Geoffrey Household - Escape into Daylight - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Escape into Daylight

By Geoffrey Household

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An edge-of-your-seat children's story from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE.

An edge-of-your-seat children's story from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE.

A tense, edge-of-your-seat story of two kidnapped children, Mike and Carrie, who find themselves imprisoned under the ruins of an abbey. The two must escape as they realise that no one is coming for them...

Biographical Notes

Geoffrey Household (1900-1988)
Geoffrey Household was a prolific novelist of political thrillers and suspense stories, most notably the classic Rogue Male, which, The Times recently declared, 'remains as exciting and probing as ever'. He was as widely travelled as the settings of his books suggest: after graduating from Magdalen College, Oxford, with a first in English literature he worked abroad for 25 years, and served in British Intelligence during World War II in Greece and the Middle East. He married twice and eventually settled in the English countryside with his wife and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780224190
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

All the Flowers in Paris

Sarah Jio
Authors:
Sarah Jio

There is always hope, even in the darkest of times...When Caroline Williams wakes up in a hospital bed in Paris with no memory of her past, she finds that returning to the life she has forgotten is harder than she thought. Ever though her feet know where to go, her cavernous apartment on the Rue de Cler seems devoid of any memories... Taking her mind off her foggy past is the discovery of a stack of world war two love letters written by a young mother named Celine to her beloved, Luc, found in a box in the spare room. The haunting descriptions of Paris during the occupation and Celine's own desperate love for her missing lover and young daughter capture Caroline's heart, distracting her from her own confusing world.Soon Caroline learns that she may have more in common with Celine than she could ever imagine, but also that the walls of her picture-perfect Parisienne apartment may harbour dark and dangerous secrets...Can uncovering the truth about Celine help Caroline find a way back to her past? The compelling and evocative new historical novel from the international bestselling author Sarah Jio. Perfect for fans of The Key by Kathryn Hughes and The Paris Secret by Lily Graham.

Gollancz

NOS4A2

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

COMING 2019 - BRAND NEW SERIES on AMC - The channel that brought you THE WALKING DEADSummer. Massachusetts. An old Silver Wraith with a frightening history. A story about one serial killer and his lingering, unfinished business.Anyone could be next. We're going to Christmasland ...NOS4R2 is an old-fashioned horror novel in the best sense. Claustrophobic, gripping and terrifying, this is a story that will have you on the edge of the seat while you read, and leaving the lights on while you sleep. With the horrific tale of Charles Manx and his Silver Wraith, Joe Hill has established himself as the premiere horror and supernatural thriller writer of his generation.

Orion

Rogue Justice

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
Orion

Pretty Is

Maggie Mitchell
Authors:
Maggie Mitchell
The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressMargaret Fielding, wife of an eminent QC, was tried for the murder of her first husband ten years ago and, innocent, was acquitted for lack of evidence. Now someone is threatening to produce evidence that could convict her. Fortunately, Margaret meets Arthur Crook, the detective lawyer to whom the innocent turn, never in vain. When her blackmailer is found murdered, just after she is seen, distraught, leaving the premises, it is to Crook that she tells her tale. But someone knows Crook by reputation, and is anxious that he does not take on Margaret's case.

The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressLaura Verity is an elderly lady with not much money and no past - not someone things happen to. But suddenly her life is plunged into danger, and without lawyer-sleuth Arthur Crook's timely interference, she might have lost it altogether.One thing she will never lose, though, is her head: the police don't believe her - she proves them wrong. The wine might be poisoned - she'll keep it for Crook to test. Does that car belong to the murderer? She'll just get in and see where he takes her. Together, brave Miss Verity and Arthur Crook uncover the truth about a murder.

Orion

Watcher in the Shadows

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
Orion

The Europe That Was

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

A riveting collection of short stories from the classic-crime master and author of Rogue Male, Geoffrey Household.From the fine lines of an Eton suit on the morning of Archduke Franz Ferdinand's assassination to the extreme poverty of the Bosnian border, Household's collection of short stories takes the reader on a vivid and compelling journey around a Europe that was.Including the stories Kindly Stranger, Sabres on the Sand, Three of Castile and Twilight of a God (among others).

