Stephen Budiansky - The Character of Cats - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Character of Cats

By Stephen Budiansky

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first scientific look at the world of cats: why they do what they do, why they are what they are and how they got to be that way in the first place.

Unlike every other domestic animal, the cat evolved as a solitary animal, not a group-dweller. A cat in a household is almost literally a fish out of water. That cats can nonetheless get along with people and (sometimes) other cats when forced to, is testimony to a remarkable adaptability. But it also makes for an extraordinary range of behaviours.

Cats have for years been the subjects of intensive research in the fields of developmental psychology, learning, emotions, brain chemistry, and perception. THE CHARACTER OF CATS is the first popular book to bring this knowledge to bear on the behaviour and nature of cats. Budiansky enables us to see that many of the things that puzzle and at times baffle or even infuriate cat owners have a rational - though often very surprising - explanation in science.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Budiansky - scientist, author and journalist - is a correspondent for the Atlantic Monthly. He has written about science and nature for many publications, including the Economist, Science and the New York Times, and is a former Washington Editor of the international science journal Nature. He lives with his wife and two children on a small farm in Virginia, where he keeps horses and is an experienced rider.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474603218
  • Publication date: 22 Oct 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Trapeze

Part-Time Working Mummy

Rachaele Hambleton
Authors:
Rachaele Hambleton
Gollancz

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.

W&N

The Truth About Dogs

Stephen Budiansky
Authors:
Stephen Budiansky
Gollancz

Time of Contempt

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

Geralt the Witcher has fought monsters and demons across the land, but even he may not be prepared for what is happening to his world. The kings and armies are manoeuvring for position, each fearing invasion from across the river, each fearing their neighbours more. Intrigue, dissent and rebellion are on all sides.The Elves and other non-humans are still suffering under decades of repression, and growing numbers join the commando units hidden deep in the forest, striking at will and then dissolving into the trees. The Magicians are fighting amongst themselves, some in the pay of the kings, some sympathetic to the elves.And against this backdrop of fear and contempt Geralt and his lover Yennefer must protect Ciri, orphaned heir and sought by all sides. For the prophecy rests on her, and whether she lives or dies she has the power to save the world - or perhaps end it.

Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

W&N

The Nature of Horses

Stephen Budiansky
Authors:
Stephen Budiansky

What does it mean to be a horse? The definitive and bestselling book explaining the mysteries of the horse using insights of modern science.What makes a winning racehorse? How intelligent are horses? What are horses trying to tell us when they stamp their hooves and snort? Do horses talk to each other?The horse, long symbol of beauty and athletic prowess, has made and lost fortunes and transformed human history and culture, and yet has retained mysteries that baffle even those who work with them every day. There has recently been an explosion of scientific research on the horse. In this book Stephen Budiansky brings the insights of modern science to a wider audience of horse enthusiasts and animal-lovers.

Orion

Through The Storm

Maureen Lee
Authors:
Maureen Lee

The third novel in bestseller Maureen Lee's outstanding Liverpool sequence about family life during World War IITwo years of war have taken a terrible toll on Pearl Street, Liverpool. German bombs have reduced some houses to rubble and most of the inhabitants have lost friends and family. While sisters Eileen and Sheila share the anxious burden of absent husbands, the conflict for others brings excitement and freedom.Kitty Quigley, stuck at home for years with an invalid father, is forced to register for war work and is delighted to become an auxiliary nurse. And Jessica Fleming, struggling to earn a living, finds herself and friend Rita increasingly drawn to the glamour and excitement of the Yanks.

Gollancz

Noonshade

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

Chronicles of the Raven: Two AN ANCIENT EVIL HAS BEEN BANISHED - NOW THE PRICE MUST BE PAID ... Balaia is torn by war, and now suffering the consequences of an apocalyptic spell too. The Dawnthief - designed to destroy the world, but cast in desperation to save it - has ripped a hole in the sky ... ... which becomes a pathway to a dragon dimension, through which unfriendly eyes are already turning to Balaia. But with war already sweeping the land, there are no armies to send against the dragons. Only a band of tiny, but legendary, mercenaries: The Raven.

