H.G. Wells - The Island Of Doctor Moreau - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575095168
    • Publication date:17 Jun 2010
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473216839
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2017
Books in this series

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

By H.G. Wells

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

H.G. Wells' terrifying tale of science run amok, with an introduction by Adam Roberts.

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.

THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473217997
  • Publication date: 12 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Gateway
W&N

Dolores

Lauren Aimee Curtis
Authors:
Lauren Aimee Curtis
Trapeze

Would Like to Meet

Rachel Winters
Authors:
Rachel Winters

Long-suffering assistant Evie Summers will lose her job unless she can convince her film agency's biggest and most difficult client, Ezra Chester, to finish the script for a Hollywood romcom. The catch? He hasn't started writing it. Suffering from 'writer's block,' he will only put pen to paper if singleton Evie can prove to him that you can fall in love like they do in the movies. Forget internet dating, Evie can only meet a man the way that Sally met Harry, or Hugh Grant meets anyone. Cue her entering into one ridiculous romcom scenario after another. But can life ever be like the movies?Because if this was a romcom, surely the assistant would fall in love with the arrogant yet ridiculously good-looking screenwriter and not, for example, the sensible single dad she meets along the way.Of course, real life is never that straightforward . . .For readers who enjoyed Jo Watson's Love You, Love You Not, Lucy Vine's Hot Mess, Sophie Kinsella's I Owe You One and To All The Boys I've Loved Before

W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller

'URGENT, VISCERAL WRITING: I COULDN'T TURN THE PAGES FAST ENOUGH Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me LieTWO FRIENDS Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college, brought together by their shared love of literature and the great outdoors.THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience. No phones. No fellow travellers. No way of going back. A HELLISH RIDE But as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them, their idyllic expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature's destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse.Because the only thing more dangerous than a burning forest is a man's thirst for revenge...'Masterful... An exhilarating tale delivered with the pace of a thriller and the wisdom of a grizzled nature guide' Kirkus (Starred Review)'A heart-pounding adventure that's hard to put down' Library Journal (Starred Review)'Like Mark Twain and Toni Morrison, Heller is a rare talent' Elle

Trapeze

The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, Aged 19 Going on 91

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett
Gateway

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

The Sea-Lady concerns a mermaid who comes to shore, ostensibly with the intention of joining genteel society but who really desires to seduce Chatteris, a man she once encountered near Tonga.

Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Sarnac is a scientist and a leading figure in the field of chemical reactions of cells. Plagued by a beautiful and terrifying dream he had when he was a young child, he reflects on his early years in an attempt to understand the dream's roots. However, he finds that his dreams and the reality he has lived have become so entangled that he is no longer able to distinguish between them.

Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A profound and witty Voltairian dialogue between a twentieth-century Noah and an Old Testament Deity, planning a new Ark in which the best of mankind may be rescued from the new flood of war and horror.

Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A satirical novel of one Englishman, a Mr. Edward Albert Tewler, from cradle to grave.

Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A troubled insomniac in 1890s England falls suddenly into a sleep-like trance, from which he does not awake for over two hundred years. During his centuries of slumber, however, investments are made that make him the richest and most powerful man on Earth. But when he comes out of his trance he is horrified to discover that the money accumulated in his name is being used to maintain a hierarchal society in which most are poor, and more than a third of all people are enslaved. Oppressed and uneducated, the masses cling desperately to one dream - that the sleeper will awake, and lead them all to freedom.

Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Revenge was all Leadford could think of as he set out to find the unfaithful Nettie and her adulterous lover. But this was all to change when a new comet entered the earth's orbit and totally reversed the natural order of things. The Great Change had occurred and any previous emotions, thoughts, ambitions, hopes and fears had all been removed. Free love, pacifism and equality were now the name of the game. But how will Leadford fare in this most utopian of societies . . . ?

Gateway

Men Like Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Following the development of massive airships, naïve Londoner Bert Smallways becomes accidentally involved in a German plot to invade America by air and reduce New York to rubble. But although bombers devastate the city, they cannot overwhelm the country, and their attack leads not to victory but to the beginning of a new and horrific age for humanity. And so dawns the era of Total War, in which brutal aerial bombardments reduce the great cultures of the twentieth century to nothing. As civilization collapses around the Englishman, now stranded in a ruined America, he clings to only one hope - that he might return to London, and marry the woman he loves.

Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr. Blettsworthy on Rampole Island, written in 1928, tells the story of Arnold Blettsworthy who, after being betrayed by a business partner, is advised to go travelling in an attempt to recover from his severe disillusionment. However, instead of being full of relaxation and recuperation his trip is filled with nautical mutinies, cannibals, and much that is not what it seems.

Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

"The King Who Was a King - The Book of a Film" is a fascinating treatise on the development of film written by H. G. Wells and first published in 1929. Writing at the when cinema was beginning to explode, Wells explores the emerging industry's history, future, and the elements of contemporary film.

Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin