world-class cuisine.A chance for newlyweds Asha and Ollie Graveney to recover from a recent tragedy, and enjoy the holiday of their dreams.Except someone has other plans...And paradise has turned into a nightmare.If you like Clare Mackintosh, BA Paris, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this dark, twisty tale************* "From the moment Asha and Ollie set off on honeymoon the cracks begin to show, as Naughton skilfully weaves three timelines into a chilling drama... As the tension rose, I turned the pages faster and faster - until the denouement hit me like a juggernaut." - Alison Belsham, author of THE TATTOO THIEF"I am sleep deprived having stayed awake desperate to find out what happened to Asha & Ollie in Vietnam. I wasn't disappointed, this is a very well setup ending, everyone is under suspicion with lots of clever red herrings." - Amazon reviewer, 5 stars Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale: 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Marjorie Hyde, a gifted but unsuccessful actress, is happily married. Like many members of her profession she is temperamental, and though not that beautiful has that Titian colouring that is supposed to make men mad. Her husband, Christopher, is insanely jealous, and after learning that she is frequently in the company of Philip Clare, a barrister and Parliamentary candidate, Christopher threatens to instigate divorce proceedings that would ruin his rival's career.The same night, he drinks his usual glass of after-dinner port and dies from hyosin poisoning. And in the unravelling of the mystery surrounding his death, nobody is free from suspicion.

The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'Few murders would go unhung,' said plump, cynical Arthur Crook, 'if people used their eyes more. It's the man selling violets in the gutter, the woman exercising her Pekinese, the chap reading the midday racing news in the Tube who actually have the chance to spot the murderer. They're the people he can't guard aginst.'Arthur Crook is a delightful nosey-parker, and here his blustering humour and bulldog tenacity face their toughest test yet.

The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressLaura Verity is an elderly lady with not much money and no past - not someone things happen to. But suddenly her life is plunged into danger, and without lawyer-sleuth Arthur Crook's timely interference, she might have lost it altogether.One thing she will never lose, though, is her head: the police don't believe her - she proves them wrong. The wine might be poisoned - she'll keep it for Crook to test. Does that car belong to the murderer? She'll just get in and see where he takes her. Together, brave Miss Verity and Arthur Crook uncover the truth about a murder.

The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Alice Hunter's mother dies, after grimly clinging on for eighty-odd years, it is enough for genteel Alice just to be free. But she soon becomes lonely, having few points of contact with the people in the cheap boarding houses which are all she can afford. Then comes news of a legacy, and Alice's soul rises as she travels to the family's lawyers in Bath. Her new life is not what she expects, however, and she is lost in a fog of human misunderstanding, hatred and deceit. A nice cup of tea, stirred by detective Arthur Crook, is what she will need to put things right . . .

The Murder Room

Death Wears a Mask

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Tenant for the Tomb

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

On a quiet country station, Detective Arthur Crook, waiting for the train to London, witnessed a near-fatal accident. Despite the arm of her companion, Miss Imogen Garland slipped and almost fell under the train. No harm was done, and Arthur Crook might not have thought anything more about it had not a newspaper item a few weeks later caught his eye. Miss Garland had once again been involved in an accident, this time fatal. Only it was not Miss Garland who had died . . .'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Death at Four Corners

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Doctor Terence Ambrose visits Gervase Blount at Four Corners he notices the body of a man low down on a cliff near the house. His enquiries into the man's death point suspicion at several people, particularly his old friend from Balliol Gervase Blount himself. As he delves into the past a complicated web of intrigue is slowly exposed . . .

The Murder Room

The Case Against Andrew Fane

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Body on the Beam

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

When Florence Penny's body is found hanging from a beam in the bedsit she has been renting, it looks to Inspector Field like a case of suicide. Soon, though, he realises murder is the motive, and the discovery of a single pink bead among the disordered bedclothes leads him to prime suspect Charles Hobart.It's now up to Scott Egerton, Hobart's prospective brother-in-law, and an astute private inquiry agent named Gordon to establish Hobart's innocence . . .'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

An Old Lady Dies

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Eight years ago René Tessier was at the height of his fame. Now the once-celebrated film star frequents less reputable Parisian cafés. That is until young producer Julian Lane plans to star Tessier in his latest production with the promise of millions.Tessier is headed to London. But the washed-up old man spends less than 24 hours in a dingy Soho hotel before he is found dead. Was it suicide or murder? And who could have wanted Tessier dead?'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Clock in the Hatbox

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Ring for a Noose

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert