Charles G. Finney - The Circus of Dr Lao - Orion Publishing Group

The Circus of Dr Lao

By Charles G. Finney

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A dazzling and macabre masterpiece of dark fantasy in the tradition of Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked This Way Comes.

To the residents of Abalone, Arizona, a sleepy southwestern town whose chief concern is surviving the Great Depression, the arrival of a circus in town is a chance to forget their woes for a while. But this is the circus of Dr. Lao and instead of relief, the townsfolk are confronted with an array creature seemingly straight out of mythology: a chimera, a Medusa, a sphinx, a sea serpent and, of course, the elusive, ever-changing Dr. Lao. As the circus unfolds, it spins events towards a climactic final act that will change the lives of Abalone's residents for ever.

Biographical Notes

Charles G. Finney (1905 - 1984)
Charles Grandison Finney was an American news editor and fantasy novelist. His first novel and most famous work, The Circus of Dr. Lao, won one of the inaugural National Book Awards in 1935, and was filmed by George pal as The 7 Faces of Dr Lao.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473213678
  • Publication date: 07 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

The Testament of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

Orion

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

Devoted father or merciless killer?His secrets are buried with him.Florence Lovelady's career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried...ALIVE.Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he's dead, and events from the past startto repeat themselves. Did she get it wrong all those years ago? Or is there something much darker at play?

Trapeze

Alive

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

For fans of Val McDermid, Elly Griffiths and Peter May, prepare to delve into the dark world of The Craftsman with Alive, the ghostly short story thriller by Sunday Times bestseller Sharon Bolton.A dark moon is rising. A perfect black circle, barely visible in the night sky, the dark moon casts its void over the wind-scorched moor, over the soaring mass of a great limestone hill, and over the town that cowers in its shadow. The dark moon is the absence of moon before the slender silver crescent of the new moon appears again and people can breath a little easier.The month is March and the night is clear and cold, black as pitch. The full moon in March is known as the Worm Moon, welcome despite its ominous name, marking as it does the end of winter and the emergence of earthworms from the thawing ground. Dark moons have never been named, although they are sometimes called the dead moons. The dark moons reign over nights when people stoke up their fires, draw their curtains tighter and try to think happy thoughts. In the town of Sabden at the foot of Pendle Hill in Lancashire they usually fail.In Sabden's soot-blackened terraced houses, the sleepers' dreams darken when the moon leaves the sky. Infants wake up cold, mothers tremble with elusive fears for their children and old folks slip a little closer to death. Only the Craftsman welcomes the dark moon. Alone in the town, he is awake, and ready to start work.Alive is a nail-biting, heart-racing, page-turning thriller that will have you up all night and includes an extract of Sharon's upcoming novel The Craftsman. Alive is the perfect appetiser to wet your appetite for Sharon's crime-fiction reads - a gripping tale that will leave you terrified to turn the lights off!

Gateway

Dreams Must Explain Themselves

Ursula K. LeGuin
Authors:
Ursula K. LeGuin
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Imaginarium

Paul Kidby
Authors:
Paul Kidby
Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

Queen of the Dark Things

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

Compared by many to Neil Gaiman but also praised for establishing his own unique, powerful yet warm voice, C. Robert Cargill has now moved his brilliant contemporary fantasy into a new world, a new mythology.Two boys, spirited away into a dark world of myth and folklore that has lived, grown and changed alongside our world, have grown into men and now make their way. But faerie has not forgotten them, it never could, they wield too much power, too much hinges on them, so it reaches out again.And a trip to Australia becomes a terrifying adventure amongst new gods, new spirits, new embodiments of an ancient land and power.

Gollancz

Shield of Winter

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Assassin. Soldier. Arrow. That is who Vasic is, who he will always be. His soul drenched in blood, his conscience heavy with the weight of all he's done, he exists in the shadows, far from the hope his people can almost touch - if only they do not first drown in the murderous insanity of a lethal contagion. To stop the wave of death, Vasic must complete the simplest and most difficult mission of his life. For if the Psy race is to survive, the empaths must wake ...Having rebuilt her life after medical 'treatment' that violated her mind and sought to stifle her abilities, Ivy should have run from the black-clad Arrow with eyes of winter frost. But Ivy Jane has never done what she should. Now, she'll fight for her people, and for this Arrow who stands as her living shield, yet believes he is beyond redemption. But as the world turns to screaming crimson, even Ivy's fierce will may not be enough to save Vasic from the cold darkness ...

