Lawrence Watt-Evans - The Sword of Bheleu - Orion Publishing Group

The Sword of Bheleu

By Lawrence Watt-Evans

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

The sword that Garth had stolen from Dusarra marked him as the chosen of Bheleu, god of destruction, and gave him immense power. This power could only be used to destroy, and Garth wanted to build. He chose to refuse the god's gift. Bheleu did not intend to allow that.

Biographical Notes

Lawrence Watt-Evans (1954- )
Lawrence Watt-Evans is the working name of American science fiction and fantasy writer Lawrence Watt Evans. He was born in Arlington, Massachusetts, as the fourth of six children and studied at Bedford High School and Princeton University, although he left the latter without a degree. Watt-Evans began publishing sf in 1975 with "Paranoid Fantasy #1" for American Athiest. He has constructed several scripts for Marvel Comics and has been moderately prolific as a short story writer, with "Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers" (Asimov's, July 1987) won a 1988 Hugo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214217
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

Gateway

The Vondish Ambassador

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Unwelcome Warlock

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

The Calling. Sooner or later, it claimed every powerful warlock ... a growing magical compulsion to go north to the mysterious land of Aldagmor that nothing could stop. None ever returned.Hanner the Warlock knew his days were numbered. The Calling pulled at him ceaselessly now, and his ability to resist had begun to crumble. So he determined to find a place where the Calling couldn't reach him . . . another world, located through a magic tapestry. Every warlock knew that the farther he was from Aldagmor, the weaker the Calling was - and the weaker his magic was, as well, but that was only a secondary consideration. That weakening had given Hanner the idea to find, or make, a place so distant from Aldagmor that the Call couldn't reach it at all.Unfortunately, the Call took him anyway. And that's where his story really gets interesting. Because the Calling wasn't what everyone believed. And when the warlocks who had been Called over the decades suddenly woke up again beside the object doing the calling - and found themselves without their powers - their world may never be the same!

Gateway

The Sorcerer's Widow

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

Tales of Ethshar

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

Ethshar, or "the World" as its inhabitants call it, is the setting for almost a dozen novels by Lawrence Watt-Evans. The dominant nation on the World is the Hegemony of the Three Ethshars, while the largest, richest city, where most of the stories are set, is Ethshar of the Spices. The name itself comes from words meaning "safe harbor." You don't need to have read any of the novels to enjoy the stories herein; each one should stand alone. And if you've read the novels, you will enjoy this return to the world of Ethshar with 11 stories...

Gateway

The Lure of the Basilisk

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

With a Single Spell

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Unwilling Warlord

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

A STAR RISES IN THE SOUTHWhen the foreigners confronted Sterren in Ethshar of the Spices he was uneasy; when they all but abducted him, taking him to an obscure kingdom in the south, he knew he was in a terrible predicament.A predicament some might actually find appealing - he was by heredity the Ninth Warlord of Semma, least of the small kingdoms; he was a noble, and his rank afforded him material privileges, even in a place as insignificant and obscure as Semma.But the office also carried certain terrible responsibilities: he was to win the war the stupid King had stirred up by his arrogance. Two larger and stronger Kingdoms were preparing to invade Semma.And if the country lost, the first thing likely to be forfeit was the life of the Warlord.And if it won . . . if it won, the fate and shape of Ethshar would change forever.For deep in the south there are secrets of magic not even Sterren can imagine.A LEGEND OF ETHSHAR

Gateway

The Spell of the Black Dagger

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

Ithanalin's Restoration

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Spriggan Mirror

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

Every wizard in Ethshar knew that if you needed something special, something difficult to find, that Gresh the Supplier was the man to see. He was expensive, but always delivered. So when the Wizards' Guild finally got fed up with the little green nuisances that called themselves "spriggans," the Guild hired Gresh to fetch them the magic mirror that created the troublesome imps. The wizards thought finding it looked impossible. Gresh thought his methods would do the job. But no one had asked the spriggans what they thought!

Gateway

Relics of War

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

Young Ishta found it in the forest, buried beneath dead leaves: a rounded, flattened stone as black as onyx. One side held a golden oval that glowed with a unnatural light. Of course, it had to be magic.But what did farmers know of magic? It could be dangerous, or it could be some harmless toy. They had to find out.Since Ishta was too young to bring her discovery to the Baron of Varag's stronghold, her older brother, Garander, went instead. Once there, Azlia, a beautiful wizard, recognized the stone immediately as Northern sorcery. She had to call Sammel, the local sorcerer, to find out its nature . . . a relic of the last great war.When the Baron takes the stone for himself, that should have ended things. But it was just the beginning for Garander. Because that magical stone wasn't the only relic left in the woods...

Gateway

The Seven Altars of Dusarra

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Book of Silence

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

Out of this World

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

In the Empire of Shadow

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Reign of the Brown Magician

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

The Cyborg and the Sorcerers

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gateway

Mind Candy

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

Over the years, in a variety of venues, Lawrence Watt-Evans has turned his sharp, analytical, and slightly crazed mind to everything from weaponized poetry to why the Enterprise doesn't have seatbelts, and everyone from Jane Austen to Buffy Summers. Collected for the first time are twenty-three of these essays, discussing icons of comic books, television, novels, movies, and much more!

Gateway

Split Heirs

Lawrence Watt-Evans, Esther Friesner
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans, Esther Friesner

After the Gorgorian barbarians conquer the civilized kingdom of Hydrangea, their leader Gudge makes himself king, marries Hydrangean Princess Artemisia and settles down to a highly satisfactory life of drinking and debauchery. Royal triplets, separated at birth because of a Gorgorian superstition that multiple births suggest the mother's infidelity, receive very different upbringings. The only girl, Avena, is brought up in the palace as Prince Arbol, heir to the throne and a fearsome swordsman. One brother, Wulfrith, is raised by a shepherd; although a young ewe is his favorite companion, his size makes him a fearsome battler. The other brother, Dunwin, reared by the outlawed wizard Clootie, develops into a talented magician.War and wizardry, dark deeds and derring-do, matters of state and matters of the heart, and a dragon who thinks she's a sheep. . . . This modern fantasy is the ultimate saga of flashing swords, high magic, and hopeless dynamic confusion - an event fans of the genre will not want to miss.