Joe Hill - You Will Hear the Locust Sing - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

You Will Hear the Locust Sing

By Joe Hill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A superb short story, taken from the collection TWENTIETH CENTURY GHOSTS, by an award-winning novelist.

YOU WILL HEAR THE LOCUST SING is a stunning story about a boy who wakes up one morning to find himself a human-sized insect, and about the troubles this causes.

Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Biographical Notes

Joe Hill is a recipient of the Ray Bradbury Fellowship and the winner of the A.E. Coppard Long Fiction Prize, William Crawford, World Fantasy, British Fantasy, Bram Stoker and International Horror Guild Awards. His short fiction has appeared in literary, mystery and horror collections and magazines in Britain and America.

For more information, visit www.joehillfiction.com, visit joehillsthrills.tumblr.com, or follow @Joe_Hill on twitter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473209626
  • Publication date: 25 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Strange Weather

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

Four short novels from the author of THE FIREMAN and HORNS, ranging from creepy horror to powerful explorations of our modern society.One autumnal day in Boulder, Colorado, the clouds open up in a downpour of nails, splinters of bright crystal that tear apart anyone who isn't safely under cover. 'Rain' explores this escalating apocalyptic event, as clouds of nails spread out across the country and the world. Amidst the chaos, a girl studying law enforcement takes it upon herself to resolve a series of almost trivial mysteries . . . apparently harmless puzzles that turn out to have lethal answers.In 'Loaded' a mall security guard heroically stops a mass shooting and becomes a hero to the modern gun movement. Under the hot glare of the spotlights, though, his story begins to unravel, taking his sanity with it... 'Snapshot, 1988' tells the story of an kid in Silicon Valley who finds himself threatened by The Phoenician, a tattooed thug who possesses a Polaroid that can steal memories...And in 'Aloft' a young man takes to the skies to experience parachuting for the first time . . . and winds up a castaway on an impossibly solid cloud, a Prospero's island of roiling vapour that seems animated by a mind of its own.

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt
Gollancz

The Fireman

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

The NUMBER ONE New York Times Bestselling novelNobody knew where the virus came from.FOX News said it had been set loose by ISIS, using spores that had been invented by the Russians in the 1980s.MSNBC said sources indicated it might've been created by engineers at Halliburton and stolen by culty Christian types fixated on the Book of Revelation.CNN reported both sides.While every TV station debated the cause, the world burnt.Pregnant school nurse, HARPER GRAYSON, had seen lots of people burn on TV, but the first person she saw burn for real was in the playground behind the school.With the epic scope of THE PASSAGE and the emotional impact of THE ROAD, this is one woman's story of survival at the end of the world.

W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

'The screams came again: by now they sounded quite blood-curdling to the girl alone in the small room - or was it that they were getting nearer?'From murders and ghostly visitors to devious plots and family feuds, Antonia Fraser's first collection of short stories is a feast of mingled delight and suspense.There are five Jemima Shore stories including the first ever Jemima Shore mystery in which the fifteen-year-old Jemima is confronted by blood-curdling screams and miraculous moving statues in the dead of night. Jemima is at her sparkling best as she solves the case of the Parr children in a remote corner of the Scottish Highlands and elegantly deals with a missing bride on a romantic Venetian honeymoon.

Gollancz

Voluntary Committal

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

A smart and spooky story about a boy who plays in his bassement, making tunnels out of cardboard boxes, and the unexpected results of his adventures. Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4R2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Gollancz

My Father's Mask

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Bobby Conroy Comes Back from the Dead

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

Bobby Conroy's made a lot of mistakes; the biggest, perhaps, was when he let Harriet Rutherford slip away from him. And now the two of them - and Harriet's young son - are all extras on the set of Dawn of the Dead, and Bobby has the chance to see what could have been . . .Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Gollancz

The Widow's Breakfast

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Last Breath

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

The Cape

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

In the Rundown

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

When a video clerk loses his job, he finds himself stumbling home past a shocking murder scene ...Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4R2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Gollancz

The Black Phone

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Better Than Home

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Abraham's Boys

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Pop Art

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

A beautiful story about Art; a living, breathing boy in all respects - who happens to be made of inflatable plastic. POP ART is an exceptional, must-read of a short story.Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Gollancz

20th Century Ghost

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

Alec Sheldon owns the Rosebud Theatre, an old-style movie palace, and worries about the future, and mortality - a fear made all the sharper by the knowledge that his beautiful old theatre is haunted ...Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prize-winning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the co-author, with Stephen King, of In the Tall Grass.

Gollancz

Best New Horror

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Vampire Most Wanted

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands
W&N

The Sven Hassel Collection

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

From the fight for survival against the ferocious Red Army and the icy, shell-ravaged wastes of the vicious Russian winter, to the bloodiest battles on the Eastern Front, Sven Hassel's gripping novels are based on his own experiences in the German army. Convicted of deserting the German army, Sven Hassel was sent to a punishment regiment on the Russian Front. He and his comrades were regarded as little more than dispensable killing-machines, cannon fodder for Hitler's war. His unflinching narrative takes us to the most extreme outposts of war, where soldiers face an inferno of blood and butchery. THE SVEN HASSEL COLLECTION includes all 14 books in Sven Hassel's series and exclusive extra material.