Margaret St Clair - The Dolphins of Altair - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Dolphins of Altair

By Margaret St Clair

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

Before the dawn of man . . .

. . . there was a covenant between the land and the sea people - a covenant long forgotten by those who stayed on shore, but indelibly etched in the minds of others - the dolphins of Altair.

Now the covenant had been broken. Dolphins were being wantonly sacrificed in the name of scientific research, their waters increasingly polluted, their number dangerously diminished. They had to find allies and strike back. Allies willing to sever their own earthly bonds for the sake of their sea brothers - willing, if necessary, to execute the destruction of the whole human race . . .

Biographical Notes

Margaret St Clair (1911-1995)
Margaret St Clair was an American science fiction writer who wrote mostly under her own name, but published a number of titles under the pseudonyms Idris Seabright and Wilton Hazzard. Born in Hutchinson, Kansas, St Clair had no siblings and recalled her childhood as 'rather a lonely and bookish one'. She graduated from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1932 and in 1934 she earned a Master of Arts in Greek Classics. Her sf career began with 'Rocket to Limbo' for Fantastic Adventures in November 1946 and by 1950 she had published about 30 more stories. From the outset of her career, St. Clair was aware of her unusual role as a woman writing in a male-dominated field. An article she wrote for Writer's Digest in 1947, about selling stories to the science fiction market, begins: 'Why is science fiction fun to write? At first blush, it doesn't seem attractive, particularly for a woman.' A lifelong supporter of the American Friends Service Committee, she spent her final years at Friends House in Santa Rosa, California. She died in 1995.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214569
  • Publication date: 30 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

The Games of Neith

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Sign of the Labrys

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Message from the Eocene

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Agent of the Unknown

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Don Haig had been content to lie around and drink in the synthetic beauty of the pleasure planetoid Fyon, until a woman came into his life. A woman more beautiful and more perfect than any other female in the galaxy. A woman who brought about a curious change in Don.For she was a pocket-sized foll - a very strange and miraculous puppet who shed constant tears and held powers that Don never even dreamed of.But what Don did know was that dangerous alien forces were swiftly focusing on him and his living puppet - and that he had to discover the doll's super-scientific secret before his own life was smashed into atoms.

Gateway

The Green Queen

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

The Shadow People

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

The Dancers of Noyo

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Like so many others before him, reluctant Sam MacGregor was sent on a pilgrimage for the Grail Vision by the Dancers: androids grown from the cells of one man, with the powers of hypnotism and illusion - androids who held the tribes of the Republic of California in thrall. But soon Sam began to doubt his own identity, for he experienced, in close succession, extra-lives in different corridors of time and space.And he count not know whom his search would destroy: the Dancers . . . or himself.

Gateway

Three Worlds of Futurity

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

On Venus: An ancient and powerful Venusian race finds its ultimate evolution - but can they accept it?On Mars: The people of the Fourth Planet are eminently reasonable in all things - except for the cult of the Sacred Martian Pig, for which 'fanatic' would be entirely too reasonable a word.And on Earth: On the unknown world of one or ten centuries from now, the strangest stories of all become haunting, fascinating reality, as we find out that human beings are, after all, the most alien of creatures . . .

Gateway

Change the Sky and Other Stories

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Change the Sky is a collection in which you will find:- A man who has spent his life searching for the world of his dreams and got exactly what he wanted- A women who found the people around her so boring she changed them- A righteous minister who preached an old-fashioned Christmas and started an energy crisis - 2000 years in the future

Gateway

The Best of Margaret St Clair

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Margaret St Clair is best known for her shorter science fiction and fantasy, much of the latter written under the pen name of Idris Seabright. She has a remarkably ironic sense of humor, and many of her stories have social or philosophical themes. Contents:Idris' Pig (1964)The Gardener (1949)Child of Void (1949)Hathor's Pets (1950)The Pillows (1950)The Listening Child (1950)Brightness Falls from the Air (1951)The Man Who Sold Rope to the Gnoles (1951)The Causes (1952)An Egg a Month from All Over (1952)Prott (1953)New Ritual (1953)Brenda (1954)Short in the Chest (1954)Horrer Howce (1956)The Wines of Earth (1957)The Invested Libido (1958)The Nuse Man (1960)An Old-Fashioned Bird Christmas (1961)Wryneck, Draw Me (1980)

Gollancz

Luna

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

Rig

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Orion

The City of Mirrors

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin
Gollancz

Into Everywhere

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Radiant State

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

With his loving evocation of a dark and fantastical realm that owes much to the myth and history of 20th-century Russia, and his rare ability to combine poetic writing and kinetic plotting, Peter Higgins has created one of the most original and critically lauded works of recent years. Adored by critics and authors such as Hannu Rajaniemi, Ian McDonald and Richard Morgan the Wolfhound Century novels now reach their extraordinary conclusion.In RADIANT STATE we discover both the glory and the true horror of Joseph Kantor's plan for the Vast and its people. It is a plan that transcends the boundaries of the world. And out in the depths of the endless forest that borders the Vast the mighty fallen angel and the powers of the earth itself will still have a part to play. Will Vissarion and Maroussia survive the violence of the end game?

Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Steeple

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

Another high action SF dystopia perfect for fans of Richard Morgan and Alfred Bester alike. The follow-up to the acclaimed Barricade this another short, sharp and kinetic SF thrillerKenstibec is a Ficial - a genetically engineered artificial life form; tough, skilled, hard to kill. Or at least he was. He's lost the nanotech that constantly repaired him. Life just got real. Just like it is for the few remaining humans in this blighted world - the Reals; locked in a fight over a ruined world with the Ficials they created to make Utopia.And now Kenstibec must take a trip to the pinnicle of our failed civilisation. The Steeple is a one thousand storey tower that looms over the wreckage of London. It is worshipped, feared and haunted by attack droids and cannibals. And the location of a secret that just might save Kenstibec's life.The only way is up.

Gollancz

Glorious Angels

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson

Justina Robson (acclaimed author of NATURAL HISTORY, LIVING NEXT DOOR TO THE GOD OF LOVE and the QUANTUM GRAVITY series) is back with a cutting edge novel of science, adventure and ideas.On a world where science and magic are hard to tell apart a stranger arrives in a remote town with news of political turmoil to come. And a young woman learns that she must free herself from the role she has accepted.Always vivid, always full of stunning ideas and imagery, Justina Robson is the Clarke Award-winning author of some of our most exciting, yet philosophical SF. A new novel from her is a major event in the SF calendar.

Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule:STAY IN YOUR HOMESStep outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first.But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.