Gollancz

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Rendezvous With Rama

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

The multi-award-winning SF masterpiece from one of the greatest SF writers of all timeRama is a vast alien spacecraft that enters the Solar System. A perfect cylinder some fifty kilometres long, spinning rapidly, racing through space, Rama is a technological marvel, a mysterious and deeply enigmatic alien artefact.It is Mankind's first visitor from the stars and must be investigated ...Winner of the HUGO AWARD for best novel, 1974Winner of the NEBULA AWARD for best novel, 1973Winner of the JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD for best novel, 1974Winner of the BSFA AWARD for best novel, 1973

Gollancz

The Complete Chronicles Of Conan

Robert E. Howard
Authors:
Robert E. Howard

Conan the Cimmerian: the boy-thief who became a mercenary, who fought and loved his way across fabled lands to become King of Aquilonia. Neither supernatural fiends nore demonic sorcery could oppose the barbarian warrior as he wielded his mighty sword and dispatched his enemies to a bloody doom on the battlefields of the legendary Hyborian age.Collected together in one volume for the very first time, in chronological order, are Robert E. Howard's tales of the legendary hero, as fresh and atmospheric today as when they were first published in the pulp magazines of more than seventy years ago.Compiled by and with a foreward and afterword by award-winning writer and editor Stephen Jones.

Gene Wolfe

Gene Wolfe (1931 -) Gene Wolfe was born in New York in 1931 and raised in Texas. After serving in the Korean War he graduated in mechanical engineering from the University of Houston and worked in engineering until becoming an editor of a trade periodical, Plant Engineering, in 1972. Since retiring from this post in 1984, he has written full-time. The author of over three dozen award-wining novels and story collections, he is regarded as one of modern fantasy's most important writers. His best-known work, the four volume far-future Book of the New Sun, won the World Fantasy, BSFA, Nebula, British Fantasy and John W. Campbell memorial Awards. He has won the World Fantasy Award four times for his novels and collections and the World Fantasy Life Achievement Award for his extraordinary body of work. Gene Wolfe lives in Illinois with his wife, Rosemary.

Gentry Lee

Gentry Lee held a number of important posts in NASA's deep-space exploration programme, which made him an ideal writing partner for Arthur C. Clarke. He has also been a screenwriter on Carl Saga's COSMOS TV series. Lee co-wrote RAMA II, GARDEN OF RAMA and CRADLE with Arthur C. Clarke

George Pendle

George Pendle writes about science for The Times and the Financial Times, among other publications. He lives in New York City.

Greg Bear

Greg Bear is one of the world's leading hard SF authors. A multiple Hugo and Nebula award winner, he sold his first short story, at the age of fifteen, to Robert Lowndes's Famous Science Fiction. His novels Blood Music and Eon are both Gollancz Masterworks. A full-time writer, he lives in Washington with his family.

H.G. Wells

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

Hannu Rajaniemi

Hannu Rajaniemi is from Finland and has a PhD in String Theory. He lived, taught and worked in Edinburgh for many years where he was a member of the high profile writing group that also included Hal Duncan and Alan Campbell. He currently lives in California. His first novel, THE QUANTUM THIEF was widely and hugely praised and has been published in several countries. As well as writing novels he also works in the areas of number and game theory and artificial intelligence.

Hugh Kelsey

Hugh Kelsey will always be remembered as one of the all-time great bridge writers and analysts. He was the author of more than 50 outstanding bridge books and was the bridge advisor and editor for the Master Bridge Series from its foundation.

Ilona Andrews

Ilona Andrews was born in Russia and came to the USA as a child. At university she met her husband, who helped her write and submit her first novel, MAGIC BITES. She currently lives with her family in the state of Georgia, USA.

Jenson Button

Jenson Button was born on 19 January 1980 in Frome, Somerset, and made his Grand Prix debut at the age of 20. In 2009, in his tenth season and driving for the newly-formed Brawn GP team, he became the Formula 1 world champion after a stunning drive in the Brazilian Grand Prix.