Orion

The Days of Your Fathers

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

A short story collection from the author of classic masterpiece ROGUE MALE.From the suspenseful and exciting to the heart-wrenchingly poignant, this 1987 collection is a striking example of some of the author's very best work. Stories across a vast array of styles, locales and characters demonstrate Household's ability to paint realistic, sympathetic figures as they struggle through war-torn uncertainty.With stories such as A Jew and an Irishman, Firefly, Debt of Honour, Exiles, Space Fiction, Estancia La Embajada and Chaplain to the Embassy, this collection proves the timeless resonance of Household's writing.

Orion

Capricorn and Cancer

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
Orion

The Terror of Villadonga

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

An exciting children's adventure story from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE, Geoffrey Household.12-year-old Dick Garland lives on the northern coast of Spain. With his thirst for exploring, he has ventured into nearly every cave nearby - except the feared Cave of Angels. When dared to spend one night there alone by the gutsy Lola, Dick boldly accepts her challenge. But there's an unspeakable terror in that cave, and in order to protect his family and friends Dick decides to do something about it . . . Household's exciting children's novel demonstrates the strength of courage, the thrill of adventure and the power of loyalty.

The Murder Room

The End of the Night

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

Three men and a beautiful girl on a cross-country terror spree - a coast to coast rampage of stealing, kidnapping, rape and killing.Who were they? Where did they come from? Why did they do it?With chilling detail, John D. MacDonald unwraps the grotesque inner world of these four young psychopaths, and brings into terrifying focus the random, violent lusts that lie hidden between mischief and madness ...

Orion

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Dark Road

Ian Rankin, Mark Thomson
Authors:
Ian Rankin, Mark Thomson

First performed at Edinburgh's Royal Lyceum Theatre, the first stage play from the SUNDAY TIMES No.1 bestselling author of SAINTS OF THE SHADOW BIBLE.It's been 25 years since Alfred Chalmers was convicted of the gruesome murder of four young women in Edinburgh. Isobel McArthur, Scotland's first Chief Constable, was the woman responsible for putting him behind bars, but the case has haunted her ever since.Now, with her retirement approaching, McArthur decides the time has come for answers. To uncover the truth, she revisits the case and interviews Chalmers for the first time in decades. But her decision rips opens old wounds and McArthur is soon caught up in a web of corruption, psychological mind-games and deceit that threatens not only her own life, but those of her fellow officers and even her own daughter.Tense, gritty and hard-hitting, DARK ROAD is the first ever stage play from bestselling crime writer Ian Rankin, co-written by the Royal Lyceum's Artistic Director Mark Thomson.

Orion

Rogue Male

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

One of the classic thrillers of the 20th century - 'Simply the best escape and pursuit story yet written' [THE TIMES] - with a brand new Introduction by Robert MacfarlaneAn Englishman plans to assassinate the dictator of a European country. But he is foiled at the last moment and falls into the hands of ruthless and inventive torturers. They devise for him an ingenious and diplomatic death but, for once, they bungle the job and he escapes. But England provides no safety from his pursuers - and the Rogue Male must strip away all the trappings of status and civilization as the hunter becomes a hunted animal.

Orion

Dance of the Dwarfs

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
Orion

The Lives and Times of Bernardo Brown

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

A story of suspense and narrow escapes from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE.1920s' Eastern Europe. A place of post-war intrigue, crumbling monarchies and Russian refugees. A world fortified by ghettos, brothels, freak shows and cabarets. And within this melting pot of society, Bernardo Brown embarks on a journey across the continent, without passport or money, evading the police.As Bernardo travels from the Basque Coast to Hungary, Romania, England and back to Spain, he employs wild and hilarious means to avoid detection. The reader is transported from one narrow escape to the next in this fine example of the English picaresque tradition.

Orion

The Third Hour

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household

A gripping adventure from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE.For Manuel Vargas, helping a revolutionary leader derail a train in Mexico is not that unusual. That is, until he realises there are gold bars and coins on-board. After concealing his new wealth, his life is changed forever. Meanwhile in London, a man takes an innocuous job in the toy industry, unaware that his path will cross with Manuel Vargas. When the two meet, they hatch a plan to locate the hidden gold and smuggle it out of Mexico.