Jean Pendziwol - The Lightkeeper's Daughters - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474605007
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474605038
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409168683
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

A Radio 2 Book Club Choice

By Jean Pendziwol

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

For fans of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS and THE SHIPPING NEWS; an unlikely friendship, a lost journal, and the mystery of what happened to the lightkeeper's daughters when a secret love changed everything.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018
*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***

Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing.

She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .

Biographical Notes

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. ONCE UPON A NORTHERN NIGHT was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. THE LIGHTKEEPER'S DAUGHTERS is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474605021
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: W&N
Jean Pendziwol's beautifully written novel captured me from the very first page. Its descriptions of the windswept lightkeeper's station of Elizabeth's and Emily's youth are so crisply rendered I felt I was standing on its shores watching the great ships cross the stormy waters of Lake Superior. Even more than its vivid evocation of a unique time and place, THE LIGHTKEEPER'S DAUGHTERS is a sensitive and moving examination of the nature of identity, the importance of family, and the possibility of second chances — Heather Young, author of THE LOST GIRLS
Lake Superior may not give up its dead, but it does eventually give up the secret that lies at the heart of this compelling and fascinating novel by Jean Pendziwol. The Lightkeeper's Daughters is a splendid feat of storytelling that held me happily spellbound from the opening pages to the satisfying final sentence — Nancy Richler, author of THE IMPOSTER BRIDE, shortlisted for the Giller Prize
The Lightkeeper's Daughters is a new kind of love story, a celebration of unlikely human connections - to each other, to the land, and to a shared history. Jean Pendziwol's storytelling prowess held me fast to the page, and with each surprising revelation, I fell more deeply in love with Elizabeth and Morgan. I delighted in watching these unexpected friends grow together in their combined attempt to answer that most primal question: Who am I? The Lightkeeper's Daughters gets an enthusiastic standing ovation from me. As soon as I turned the last page, I missed the characters who had, in the short space of a novel, already grown to take up real space in my heart. I can't wait to see what Jean Pendziwol does next — Angie Abdou, author of THE BONE CAGE and CANTERBURY TRAIL
An intricately satisfying story about love and deception that manages to be both melancholy and exhilarating. A haunting tale of nostalgia and lost chances that is full of last-minute surprises — Kirkus Reviews
A perfect hammock read for those who love the Brontë sisters and Jodi Picoult in equal measure — Publishers Weekly
Deeply satisfying.... With strong characters and rich in historical details, The Lightkeeper's Daughters looks carefully at love and identity and the things we do to keep them both safe — Booklist
A remarkable achievement . . . a story of commitment, identity, and familial loyalty that will leave one in tears. Five out of five stars — New York Journal of Books