Douglas Adams - The Restaurant at the End of the Universe - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

By Douglas Adams

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The classic comic science fiction masterpiece with a new introduction by Mitch Benn.

If your planet has been destroyed to make way for a new hyperspace bypass, your best friend turns out to be from a small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse (and not Guilford, as you'd thought), and you find yourself in the company of a two-headed man who also happens to be the president of the galaxy, and a beautiful girl you utterly failed to connect with at a party in a city that no longer exists ... you probably shouldn't be surprised to find yourself having breakfast at Milliways, the Restaurant at the end of the Universe ...

Biographical Notes

Born in Cambridge, Douglas Adams is best known for the 1970s BBC Radio series (and later novel, TV series and feature film) THE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. He also developed the game Starship Titanic, the novel of which was written by Monty Python's Terry Jones, wrote the Dirk Gently series of books, and was a script writer on DOCTOR WHO. A committed environmentalist, Admas campaigned actively on behalf of endangered species and - with naturalist Mark Carwardine - he produced LAST CHANCE TO SEE, a radio series and book highlighting species on the brink of extinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473200661
  • Publication date: 28 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Gollancz
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt.And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: War Criminals

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

A 'Dirty Dozen' or 'Suicide Squad' for lovers of 'Aliens', THE BASTARD LEGION series is a down and dirty military SF set in a world of mercenary actions and covert operations.The Bastard Legion are back and in more trouble than ever!'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer, author of The Lazarus War'An exceptional talent' Peter F Hamilton

Gollancz

Thin Air

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan
W&N

Little Eve

Catriona Ward
Authors:
Catriona Ward

Eve and Dinah are everything to one another, never parted day or night. They are raised among the Children, a community of strays and orphans ruled by a mysterious figure they call Uncle. All they know is the grey Isle of Altnaharra which sits in the black sea off the wildest coast of Scotland. Eve loves the free, savage life of the Isle and longs to inherit Uncle's power. She is untroubled save by her dreams; of soft arms and a woman singing. Dinah longs for something other.But the world is at war and cannot be kept at bay. As the solitude of Altnaharra is broken, Eve's faith and sanity fracture. In a great storm, in the depths of winter, as the old year dies, the locals discover a devastating scene on the Isle.Eve and Dinah's accounts of that night contradict and intertwine. As past and present converge, only one woman can be telling the truth. Who is guilty, who innocent?

Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery

'Welcome to Our Life in a Day - a new game devised by Esme, for Tom,' she said, grinning. 'If you play it right, over the next couple of hours you'll revisit every significant moment from the ten years we've spent together. You'll experience every moment of us.'On their tenth anniversary, Esme and Tom play a game.Tom must pick twenty-four of the most significant moments from their time together - one for each hour in a day, from 12pm to 12am.The rules are simple, and this time Tom is determined to play by them.But no relationship is perfect.And every game must have a loser . . .

Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio
Gollancz

Summerland

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi
Gollancz

Ravencry

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald
Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher returns! A brand new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series of games!Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular hero in a stand-alone novel where Geralt fights, travels and loves again, Dandelion sings and flies from trouble to trouble, sorcerers are scheming ... and across the whole world clouds are gathering - the season of storms is coming...

Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

A murder mystery set on the frozen red wastes of Mars.Eight astronautsOne killerNo way home+++WE STAND AT THE DAWN OF A NEW ERAFrank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer. So when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the company that runs the prison - he takes it, even though it means swapping one life sentence for another.THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A BETTER TIME TO BE ALIVE He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is - and he'll have to learn to trust them if they're to succeed.THE FUTURE OF SPACE TRAVEL IS IN SAFE HANDSAs the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . .XENOSYSTEMS OPERATIONS: MAKING DREAMS A REALITYThere's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect.

Orion

Where the Missing Go

Emma Rowley
Authors:
Emma Rowley

'I absolutely loved this gripping thriller - one of my favourite books of this year' Goodreads reviewA gripping high-concept, twisty psychological thriller for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall, CLOSE TO HOME by Cara Hunter, and THE GUILTY WIFE by Elle Croft.*****************MY NAME IS KATE.I volunteer at a missing persons helpline - young people who have run away from home call me and I pass on messages to their loved ones, no questions asked.I don't get many phone calls, and those I do are usually short and vague, or pranks.But today a girl named Sophie called.I'm supposed to contact her parents to let them know their child is safe.The problem is, Sophie isn't safe.AND SOPHIE IS MY DAUGHTER.*****************If you like Clare Mackintosh, Katie Marsh, Kerry Fisher, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this psychological thriller with a massive twist you won't see coming.READERS LOVE WHERE THE MISSING GO:'A blinding thriller with a creepy edge.' Goodreads review'An amazingly gripping read, I found this book really hard to put down' Goodreads review'What a book!! My heart was pounding so often and so hard I was afraid of collapse' Goodreads review

Gollancz

The Lady of the Lake

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

After walking through a portal in the Tower of the Swallow, thus narrowly escaping death, the Witcher girl, Ciri, finds herself in a completely different world... a world of the Elves. She is trapped with no way out. Time does not seem to exist and there are no obvious borders or portals to cross back into her home world. But this is Ciri, the child of prophecy, and she will not be defeated. She knows she must escape to finally rejoin the Witcher, Geralt, and his companions - and also to try to conquer her worst nightmare. Leo Bonhart, the man who chased, wounded and tortured Ciri, is still on her trail. And the world is still at war.

Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Gollancz

Planetfall

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

From Emma Newman, the award-nominated author of Between Two Thorns, comes a novel of how one secret withheld to protect humanity's future might be its undoing...Renata Ghali believed in Lee Suh-Mi's vision of a world far beyond Earth, calling to humanity. A planet promising to reveal the truth about our place in the cosmos, untainted by overpopulation, pollution, and war. Ren believed in that vision enough to give up everything to follow Suh-Mi into the unknown.More than twenty-two years have passed since Ren and the rest of the faithful braved the starry abyss and established a colony at the base of an enigmatic alien structure where Suh-Mi has since resided, alone. All that time, Ren has worked hard as the colony's 3-D printer engineer, creating the tools necessary for human survival in an alien environment, and harboring a devastating secret.Ren continues to perpetuate the lie forming the foundation of the colony for the good of her fellow colonists, despite the personal cost. Then a stranger appears, far too young to have been part of the first planetfall, a man who bears a remarkable resemblance to Suh-Mi.The truth Ren has concealed since planetfall can no longer be hidden. And its revelation might tear the colony apart...

Gollancz

After Atlas

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Orion

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Heart of Fire

Michael J. Ward
Authors:
Michael J. Ward

Return to the world of Valeron in another astounding adventure. Deeper and more complex than THE LEGION OF SHADOW, the options available to your hero are exciting, carefully planned and beautifully written. The Heart of Fire is awakening, and only you can save the world ...You are a prophet, both gifted and cursed by your strange powers. Imprisoned in the infamous dungeon of the inquisition, you are tormented by visions of a nightmarish future. No-one has ever escaped. Doomed to live out your days in chains and darkness, a twist of fate provides you with a chance for freedom - to take on a new identity and start a new life. But no matter where you go, where you hide, you can never escape the haunting images of your own prophecy ...Is it possible to outwit destiny and change the future? You decide in this epic fantasy adventure - the highly anticipated follow-up to the bestselling gamebook THE LEGION OF SHADOW. Every decision you make will have an impact on the story - and, ultimately, your fate.