H.G. Wells - The War of the Worlds - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575115354
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2012
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473218024
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017
Books in this series

The War of the Worlds

By H.G. Wells

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The classic tale of an alien invasion of Earth from the pen of the father of modern SF, with an introduction by Adam Roberts.

'No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's...'

So begins H. G. Wells' classic novel in which Martian lifeforms take over planet Earth. As the Martians emerge, they construct giant killing machines - armed with heatrays - that are impervious to attack. Advancing upon London they destroy everything in their path. Everything, except the few humans they collect in metal traps.

Victorian England is a place in which the steam engine is state-of-the-art technology and powered flight is just a dream. Mankind is helpless against the killing machines from Mars, and soon the survivors are left living in a new stone age.

And don't miss the authorised sequel to The War of the Worlds: The Massacre of Mankind by Stephen Baxter.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473216853
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When a diplomat dies in the 1930s, he leaves behind a book of 'dream visions' he has been experiencing, detailing events that will occur on Earth for the next two hundred years. This fictional 'account of the future' (similar to LAST AND FIRST MEN by Olaf Stapledon) proved prescient in many ways, as Wells predicts events such as the Second World War, the rise of chemical warfare and climate change.

Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A profound and witty Voltairian dialogue between a twentieth-century Noah and an Old Testament Deity, planning a new Ark in which the best of mankind may be rescued from the new flood of war and horror.

Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Men Like Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In the summer of 1921, a disenchanted journalist escapes the rat race for a drive in the country. But Mr. Barnstaple's trip exceeds his expectations when he and other motorists are swept 3,000 years into the future. The inadvertent time travelers arrive in a world that corresponds exactly to Barnstaple's ideals: a utopian state, free of crime, poverty, war, disease, and bigotry. Unfettered by the constraints of government and organized religion, the citizens lead rich, meaningful lives, passed in pursuit of their creative fancies. Barnstaple's traveling companions, however, quickly contrive a scheme to remake the utopia in the image of their twentieth-century world.

Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Following the development of massive airships, naïve Londoner Bert Smallways becomes accidentally involved in a German plot to invade America by air and reduce New York to rubble. But although bombers devastate the city, they cannot overwhelm the country, and their attack leads not to victory but to the beginning of a new and horrific age for humanity. And so dawns the era of Total War, in which brutal aerial bombardments reduce the great cultures of the twentieth century to nothing. As civilization collapses around the Englishman, now stranded in a ruined America, he clings to only one hope - that he might return to London, and marry the woman he loves.

Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr. Blettsworthy on Rampole Island, written in 1928, tells the story of Arnold Blettsworthy who, after being betrayed by a business partner, is advised to go travelling in an attempt to recover from his severe disillusionment. However, instead of being full of relaxation and recuperation his trip is filled with nautical mutinies, cannibals, and much that is not what it seems.

Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr Parham is a traditional academic disappointed with the social trends of his time. Sir Bussy Woodcock is an intelligent but unrefined self-made millionaire. The pair happen to meet one day and form an unlikely relationship; Sir Bussy interested to learn something of culture and Mr Parham looking for funding for a high-quality periodical

Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham. *Don't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?*High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, THE TIME TO KILL is the must-read new thriller from Mason Cross:'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling.' Emma Kavanagh'One of the most interesting 'loner' heroes to have arrived in recent years . . . Told with pace and vigour by a writer who seems to have a natural aptitude for thrillers, it is not to be missed.' Daily Mail'My kind of book.' Lee Child*If you like Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you will LOVE the race-against-time Carter Blake series:1. The Killing Season2. The Samaritan3. The Time To Kill4. Don't Look for Me5. Presumed Dead* Each Carter Blake thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. Machinery looted from the abandoned capsules and war-machines has led to technological leaps forward. The Martians are vulnerable to earth germs. The Army is prepared.So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the narrator of Wells' book. He is sure that the Martians have learned, adapted, understood their defeat.He is right.Thrust into the chaos of a new invasion, a journalist - sister-in-law to Walter Jenkins - must survive, escape and report on the war.The Massacre of Mankind has begun

Gollancz

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Gollancz

The Forge Of God

Greg Bear
Authors:
Greg Bear