Donald Thomas - Cochrane - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780304356591
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2001

Cochrane

By Donald Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Bestselling account of the life of a real Horatio Hornblower

Bestselling account of the life of a real Horatio Hornblower

The life of Thomas, Lord Cochrane, later 10th Earl of Dundonald, was more extraordinary than that of Nelson, more far fetched than that of Hornblower or Patrick O'Brien's Jack Aubrey. Born the son of an eccentric and indigent Scottish peer, he entered the Royal Navy in 1793. In a series of outstanding and heroic actions, often against seemingly overwhelming odds, he made his name fighting Napoleon's navy as one of the most dashing and daring frigate captains of his day, before embarking on a career as a mercenary admiral.

Biographical Notes

Donald Thomas (1926-) was born in Somerset and educated at Queen's College, Taunton, and Balliol College, Oxford. He holds a personal chair in the University of Wales, Cardiff, now Cardiff University. His numerous crime novels include two collections of Sherlock Holmes stories and a hugely successful historical detective series written under the pen name Francis Selwyn and featuring Sergeant Verity of Scotland Yard, as well as gritty police procedurals written under the name of Richard Dacre. He is also the author of seven biographies and a number of other non-fiction works, and won the Gregory Prize for his poems, Points of Contact. He lives in Bath with his wife.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780225708
  • Publication date: 20 Dec 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Seven Dials

Love as Always, Mum xxx

Orion

The Dream Wife

Louisa de Lange
Authors:
Louisa de Lange

'A hugely promising debut with a startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter, bestselling author of Close to Home Annie is the dream wife. Supportive, respectful, mild-mannered - everything her husband wants her to be. But underneath, she is so much more.Annie is a prisoner in her own life. Her finances, her routine and her contact with the outside world are all controlled by him. Only her love for her little boy keeps her sane, and at night she escapes into a dreamworld where she is free.But Annie is about to do a very bad thing. And you won't believe how she is going to do it . . .Perfect for fans of BA Paris, Sarah Pinborough, JP Delaney and Alice Feeney. ************* Readers LOVE The Dream Wife . . .'I was very surprised at the end too . . . there is no way you can see it coming''Riveting and tense' *****A tense and electrifying novel with a twist that will break your heart. Fans of Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough, The Girl Before by JP Delaney, Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris, Friend Request by Laura Marshall, Sweet Little Lies by Caz Frear and Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney will love this.

Orion

An Italian Summer

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

'A glorious jaunt around Italy with characters I didn't want to leave' CLARE MACKINTOSHA compelling novel about friendship, family secrets and second chances, set against the backdrop of southern Italy.Sandy is in her fifties, and at a crossroads in her life: she's a teacher and respected by her pupils, but she feels she is being sidelined in favour of younger colleagues. So when her mother dies, leaving her a sealed envelope addressed to an unknown woman living in Naples, Sandy decides to head to Italy to resolve the mystery by delivering the letter herself. She books herself on to a small sightseeing trip from Rome to Naples and the Amalfi Coast, hoping to meet some like-minded people along the way. Who is the mysterious woman she is searching for? And will Sandy find friendship, or even love, along the way...?Your favourite authors love An Italian Summer:'I adored An Italian Summer... Fanny not only writes beautifully about relationships, but the descriptions of Rome and Naples are so ravishing, that you not only marvel at the scenery but also taste the delectable food and feel the hot sun on your back. A most beguiling read' JILLY COOPER 'Intelligent, grown-up and cheering, Fanny has cornered the market in "real" stories told well' FERN BRITTON'A lovely, absorbing read, gently told, but with a intriguingly dark edge' HILARY BOYD'Likeable and realistic characters in a glorious Italian setting, this is the perfect summer read' MAEVE HARAN'I loved this book. Fanny Blake excels at exploring the intricate detail of relationships' SARAH MORGAN'As themes of friendship and love intertwine with mystery, the plot reels you in until you have no choice but to devour every word. 5 stars' Heat

W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby
Orion

The Jealous Kind

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Gollancz

Destiny's Children

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Time's Tapestry

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Includes all four novels: Emperor, Conqueror, Navigator, WeaverCollected for the first time in one complete volume.An epic series of counter-factual historical thrillers with a plot that weaves a story over a thousand years in the making. From the decline of the Roman Empire and the emergence of Britain to the discovery of America and the modern world of World War Two, follow the threads of this superb alternate history.

