Francesca Jakobi - Bitter - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474607568
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175377
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

Bitter

By Francesca Jakobi

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

How far will a mother go to win back the son she walked out on? A riveting literary thriller perfect for fans of Zoe Heller, Harriet Lane and Louise Doughty.

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't?

As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Biographical Notes

Francesca studied psychology at Sussex University followed by a stint teaching English in Turkey and the Czech Republic. On returning to her native London she got a job as a reporter on a local paper and has worked in journalism ever since. She's currently a layout editor at the Financial Times. Bitter is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474607599
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

A woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. Still as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to.

Orion

What Fresh Hell

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

From Erica James, bestselling author of Summer at the Lake, comes an enchanting tale of one family coming together and finding their way.It's the summer of 1939, and after touring an unsettled Europe to promote her latest book, Romily Temple returns home to Island House and the love of her life, the charismatic Jack Devereux. But when Jack falls ill, his estranged family are called home and given seven days to find a way to bury their resentments and come together. With war now declared, each member of the family is reluctantly forced to accept their new stepmother and confront their own shortcomings. But can the habits of a lifetime be changed in one week? And can Romily, a woman who thrives on adventure, cope with the life that has been so unexpectedly thrust upon her?

Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'Do you ever think there's maybe something that's gone wrong with the world?'A man is found dead in one of the city's luxury homes. Homicide detective Ross Carver arrives at the scene when six FBI agents burst in and forcibly remove him from the premises. Two days later...Carver wakes in his bed to find Mia a neighbor he's hardly ever spoken to, reading aloud to him. He has no recollection of the crime scene, no memory of how he got home, and no idea that two days have passed. Carver knows nothing about this woman but as he struggles to piece together what happened to him, he soon realizes he's involved himself in a web of conspiracy that spans the nation. And Mia just might know more than she's letting on...'Moore has a great gift for the macabre and the creepy.' The Times

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
W&N

Pirates of the Levant

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

Captain Alatriste's latest adventure - a story of skirmishes, privateers, boarded ships, swords and sackings.'This was a time where Spain was revered, feared and hated in the easterly seas; where the devil had no colour, no name and no flag, and where the only thing needed to summon hell on earth (or sea for that matter) was a Spaniard and his sword'Alatriste is back - this time on the high seas! Accompanied by his faithful companion Inigo, the captain joins a Spanish galleon and sets sail from Naples towards the east on a journey that will take them to Melilla, Oran, and finally Malta where they must struggle against the Turk. On board they will have many adventures, including an encounter with The Moor Gurriato. Now seventeen, Inigo is still in love with Angelica but will wisdom come with age and experience?

W&N

Captain Alatriste

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

A swashbuckling new adventure series starring the Spanish D'Artagnan - from international bestseller Arturo Perez-ReverteCaptain Alatriste is a swordsman for hire in Spain in the 1620s - a time when Court intrigue is high and the decadent young king has dragged the country into a series of disastrous wars. As a hired 'blade', Alatriste becomes involved in many political plots and must live by his wits. He comes face to face with hired assassins, court players, political moles, smugglers, pirates and of course, the infamous Spanish Inquisition...All the stories are told by Inigo Balboa, Alatriste's young page. The cast of characters also includes Quevedo, an irrepressible subversive poet who likes to start fights in the local tavern, the kind-hearted innkeeper and ex-prostitute who shares Alatriste's bed, the elegant Count of Guadalmedina, the beautiful but deadly Angelica de Alquezar, and a whole host of underworld figures.Perez-Reverte wrote the Captain Alatriste series as a homage to the adventure books that had been his own initiation into the world of reading as a boy - books such as Dumas's The Three Musketeers.

W&N

Purity of Blood

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

The second 'Captain Alatriste' novel, from a series which has sold 4 million copies worldwideA woman has been found in a sedan chair in front of a church, strangled. In her hand is a pouch containing fifty escudos and a handwritten - but unsigned - note bearing the words 'For masses for her soul'. The chief constable Martin Saldana confides in his old friend and comrade in arms, Diego Alatriste. Still in danger from the powerful enemies he made in his first adventure, Captain Alatriste is considering returning to Flanders where the war has just resumed. But first, his old friend Quevedo asks him for a favour. The daughter of one of his friends must be rescued from a convent, which certain 'priests' seem to be treating as little more than a harem. Then the woman who brought the girl to the convent goes missing and the connection is made to the murder at the church. It seems that Alatriste's sword is required once more.

Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

The Companion

Sarah Dunnakey
Authors:
Sarah Dunnakey

How do you solve a mystery when the clues are hidden in the past?'Utterly charming, wonderfully creepy and rich with mystery. The Companion is a rare treat.' C.L. TaylorThe Companion is a beautiful and powerfully-told story of buried secrets, set between the 1930s and the present day, on the wild Yorkshire moors.Billy Shaw lives in a palace. Potter's Pleasure Palace, the best entertainment venue in Yorkshire, complete with dancing, swing-boats and a roller-skating rink.When it is arranged for him to become companion to the child at the big house above the valley, Billy leaves home to find a wild, peculiar boy in a curiously haphazard household where nothing that's meant is said and the air is thick with secrets.Before long, tragedy strikes and fictions become tangled up in facts, yet it's left to Anna Sallis, almost a century later, to unravel the knots and find the truth.'An absorbing mystery story, really evocative of the Yorkshire Moors and the mill. I loved the character of Billy Shaw! The story kept me engrossed and flipping the pages right to the end' Katherine Webb, bestselling author of The Legacy'The Companion is beautifully written and so evocative of time and place...If you thought the Brontes were the most intriguing literary family in Yorkshire, wait until you meet the Harpers.' Linda Green, author of the No.1 bestseller, While My Eyes Were Closed'Sarah writes with warmth, wit and wisdom AND she makes you want to turn the page. A rare combination.' John Humphrys'Buried secrets, intrigue and betrayal are the hallmarks of this compelling tale.' My Weekly

Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

'Completely enchanting... a gentle and unexpected love story whose characters are drawn with tenderness and touching honesty. I loved it. It deserves to fly off the shelves!'RUTH HOGAN, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGSMarguerite has been living a comfortable but dull existence in a suburban town with her straitlaced husband. When he dies, she realises that life has passed her by.Marcel has been in a loving relationship with Nora since they left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost his way. Marguerite and Marcel come from two very different worlds - one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross, and a connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of their friends and families, as well as their own misgivings? 'This gorgeous, optimistic, often very funny love story is full of the joys and despairs of ageing, and written with a superb simplicity. It's perfect for the young-at-heart.' DAILY MAIL

W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Orion

At First Light

Vanessa Lafaye
Authors:
Vanessa Lafaye
W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
W&N

The King's Gold

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

The Sun Over Breda

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte