Justin Evans - The White Devil - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297867173
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2011

The White Devil

'An intelligent, bristling ghost story with a stunning sense of place', Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl

By Justin Evans

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

'Want a good English ghost story to read by the fire on a cold winter night? This tale of a malevolent ghost haunting a troubled American student at Harrow will fit the bill. It gathers you in lovingly, then takes you in a strangler's grip with its escalating horrors' STEPHEN KING

Fleeing expulsion and the death of a close friend, Andrew Taylor is sent to spend his final year at the prestigious public school Harrow. It is an eccentric place, a rambling ancient building filled with the sons of the rich and famous.

The other pupils notice Andrew's striking resemblance to Lord Byron, a former pupil of Harrow - and then the trouble begins. Andrew senses a malevolent presence, and when a classmate dies, the haunting becomes all too real. When another classmate falls ill, and Andrew discovers old letters hidden in a bricked-up basement, he must uncover the truth behind the school's secret history - before it is too late.

Biographical Notes

Justin Evans grew up in Lexington, Virginia, and attended Columbia University with a graduate MBA in Finance from NYU. After University he worked at the NY Times as well as being a film scout for Paramount Pictures. When not writing, he's a strategy executive at social media company The Pluck Corporation and lives in NY City with his wife and son.

http://justinevans.com/

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780220260
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2012
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: W&N
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May

This is Part One is a brand new serial from Katie May.In the gorgeous seaside town of Whitstable, brokenhearted Deb begins to swim each day and gathers a new group of friends around her. But can the magic of sea heal the hurt of the past? Or will family ties drag her underwater again?A heart-warming, funny and poignant story of romance, friendship and second chances. It's also a song to the author's home town of Whitstable, where the sea is smooth, the shingle is painful on bare feet, and the air is full of possibilities.

Orion

Together

Julie Cohen
Authors:
Julie Cohen
Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester

The Kindle bestseller by debut author Jem LesterInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme SimsionTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme Simsion'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP'Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls.' Jonathan TropperWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.''A must read for everyone.''real and honest with an equal mix of joy and pain.'

Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

Andrew Pepper

Andrew Pepper is a lecturer in American Writing and Contemporary Crime Fiction at Queen's University, Belfast. His first novel, THE LAST DAYS OF NEWGATE, was shortlisted for the CWA NEW BLOOD AWARD. He lives in Belfast with his partner and children.

Ann Widdecombe

Tory MP for Maidstone. In John Major's Government she was Home Office Minister under Michael Howard. Shadow Home Secretary 1997-2001. Unmarried and a Roman Catholic convert. Has been writing since at school where she won essay prizes. Now writing third novel.Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

Annie Sanders

Annie Sanders is two people. Annie Ashworth and Meg Sanders are television and print journalists who have written an array of non-fiction books and novels together while managing to remain the best of friends. Both live in Stratford-Upon-Avon with their families.

Arturo Perez-Reverte

Arturo Perez Reverte lives near Madrid. Originally a war correspondent, he now writes fiction full time. His novels include THE FLANDERS PANEL, THE CLUB DUMAS, THE FENCING MASTER, THE SEVILLE COMMUNION, THE NAUTICAL CHART, THE QUEEN OF THE SOUTH and the bestselling CAPTAIN ALATRISTE series. In 2003 he was elected to the Spanish Royal Academy. His website can be visited at www.perez-reverte.com

B.W. Jones

Brandon Jones is a sculptor and musician who lives in Hawaii. ALL WOMAN AND SPRINGTIME is his first novel.

Belle de Jour

Belle de Jour is the nom de plume of a former London call girl. Find Belle online at belledejour-uk.blogspot.com.

Brenda Reid

Brenda Reid was an award winning producer at the BBC before becoming Head of Drama at Anglia Television. She worked with, amongst others, Rose Tremain, Alan Bennett, Jilly Cooper, P.D. James, Fay Weldon and Lynda la Plante. She was also the executive producer of the popular series Ballykissangel. Brenda now divides her time between the Welsh borders, her children's houses in London and her village house in Crete.

Bryan Appleyard

Born in 1951, Bryan Appleyard attended King's College, Cambridge. He writes for numerous publications including VANITY FAIR, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR and THE SUNDAY TIMES.http://www.bryanappleyard.com/https://twitter.com/BryanAppleyardhttp://www.youtube.com/MrBryanappleyard

C.C. Humphreys

C.C. Humphreys was born in Toronto and grew up in Los Angeles and London. A third generation actor and writer on both sides of his family, he is married and lives on Salt Spring Island, Canada. www.cchumphreys.com

C. S. Forester

Cecil Scott Forester was born in 1899 in Cairo and educated in England. He went to Hollywood during the opening years of World War II to help write and produce 'propaganda' films that would convince U.S. filmgoers that the they should take the side of the British and Allies in the War, which led to such films as Eagle Squadron (1941). He is most famous for his celebrated Hornblower series. He died in 1966.

Carla Buckley

Carla Buckley was born in Washington, D.C. She has worked as an assistant press secretary for a U.S. senator, an analyst with the Smithsonian Institution, and a technical writer for a defense contractor. She lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She has been nominated for a Thriller Award as a Best First novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction.

Carol Drinkwater

Best known for her role as Helen Herriot in BBC Television's ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL (for which she was awarded THE VARIETY CLUB TELEVISION PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR AWARD), Carol Drinkwater has enjoyed a long and distinguished career as both an actress and writer. During her acting career she has worked in film, television and theatre. Her credits include working with Laurence Olivier at the National Theatre and Stanley Kubrick on A CLOCKWORK ORANGE. Carol is the author of six bestselling memoirs: THE OLIVE FARM, THE OLIVE SEASON, THE OLIVE HARVEST, THE OLIVE ROUTE, THE OLIVE TREE and RETURN TO THE OLICE FARM. Carol worked with UNESCO on a lavish documentary film series inspired by her two most recent books, THE OLIVE ROUTE and THE OLIVE TREE. The series is both travel and history based and will follow an Olive Heritage Trail around the Mediterranean Basin. The aim is to celebrate the cultural heritage of this sacred tree. The first transmissions will be in Canada in February and in Germany in April 2013.

Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding is a full time, award-winning novelist, a YA novelist, and a professional script writer for film and TV. He has travelled extensively, plays bass and guitar (and has recorded several albums) and his novels have been published all over the world.He has penned the Braided Path trilogy, a standalone novel (The Fade) and the Tales of the Ketty Jay series for Gollancz, all of which were critical and commercial successes.Chris Wooding lives in Kent, and you can learn more at www.chriswooding.com.

Elaine Crowley

Elaine Crowley was born in Dublin, and also lived in England, Egypt and Germany. She had a variety of occupations, including being an apprentice tailor and an Avon lady, doing a stint in ATS, and working in the personnel department of British Steel. In addition to numerous articles, Elaine wrote many successful novels and a collection of short stories.

Emily Giffin

Emily Giffin graduated from Wake Forest University and the University of Virginia School of Law. She practised law in New York City for several years before moving to London, where she began writing full time. She now lives in Atlanta with her husband, two sons and a daughter.

Francesca Kay

Francesca Kay grew up in South-east Asia and India and has subsequently lived in Jamaica, the United States and Germany. Her first novel, An Equal Stillness, won the Orange Award for New Writers, and was shortlisted for Best First Book in the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Europe and South Asia Region). She lives with her family in Oxford.