Gollancz

Xeelee Sequence

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
The Murder Room

The Victorian Underworld

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

'Donald Thomas introduces us to the slums and fetid courtyards of nineteenth-century London and in doing so provides a sweeping portrait of the vast world that did not accept "Victorian Values". The villainy is outstanding. It is also entertaining. The author has a practised eye for the best anecdotes and presents amazing characters, some of whom come equipped with names that sound positively Dickensian . . . a wonderful profile of Victorian London' The Spectator

The Murder Room

Villains' Paradise

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas
The Murder Room

An Underworld at War

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

The Second World War produced numerous acts of self-sacrifice, but it also made many people rich. Under the cover of war, crime ranging from opportunistic looting to systematic theft was able to flourish.Donald Thomas draws on extensive archive material to reveal the ingenuity and sheer scale of wartime criminality, making fascinating reading of one of the great untold stories of the war.'A mesmerising, unputdownable and brilliantly researched page-turner' Sunday Times

Gollancz

Feet Of Clay

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

The Complete Twilight Reign Collection

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
W&N

The Sven Hassel Collection

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
Gollancz

The Collected Joe Abercrombie

Joe Abercrombie
Authors:
Joe Abercrombie

'Joe Abercrombie is doing some terrific work' George R. R. Martin, author of GAME OF THRONES.Here are the first six books set in the world of THE FIRST LAW, Joe Abercrombie's hugely successful fantasy creation. Join Logen Ninefingers, Jezal dan luthar and Inquisitor Glokta as war rages across the North in the first trilogy, and then enjoy three self-contained novels and discover more of the remarkable imagination of the UK's most prominent fantasy author.Contains THE BLADE ITSELF, BEFORE THEY ARE HANGED, LAST ARGUMENT OF KINGS, BEST SERVED COLD, THE HEROES and RED COUNTRY

Gollancz

Alternate Histories

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Here, collected for the first time in eBook form, are seven of Stephen Baxter's most remarkable and enjoyable novels, all dealing with alternate histories.In the TIME'S TAPESTRY series - containing the novels EMPEROR, CONQUEROR, NAVIGATOR and WEAVER - we see a series of different versions of our own world's history, constantly changing and being altered. Covering the time from the Roman occupation of Britain through to the German invasion of 1940, this series explains why our history is the way it is, and what might have happened differently.In the NORTHLAND trilogy (STONE SPRING, BRONZE SUMMER, IRON WINTER), Baxter explores an alternative creation of the British landscape, following a stone-age tribe from the now-flooded land-bridge that once connected Great Britain and Europe. In their frantic attempts to hold back the rising seas, the people of Northland will discover new techniques and technologies - discoveries that will change the course of human civilisation.

Gollancz

The Parodies Collection

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

Reaper Man

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

DEATH IS MISSING - PRESUMED... ER... GONE.Which leads to the kind of chaos you always get when an important public service is withdrawn.Meanwhile, on a little farm far, far away, a tall, dark stranger is turning out to be really good with a scythe. There's a harvest to be gathered in...

The Murder Room

Sherlock Holmes and the Running Noose

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

Relating Sherlock Holmes's part in real-life crimes of the day, Donald Thomas brings the Great Detective to life once again in six narratives that display Holmes at his most determined, inventive and downright devious.What were Holmes's views on Dr Crippen? And what happened when Oscar Wilde visited Baker Street to seek advice? How did Holmes uncover a loving husband as one of the most dangerous psychopaths of modern times? And just what horrors await Holmes in the darkened slums of Waterloo Road?'Thomas's imitation is wryly and subtly done' Guardian