Orion

The Twelve

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

The eagerly anticipated sequel to the global bestseller The Passage, soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.THE TWELVEDeath-row prisoners with nightmare pasts and no future.THE TWELVEUntil they were selected for a secret experiment.THE TWELVETo create something more than human.THE TWELVENow they are the future and humanity's worst nightmare has begun.THE TWELVEThe epic sequel toTHE PASSAGE

Gollancz

Archangel's Storm

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Rich, dark, sumptuous and evocative ... bestselling author Nalini Singh is back with a stunning new tale in her deadly, beautiful world where angels rule and vampires serve.With wings of midnight and an affinity for shadows, Jason courts darkness. But now, with the Archangel Neha's consort lying murdered and her rage threatening cataclysmic devastation, Jason steps into the light, knowing he must unearth the murderer before it is too late.Earning Neha's trust comes at a price - Jason must tie himself to her bloodline through the Princess Mahiya, a woman with secrets so dangerous, she trusts no one. Least of all an enemy spymaster.With only their relentless hunt for a violent, intelligent killer to unite them, Jason and Mahiya embark on a quest that leads to a centuries-old nightmare ... and to the dark storm of an unexpected passion that threatens to drench them both in blood.

Gollancz

Branded by Fire

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Though DarkRiver sentinel Mercy is feeling the pressure to mate, she savagely resists when Riley Kincaid, a lieutenant from the SnowDancer pack, tries to possess her. The problem is not simply that he pushes her buttons; the problem is that he's a wolf, she's a cat, and they're both used to being on top.But when a brilliant changeling researcher is kidnapped from DarkRiver territory, Mercy and Riley must work together to track the young man - before his shadowy captors decide he's no longer useful. Along the way, the two dominants may find that submitting to one another uncovers not just a deadly conspiracy, but a passion so raw that it'll leave them both branded by fire ...

Gollancz

Darker Than You Think

Jack Williamson
Authors:
Jack Williamson

Josh Kirby

.

Linda Carey

Linda Carey, writing as A.J. Lake, authored the Darkest Age fantasy trilogy. She has also written for TV, most notably for the German animation series Meadowlands, on which she shared the duties of lead writer. With her husband, Mike, and daughter, Louise, she is the author of The City of Silk and Steel and The House of War and Witness.

Louise Carey

Louise Carey's previous writing includes the Diary of a London Schoolgirl for the website of the London Metropolitan Archives and the graphic novel Confessions of a Blabbermouth, co-written with Mike. She is a member of the Chickenshed theatre company and has acted in many of their productions, including Alice in Wonderland and Grimm Nights. With her father, Mike, and mother, Linda, she is the author of The City of Silk and Steel and The House of War and Witness.

Lynsay Sands

Lynsay Sands was born in Canada and is an award-winning author of more than 30 books, which have made the Barnes & Noble and NEW YORK TIMES bestseller lists. She is best known for her Argeneau series, about a modern-day family of vampires.

M.D. Lachlan

M.D. Lachlan is the author of the Wolfsangel series (Wolfsangel, Fenrir and Lord of Slaughter).Born in Coventry and a graduate of the University of Sussex, M.D. Lachlan has also worked as a journalist.All three books have been nominated for the David Gemmell Legend Awards.

Mark Alder

Mark Alder is the pseudonym for fantasy author M.D. Lachlan. A journalist who has written for several national papers, he lives in Brighton with his family.

Michael J. Ward

Michael Ward has been writing and gaming for as long as he can remember. For him, DestinyQuest is a fusion of those two passions. For now, there has to be a day job - and his is working freelance, writing education materials for teachers and children. Prior to going freelance, he was the Senior Editor of CHILD EDUCATION magazine.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is the winner of 3 Hugos, 2 Nebulas, 1 World Fantasy Award, 4 Bram Stoker Awards, 6 Locus Awards, 2 British SF Awards, 1 British Fantasy Award, 3 Geffens, 1 International Horror Guild Award and 1 Mythopoeic. He's also a pretty nifty author of all kinds of cool stuff . . .