Michel Bussi - After the Crash - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297871446
    • Publication date:12 Mar 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409157175
    • Publication date:12 Mar 2015

After the Crash

By Michel Bussi

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'So extraordinary that it reminded me of reading Stieg Larsson for the very first time . . . I doubt I'll read a more brilliant crime novel this year' Joan Smith, Sunday Times. The runaway bestseller about an air crash and its sole survivor, a baby girl. But who is she?

'Riveting! Bussi spins psychological suspense at its finest with this consuming tale of one child, two families, and the dark secrets that define us all. Clear your schedule; this book is worth it!' - Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Crash & Burn and Find Her

On the night of 22 December 1980, a plane crashes on the Franco-Swiss border and is engulfed in flames. 168 out of 169 passengers are killed instantly. The miraculous sole survivor is a three-month-old baby girl. Two families, one rich, the other poor, step forward to claim her, sparking an investigation that will last for almost two decades. Is she Lyse-Rose or Emilie?

Eighteen years later, having failed to discover the truth, private detective Crédule Grand-Duc plans to take his own life, but not before placing an account of his investigation in the girl's hands. But, as he sits at his desk about to pull the trigger, he uncovers a secret that changes everything - then is killed before he can breathe a word of it to anyone . . .

Biographical Notes

Michel Bussi is the author of eight bestselling thrillers. In 2013 alone, his books sold half a million copies in his native France. He has won fifteen literary awards, making him one of France's most prestigious crime authors. When not writing fiction, he is a Professor of Geography at the University of Rouen and a political commentator. AFTER THE CRASH is his first book to be published in the UK.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780227320
  • Publication date: 27 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: W&N

A novel so extraordinary that it reminded me of reading Stieg Larsson for the very first time. Bussi's novel brings with it the same thrill of discovering a truly original voice.

It is one of the most remarkable books I've read in a long time; Bussi breaks every rule in the book, but I doubt I'll read a more brilliant crime novel this year.

— Joan Smith, Sunday Times
There's a great premise to this thriller, which is already a huge bestseller in the author's native France... You find yourself quite frantic to know the truth, before this cleverly constructed, smart mystery concludes by delivering a delicious sting in the tail. — Sunday Mirror
A richly satisfying story...a hugely enjoyable ride. — Irish Independent
Thriller of the Month — Good Housekeeping
...an original voice... he [Bussi] borrows elements from old-fashioned clue-puzzle mysteries to provide a breathtakingly suspenseful thriller. — Tn2 Magazine
Michel Bussi's AFTER THE CRASH will keep you solidly gripped for its total duration. [The] provocative premise - and its aftermath in the present set in motion a truly compelling tale by the talented Michel Bussi, a writer who well knows exactly how to keep the reader turning page after page even when it's past time to turn out that bedside lamp. — Barry Forshaw
'A compulsive page turner.' — Maxim Jakubowski, LoveReading.co.uk
Riveting! Bussi spins psychological suspense at its finest with this consuming tale of one child, two families, and the dark secrets that define us all. Clear your schedule; this book is worth it! — Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Crash & Burn and Find Her
This is one of the most compulsively readable mystery novels of the year, a great premise thrillingly explored. — MORNING STAR
Michel Bussi grabs your attention straight away, and keeps it, with great twists, in what is a very good translation by the English writer Sam Taylor. — EVENING STANDARD
After the Crash is a jolt to the senses and a jolt to the heart - both rollicking and labyrinthine, both wildly propulsive and yet rich with grand drama, and with a cast of characters - particularly its sumptuously powerful women - you won't forget — Megan Abbott, author of The Fever
Orion

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

Gollancz

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

There's a new Card in the Mercenary Deck - one Lynx isn't sure if he's happy to see or not. The assassin Toil now wears the Princess of Blood on her jacket and even Lynx would admit she's a woman cloaked in chaos and bloodshed.Their new mission is to escort a dignitary to the pious and ancient city of Jarrazir - beneath which lies a fabled labyrinth. Having barely survived their last underground adventure the mercenaries aren't keen for another, but Toil has other plans. Under threat of siege and horrors rising from the labyrinth, even the Mercenary Deck may have to accept that Jarrazir's prohibition laws aren't their biggest problem.

Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald
Orion

Runelight

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

The next gripping tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI.The squabbling Norse gods and goddesses of Runemarks are back! And there's a feisty new heroine on the scene: Maggie, a girl the same age as Maddy but brought up a world apart - literally, in World's End, the focus of the Order in which Maddy was raised. Now the Order is destroyed, Chaos is filling the vacuum left behind... and is breaching the everyday world.Six hundred miles apart, two girls each bear on their skin a runemark: a symbol of the Old Days when the known Worlds were ruled by the gods from their sky citadel, Asgard. Now Asgard lies in ruins, and the power of the gods has long since been destroyed. Or so everyone thinks. But nothing is lost for ever, and the gods haven't given up yet (nor stopped squabbling!) and they want the power of the runes borne by Maddy and Maggie - these new runes, which carry huge potential, their runelight shining out as a portent to the future. Soon both girls are swept into a maelstrom of cataclysmic events that are to draw them closer and closer to each other, and nearer and nearer to a horrific struggle where each must prove where their loyalty lies . . . Filled with inventive and humorous detail, trickery and treachery, carnage and lunacy, Runelight is the second title - following Runemarks - in a series of gloriously imaginative and dramatic tales about the Norse gods.Read by Rosie Jones(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

W&N

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

Skitter

Ezekiel Boone
Authors:
Ezekiel Boone
Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'Terrific stuff!' Ian RankinDon't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham.

Gollancz

Runemarks

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Forging On

Catherine Robinson
Authors:
Catherine Robinson
Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

A gripping thriller packed with scandal in a small town, from the master of the twist you never saw coming - international bestseller, Linwood Barclay.When a young girl from Promise Falls is killed by a drunk driver, the community wants answers.It doesn't matter that the accused is a kid himself: all they see is that he took a life and got an easy sentence. As pack mentality kicks in and social media outrage builds, vicious threats are made against the boy and his family.When Cal Weaver is called in to investigate, he finds himself caught up in a cold-blooded revenge plot. Someone in the town is threatening to put right some wrongs...And in Cal's experience, it's only ever a matter of time before threats turn into action.

Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERTHE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Superb thriller writing.' Peter Robinson'A brilliant, breathless thriller' M.J. Arlidge'A high concept solution to a mystery' Sophie HannahA body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed by the press as the 'Ragdoll'. Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William 'Wolf' Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.The 'Ragdoll Killer' taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?Translated into over 30 languages, RAGDOLL is a quality, rocket-paced thriller with twists and turns you won't see coming. For readers of Jo Nesbo. You will not stop talking about this book.What everyone is saying about RAGDOLL:'A star is born. Killer plot. Killer pace. Twisted killer and a killer twist. Kill to get a copy.' Simon Toyne'...the best debut I've ever read.' Rachel Abbott'This book kept me captivated, my heart pumping and guessing to the very end!' NetGalley reviewer'...a rollercoaster of a thriller.' NetGalley reviewer'...one of the most well written crime thrillers I have ever read' NetGalley reviewer'A very well written debut novel which had all the twists and turns and intrigue that you need.' NetGalley reviewer'Totally unputdownable' NetGalley Reviewer

Orion

The Dark Room

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore
Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Gollancz

13 Minutes

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Orion

Wycliffe And The Last Rites

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley