Hope Mirrlees - Lud-In-The-Mist - Orion Publishing Group

Lud-In-The-Mist

By Hope Mirrlees

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A classic fairy tale, acknowledged as an inspiration by Neil Gaiman, Mary Gentle and many others.

The town of Lud is a prosperous, bustling little country port, situated at the confluence of two rivers: the Dawl and the Dapple. The latter, which has its source in the land of Faerie beyond the Elfin Marches and the Debatable Hills, is a source of great trial to Lud, which had long rejected such fanciful nonsense as fairies, elves and the like.

Then a perfect plague of faerie influences hits the town, penetrating even to Miss Primrose Crabapple's Establishment for Young Ladies, and it becomes apparent to even the stuffiest burgher that Steps Would Have To Be Taken. Fortunately for everyone, Master Nathaniel Chanticleer, Mayor of Lud, is a man with his head firmly in the clouds ...

Biographical Notes

Helen Hope Mirrlees (1887-1978) was a British author of novels and poems, whose three novels are Lud-in-the-Mist, Madeleine, and Counterplot, and a book of poetry, Moods and Tensions: Poems. She was one of the Bloomsbury Group and counted among her good friends T. S. Eliot, William Butler Yeats and Virginia Woolf.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857987676
  • Publication date: 03 Apr 2008
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Michael Poole finds himself in a very strange landscape . . . This is the centre of the Galaxy. And in a history without war with the humans, the Xeelee have had time to built an immense structure here. The Xeelee Belt has a radius ten thousand times Earth's orbital distance. It is a light year in circumference. If it was set in the solar system it would be out in the Oort Cloud, among the comets - but circling the sun. If it was at rest it would have a surface area equivalent to about thirty billion Earths. But it is not at rest: it rotates at near lightspeed. And because of relativistic effects, distances are compressed for inhabitants of the Belt, and time drastically slowed.The purpose of the Belt is to preserve a community of Xeelee into the very far future, when they will be able to tap dark energy, a universe-spanning antigravity field, for their own purposes. But with time the Belt has attracted populations of lesser species, here for the immense surface area, the unending energy flows. Poole, Miriam and their party, having followed the Ghosts, must explore the artefact and survive encounters with its strange inhabitants - before Poole, at last, finds the Xeelee who led the destruction of Earth...

Gollancz

By the Pricking of Her Thumbs

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Aranthur is a student. He showed a little magical talent, is studying at the local academy, and is nothing particularly special. Others are smarter. Others are more talented. Others are quicker to pick up techniques. But none of them are with him when he breaks his journey home for the holidays in an inn. None of them step in to help when a young woman is thrown off a passing stage coach into the deep snow at the side of the road. And none of them are drawn into a fight to protect her.One of the others might have realised she was manipulating him all along . . .A powerful story about beginnings, coming of age, and the way choosing to take one step towards violence can lead to a slippery and dangerous slope, this is an accomplished fantasy series driven by strong characters and fast-paced action.'A stirring, gritty and at times quite brutal epic fantasy' Tor.com'This series promises to be the standout epic fantasy for the ages' Fantasy Book Critic

Gollancz

Wild Hunger

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Diary 2019

Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Authors:
Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium

Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt.And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

Summerland

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi

An awe-inspiring account of the afterlife and what happens when it spills over into the world of the living. The new novel from the most exciting new voice in the genre since Neal Stephenson.Loss is a thing of the past. Murder is obsolete. Death is just the beginning. In 1938, death is no longer feared but exploited. Since the discovery of the afterlife, the British Empire has extended its reach into Summerland, a metropolis for the recently deceased. Yet Britain isn't the only contender for power in this life and the next. The Soviets have spies in Summerland, and the technology to build their own god. When SIS agent Rachel White gets a lead on one of the Soviet moles, blowing the whistle puts her hard-earned career at risk. The spy has friends in high places, and she will have to go rogue to bring him in. But how do you catch a man who's already dead?

Orion

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

There's a new Card in the Mercenary Deck - one Lynx isn't sure if he's happy to see or not. The assassin Toil now wears the Princess of Blood on her jacket and even Lynx would admit she's a woman cloaked in chaos and bloodshed.Their new mission is to escort a dignitary to the pious and ancient city of Jarrazir - beneath which lies a fabled labyrinth. Having barely survived their last underground adventure the mercenaries aren't keen for another, but Toil has other plans. Under threat of siege and horrors rising from the labyrinth, even the Mercenary Deck may have to accept that Jarrazir's prohibition laws aren't their biggest problem.Read by Jay Villiers(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Ravencry

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald
Gollancz

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher returns! A brand new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series of games!Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular hero in a stand-alone novel where Geralt fights, travels and loves again, Dandelion sings and flies from trouble to trouble, sorcerers are scheming ... and across the whole world clouds are gathering - the season of storms is coming...

Gollancz

The Testament of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

A Veil of Spears

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu
Gollancz

After Atlas

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

The Furthest Station

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Gollancz

The House of Binding Thorns

Aliette de Bodard
Authors:
Aliette de Bodard

The multi-award-winning author of The House of Shattered Wings continues her Dominion of the Fallen saga as Paris endures the aftermath of a devastating arcane war . . .As the city rebuilds from the onslaught of sorcery that nearly destroyed it, the great Houses of Paris, ruled by fallen angels, still contest one another for control over the capital.House Silverspires was once the most powerful, but just as it sought to rise again, an ancient evil brought it low. Phillippe, an immortal who escaped the carnage, has a singular goal - to resurrect someone he lost. But the cost of such magic might be more than he can bear.In House Hawthorn, Madeleine the alchemist has had her addiction to angel essence savagely broken. Struggling to live on, she is forced on a perilous diplomatic mission to the underwater dragon kingdom - and finds herself in the midst of intrigues that have already caused one previous emissary to mysteriously disappear . . .As the Houses seek a peace more devastating than war, those caught between new fears and old hatreds must find strength - or fall prey to a magic that seeks to bind all to its will.'A superb blend of intrigue, mystery and magic and urban fantasy; it's brilliantly written; and the story is gripping' Civilian Reader

Gollancz

The Great Dune Trilogy

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert