Lily Brooks-Dalton - Good Morning, Midnight - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474600606
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

Good Morning, Midnight

By Lily Brooks-Dalton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A remarkable and gifted debut' Colson Whitehead, author of The Underground Railroad

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE MARTIAN

'A remarkable and gifted debut novel' Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD

'What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being?' Yiyun Li, PEN/Hemingway Award winner

There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine is a brilliant, ageing scientist, consumed by the stars. Isolated in the cold but electrifying beauty of an Arctic Circle research base, he scans the universe, trying to find the origins of time itself.

Mission Specialist Sullivan, a divorced astronaut and mother, is aboard the Aether, on its return flight from Jupiter. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to.

As the silence expands, these two character begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are.

GOOD MORNING MIDNIGHT is an extraordinarily beautiful and poignant novel about what is to be human - what is means to have experienced ambition, loss, grief, what it means to love and be loved.

Biographical Notes

Lily Brooks-Dalton was born and raised in southern Vermont. She moved to Ireland when she was seventeen then worked her way around the world for three and a half years. She is currently doing an MFA in Portland, Oregon, and has won numerous scholarships for her writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474600613
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact . . . Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void — Publishers Weekly
Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation while Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone — Booklist
What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? . . . Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut — Yiyun Li, author of THE VAGRANTS
A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . This beautiful story reminds us of our deep longing for connection-with those we love, with strangers, with ourselves — Keith Scribner
Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart — Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD
Orion

The Cutting Crew

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
W&N

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Claire Lombardo
Authors:
Claire Lombardo

A dazzling multi-generational novel, The Most Fun We Ever Had introduces us to the Sorenson family. When Marilyn and David fall in love in the 1970s, they are blithely ignorant of all that's to come. By 2016, their four radically different daughters are matching wits, harbouring grudges and recklessly igniting old rivalries. When a teenage boy, given up for adoption fifteen years before, reappears, long-buried secrets threaten to shatter the lives they've built and reveal the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorenson's past.

Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems--if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters--and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.'Paranormal romance at its best' Publishers Weekly'Singh continues to be one of the most prolific and consistently excellent writers on the scene today' Romantic Times

Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson
Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

Lord Dunsany, Irish master of fantasy, was the author of more than a dozen novels, hundreds of short stories, poems, and essays, and dozens of plays. In this powerful and moving novel, written in 1955, a futuroscope - a device that allows a viewer to see into the near or distant future - reveals an awful fate for humanity: a nuclear holocaust has destroyed nearly all human life on the planet. The great city of London is now merely an immense crater, filled in with water from the Thames. The pitiful remnants of humanity have been reduced to a Stone Age existence. The narrator, obsessively looking through the futuroscope, focuses upon the plight of a single family in their struggles to survive and fend off the many enemies, both animal and human, that surround them. When one of their number is kidnapped by a band of gypsies, we can only wonder at her fate in this brave new world of the distant future. Gripping, horrifying, touching, and fascinating, The Pleasures of a Futuroscope shows that Lord Dunsany retained his literary powers undiminished to the end of his life.

Orion

Three Bullets

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

Bird Summons

Leila Aboulela
Authors:
Leila Aboulela
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery

A 10 year love story in 24 hours - the heartbreaking, emotional, funny 2019 debut novel for fans of One Day in December by Josie Silver, With or Without You by Shari Low, and The Note by Zoe Folbigg.THE RULES ARE SIMPLE:Choose the most significant moments from your relationship - one for each hour in the day.You'd probably pick when you first met, right? And the instant you knew for sure it was love? Maybe even the time you watched the sunrise after your first night together?But what about the car journey on the holiday where everything started to go wrong? Or your first proper fight?Or that time you lied about where you'd been?It's a once in a lifetime chance to learn the truth. But if you had to be completely honest with the one you love, would you still play?For Esme and Tom, the game is about to begin. And once they start, there's no going back . . .*************Why readers love Our Life in a Day:'A great portrayal of mental illness... A quite brilliant book''Explores depression, the spiral of addiction and the impact that mental illness has in those closest''I could have gone on reading about Esme and Tom forever''Oh my heart... I loved every page'

Orion

The Adults

Caroline Hulse
Authors:
Caroline Hulse
Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing. She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .'A perfect hammock read for those who love the Brontë sisters and Jodi Picoult in equal measure' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Orion

The Peacock Summer

Hannah Richell
Authors:
Hannah Richell
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES!An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

A thrilling and suspenseful tale of psychological menace.When actress Gloria Lamark takes her own life, her devoted son, Thomas, is heart-broken. Something must be wrong with a world in which such a tragedy is allowed to happen. How could her high-profile, media-star psychiatrist have failed to save such a special person, whom Thomas loved in such a very special way? Dr Tennent has a lesson to learn - a very painful one. Michael is caught up in the first flush of love - but has no idea how dangerous romance can be. For both Michael and Thomas will do anything for the women they love . . .

Orion

Dreamer

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James