R. A. Lafferty - The Best of R. A. Lafferty - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473213456
    • Publication date:04 Apr 2019
Books in this series

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

By R. A. Lafferty

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Edited and collated by Jonathan Strahan, with a volume introduction by Neil Gaiman, THE BEST OF R.A. LAFFERTY is the authoritative collection of short fiction by R.A. Lafferty.

Acclaimed as one of the most original voices in modern literature, Raphael Aloysius Lafferty has been awarded and nominated for a multitude of accolades over the span of his career, including the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement.

This collection contains 22 unique tall tales, including:

Hugo Award-winning
'Eurema's Dam' - introduced by Robert Silverberg

Hugo Award-nominated
'Continued on the Next Rock' - introduced by Nancy Kress
'Sky' - introduced by Gwenda Bond

Nebula Award-nominated
'In Our Block' - introduced by Neil Gaiman

And more stories introduced by other modern masters of SF who acknowledge
R.A. Lafferty as a major influence and force in the field.

Biographical Notes

R. A. Lafferty (1914-2002)
Raphael Aloysius Lafferty was an American science fiction and fantasy writer born in Neola, Iowa. His first publication of genre interest was 'Day of the Glacier' with Science Fiction Stories in January 1960, although he continued to work in the electrical business until retiring to write full-time in 1970. Over the course of his writing career, Lafferty wrote thirty-two novels and more than two hundred short stories and he was known for his original use of language, metaphor and narrative structure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473213449
  • Publication date: 04 Apr 2019
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

Luna: Moon Rising

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

R. A. Lafferty: Three Great Novels

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

A whisperjewel from Gwen Delvano calls Dirk t'Larien across space and beyond the Tempter's Veil to Worlorn, a dying Festival planet of rock and ice. Warlorn is slowly drifting through twilight to neverending night; as the planet sinks into darkness, so its inhabitants face annihilation.Seven years ago, on Avalon, Gwen was Dirk's lover, his Guenevere; now she wears the jade-and-silver bond of Jaantony Riv Wolf high-Ironjade Vikary, a barbarian visionary, an outcast from his own people for his acts of violence. And Garse Janacek, Jaan's *teyn*, his shieldmate, is also bound to Gwen - in hatred. Dirk, a rogue and a wanderer, is called to be saviour of the three who are bonded together in love and hate.But in breaking their triangle, he could lose all ...

Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Gateway

The Flame Is Green

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Let us say that we have a green thing growing forever. Everything that is done is done by it. And on it we also have the red parasite crunching forever; and everything that is undone by that. It is required of each man that he rule over himself in justice, and that he rule over the world in justice. This has gone on forever, though it is hard to trace through garbled history. And it must still is hard to trace through garbled history. And it must still go on forever. For all your own life and for the life of all your children, you will carry on the green battle.

Gateway

Half a Sky

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

A constellation of persons or events will have precedent. It will not appear out of nothing; it's a converging of previous trails and persons. Before one set of adventures, there was always another set; and before those, still another set, back to the beginning of the world.We pass from one set to another now, from the Green-Flame adventure to the Half-Sky adventure. We are still in the middle of the nineteenth century, that most unreal of centuries, looking for reality under stodgy and ridiculous surface.

Gateway

The Fall of Rome

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

The fall of the Roman Empire was the denouement of a long and dramatic confrontation between powerful ideological forces and legendary men. R. A. Lafferty captures the true meaning of both, and examines the people, places, ideas and feelings that led to this epic struggle.Rome's demise was not a simple case of fierce barbarians sacking and subduing a decadent, crumbling city. The author has skillfully balanced the turmoil and illusions of a mighty, dying Empire against the vitality of the aggressive Huns, Vandals, and above all, the Goths. The result is one of the most perceptive and stimulating historical accounts ever written.This is history told and read for sheer pleasure: exciting, splendid and complex. The Fall of Rome is a story of the men and women who made things happen, who were as awesome, poignant, and in some cases, as savage as the era itself.

Gateway

Aurelia

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Aurelia was a fifteen-year-old girl from a very advanced world. She'd passed Starship building easily enough, but she'd slept through most of celestial navigation. That was how she ended up on a little back-water dump like Earth, where her advanced powers seemed like miracles. Some thought she was the Messiah. Some thought she was the Devil. No one was prepared for the truth.

Gateway

Lafferty in Orbit

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

The stories contained in this volume demonstrate the unique and unpredictable imagination, style and vision that earned R.A. Lafferty the 1990 World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Gateway

Arrive at Easterwine

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

'This, I believe, is the first autobiography of a machine,' writes Epikt, a Ktistec machine. In the resulting mindbending, at times hilarious, work of the imagination, the careful and attentive reader realizes that Epikt is not only presiding at its own birth at the Institute for Impure Science, but it is also addressing itself to the interpretation of mankind's most profoundly puzzling problems.

Gateway

Not To Mention Camels

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Three memorable creatures world jump in a meta-cosmic universe that orbits with nightmarish landscapes that thrive on anti-matter, anti-space, and anti-time. What mind and body searing challenges await the Pilger, Pilgrim, and Polder, who are really one man?

Gateway

Space Chantey

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

Annals of Klepsis

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

Serpent’s Egg

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

It was the End of Summer of the year 2035. The Global Village that was the World was ruled by a Kangaroo Court of Compassionate Aldermen who ordered assassinations when it was deemed to be for the common good. As a sign of their openness, they were always experimenting to find new ways of looking at the World. Most of these experiments would would fail; some of them would succeed to an extent; and others would succeed only too well, and so would have to be crushed in the shell for the good of the World.The Lynn-Randal Experiment raised three children together almost from infancy. Of these three, Lord Randal was human (though somewhat enhanced and tampered with). Axel belonged to the gargoyle-faced 'Golden People' ('God believes they are the most beautiful creatures he ever made,' a theologian said, 'and there will be hell to pay when he founds out that we don't agree.'). And the third child was Inneal who often elicited the comment 'she's really something different, isn't she!' Yes, she was. All of these were super-mega-persons, which meant that they might be able to change the world itself. But why did they begin to change the Ocean first?When these three were just short of ten years old, they were merged with children of three other experiments, and formed with them a Magic Dozen. Immediately they began to have an astonishing effect on the World. And the fave of the children themselves hung in the balance.Was the experiment too successful? Was their effect on the World too dangerous? Would their group be, as other groups had been, adjudged to be a 'Serpent's Egg' that had to be crushed in the shell for the good of the world?The Three Days of Summerset, the End of Summer, would give the answer.

Gateway

East of Laughter

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

Sindbad, The Thirteenth Voyage

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

As Harun lay dying here on Kentauron Mikron, all untimely, still in his golden youth, he whispered a word to me that he would use if he were born again. It is the meaningless but neurologically magic word 'Baghdad'. It has since become the name of one of those mirage cities, one of those cloud cities, that travellers sometimes report seeing. I have learned today that its meaning in Old Kentauron is "The Last City Built By Magic".

Gateway

Does Anyone Else Have Something Further to Add?

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

Apocalypses

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Two novellas by an author who has earned a reputation for original and imaginative writing, with a spark-bladed humour that is unlike anything ever written.Contents:Where have You been Sandaliotis?The Three Armageddons of Enniscorthy Sweeney

Gateway

Nine Hundred Grandmothers

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Lafferty's Nine Hundred Grandmothers collects the following stories:Nine Hundred GrandmothersLand of the Great HorsesGinny Wrapped in the SunThe Six Fingers of TimeFrog on the MountainAll the PeoplePrimary Education of the CamiroiSlow Tuesday NightSnufflesThus We Frustrate CharlemagneName of the SnakeNarrow ValleyPolity and Custom of the CamiroiIn Our BlockHog-Belly HoneySeven Day TerrorThe Hole on the CornerWhat's the Name of that TownThrough Other EyesOne at a TimeGuesting Time