H.G. Wells - The Island Of Doctor Moreau - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473216839
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2017
Books in this series

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

By H.G. Wells

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

H.G. Wells' terrifying tale of science run amok, with an introduction by Adam Roberts.

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.

THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473217997
  • Publication date: 12 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Gollancz
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

Marguerite had been living a comfortable but dull existence in a suburban town with her straitlaced lawyer husband. When he dies, she realises that life has passed her by.Marcel had been in a loving relationship with Nora since they left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost his way. Marguerite and Marcel live in two very different worlds - one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross at a retreat, and a connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of their friends and families, as well as their own misgivings? Or have they left it too late to really follow their hearts' desires?

Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

Calling Major Tom is a heartwarming, quirky and ultimately life-affirming story of friendship, family and forgiveness - and the world's most unlikely astronaut. The perfect book club read for fans of A Man Called Ove, A Boy Made of Blocks and Jojo Moyes. A man who has given up on the world.Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. A family who show him how to live.But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael LucasWHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT CALLING MAJOR TOM'A delightfully quirky book!''Brilliant!''Wonderful and life affirming''Totally unforgettable'

Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When a diplomat dies in the 1930s, he leaves behind a book of 'dream visions' he has been experiencing, detailing events that will occur on Earth for the next two hundred years. This fictional 'account of the future' (similar to LAST AND FIRST MEN by Olaf Stapledon) proved prescient in many ways, as Wells predicts events such as the Second World War, the rise of chemical warfare and climate change.

Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Sarnac is a scientist and a leading figure in the field of chemical reactions of cells. Plagued by a beautiful and terrifying dream he had when he was a young child, he reflects on his early years in an attempt to understand the dream's roots. However, he finds that his dreams and the reality he has lived have become so entangled that he is no longer able to distinguish between them.

Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Stella has the world at her feet - good looks, brains, and a place at Cambridge University. Together with her admirer Gemini, she becomes interested in the work and mind of a psycho-therapist with exciting new ideas. However, when tragedy encroaches on their lives they soon come to realise that intellectualism brings little comfort or solace. Babes in the Darkling Wood is a powerful tale of fluctuating fortunes that presents an interesting dialogue of contemporary developments in psychoanalytical theory.

Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A satirical novel of one Englishman, a Mr. Edward Albert Tewler, from cradle to grave.

Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A troubled insomniac in 1890s England falls suddenly into a sleep-like trance, from which he does not awake for over two hundred years. During his centuries of slumber, however, investments are made that make him the richest and most powerful man on Earth. But when he comes out of his trance he is horrified to discover that the money accumulated in his name is being used to maintain a hierarchal society in which most are poor, and more than a third of all people are enslaved. Oppressed and uneducated, the masses cling desperately to one dream - that the sleeper will awake, and lead them all to freedom.

Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Revenge was all Leadford could think of as he set out to find the unfaithful Nettie and her adulterous lover. But this was all to change when a new comet entered the earth's orbit and totally reversed the natural order of things. The Great Change had occurred and any previous emotions, thoughts, ambitions, hopes and fears had all been removed. Free love, pacifism and equality were now the name of the game. But how will Leadford fare in this most utopian of societies . . . ?

Gateway

Men Like Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In the summer of 1921, a disenchanted journalist escapes the rat race for a drive in the country. But Mr. Barnstaple's trip exceeds his expectations when he and other motorists are swept 3,000 years into the future. The inadvertent time travelers arrive in a world that corresponds exactly to Barnstaple's ideals: a utopian state, free of crime, poverty, war, disease, and bigotry. Unfettered by the constraints of government and organized religion, the citizens lead rich, meaningful lives, passed in pursuit of their creative fancies. Barnstaple's traveling companions, however, quickly contrive a scheme to remake the utopia in the image of their twentieth-century world.

Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Following the development of massive airships, naïve Londoner Bert Smallways becomes accidentally involved in a German plot to invade America by air and reduce New York to rubble. But although bombers devastate the city, they cannot overwhelm the country, and their attack leads not to victory but to the beginning of a new and horrific age for humanity. And so dawns the era of Total War, in which brutal aerial bombardments reduce the great cultures of the twentieth century to nothing. As civilization collapses around the Englishman, now stranded in a ruined America, he clings to only one hope - that he might return to London, and marry the woman he loves.

Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

It's 1984, and summer is scorching the ordinary English village of Heathcote.What's more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed 'The Fox', he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes The Fox is responsible.But as the residents scramble to solve the mystery of Anna's disappearance, little do they know it's their darkest secrets The Fox is really after...Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

W&N

Love And Mr Lewisham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks' domain and return to his own time.THE TIME MACHINE remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.