Joanne M Harris - A Pocketful of Crows - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473222205
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409173069
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017

A Pocketful of Crows

By Joanne M Harris

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A perfect autumn and Christmas read, this combines the harshness of nature with the spookiness of a ghost story and the comfort of a great folk tale, in one beautifully told novella which is stunningly illustrated by Bonnie Hawkins.

I am as brown as brown can be,
And my eyes as black as sloe;
I am as brisk as brisk can be,
And wild as forest doe.
(The Child Ballads, 295)

So begins a beautiful tale of love, loss and revenge. Following the seasons, A Pocketful of Crows balances youth and age, wisdom and passion and draws on nature and folklore to weave a stunning modern mythology around a nameless wild girl.

Only love could draw her into the world of named, tamed things. And it seems only revenge will be powerful enough to let her escape.

Beautifully illustrated by Bonnie Helen Hawkins, this is a stunning and original modern fairytale.

Biographical Notes

Joanne Harris is the author of the Whitbread-shortlisted CHOCOLAT (made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp) and many other bestselling novels. Her hobbies are listed in Who's Who as 'mooching, lounging, strutting, strumming, priest-baiting and quiet subversion'. She plays bass guitar in a band first formed when she was 16, is currently studying Old Norse, and lives with her husband and daughter in Yorkshire, about 15 miles from the place she was born.

Find out more at www.joanne-harris.co.uk or follow her on Twitter @Joannechocolat

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473222182
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

Five Steps to Happy

Ella Dove
Authors:
Ella Dove

On 28th May, 2016 Ella was jogging along the canal path near her house in East London. She tripped over and landed with her right leg at a horrifying angle. A man walking past stopped and called an ambulance, but refused to wait. TWhen she finally got to hospital the surgeons discovered that the damaged to her right leg was irreparable. They amputated her leg below the knee. As Ella says in her own words "In that moment, it felt like every plan, hope and dream for the rest of my life had crumbled around me. I had eight operations in total, spent four months in a wheelchair and six weeks in a specialist amputee rehab unit. The psychological impact was huge. And all the time I couldn't stop wondering - why had that man left me on the ground? And would it have made any difference if he stayed?" FIVE STEPS TO HAPPY is a novel inspired by Ella's life story about a struggling actress Heidi whose life changes in an instant. She takes us to the depths of despair, through to an unexpected friendship and on a journey of self-discovery. The author explores through fiction the idea that one unexpected moment can affect the rest of your life - sometimes even for the better. Through the characters we learn the true value of resilience, humour and strength.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

CTRL S

Andy Briggs
Authors:
Andy Briggs

Everyone knows crime is a major problem in the virtual reality world of SPACE. And the smarter criminals realised long ago that to fully exploit people in the VR, they need to hunt the vulnerable in the real world.So when his troubled mother disappears one day, VR-obsessed Theo knows that to save her life he must first track her down in SPACE.But how do you solve a mystery in a world without fingerprints or DNA, where people go to actively hide from real life?Theo has done it in video games his whole life. But this time things are about to get very real . . .

W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann

Jaded reporter Andrew and his photographer boyfriend, Carlos, are sick of telling just another story. From cartel massacres to corrupt politicians, sifting the dregs of Mexico's drug war, they think they've seen it all. But when they find a body even the police are too scared to look at, what started out as just another reportage becomes the sort of story all reporters dream of.Until Carlos pushes for answers too fast, and winds up murdered, leaving Andrew grief-stricken and flailing for answers, justice, and revenge. Caught in a web of dirty money that stretches from the boardrooms of the United States to the death squads of El Salvador, Andrew must decide whether to save himself - or find out who killed the man he loves, and destroyed the only home he's ever known.(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Orion

Something to Live For

Richard Roper
Authors:
Richard Roper
Gollancz

The Illustrated Good Omens

Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Paul Kidby
Contributors:
Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Paul Kidby
Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
Orion

A Dream of Italy

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
Orion

Where Love Grows

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

Bring Me Sunshine

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

The Country House

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

The Little Village Café

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

The Bakery on the Hill

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

A Vintage Summer

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson
Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn

A buried secret... Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.A lady adventurer...1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...Can a mysterious life-saving flower bring two women, separated by centuries, together?A beautifully gripping novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Kathryn Hughes and Gill Paul.'Fast-moving and full of surprises ... while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings' Kate Forsyth

Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Gollancz

The Blue Salt Road

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
W&N

The Necessary Marriage

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Orion

The Empty Hearth

Kitty Neale
Authors:
Kitty Neale

A wonderfully gritty, heart-warming novel in the vein of Maureen Lee from the author of OUTCAST CHILD'Dad loves Mum - loves her to the point of obsession. He's jealous when she shows us any affection.'Set in Battersea in the Fifties and Sixties, the Pratchett family have to contend with coalman Alfie Pratchett's obsessive jealousy. Although Alfie is a bully, his two teenage children, John and Millie, have learned to dodge him and his moods. The main concern of ugly duckling Millie - who looks nothing like her handsome brother John - is to protect their mum, Eileen.When a serious crisis occurs at the Pratchetts' home, Alfie is forced to watch his whole world gradually collapse around him. Their old life has gone forever, and a new one has begun - one in which rape, debt, alcoholism and insanity play their parts. And redemption is a long time coming¿Kitty Neale is a storyteller of rare power, unafraid to uncover the dark secrets that lie behind the well-scrubbed doorsteps of family homes.

Orion

The Glass Lake

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy